Post Reply 
1 week in, questions about A10 Auto
Author Message
elron Offline

Members

Posts: 4
Joined: Jan 2015

Machine: AirSense10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: P10
Humidifier: builtin
CPAP Pressure: 5-14
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: CMS50IW

Sex: Male
Location: Boston MA USA

Post: #1
1 week in, questions about A10 Auto
Hi folks, hi trish6hundred,

I'm 1 week into therapy after perhaps 10 years of undiagnosed apnea. So far it's working ok-- I'm getting ~8hrs of use a night and supposedly AHI is down to ~2 (from something like 35), but I do wake up fully in the middle of the night more often now due to the pressure or discomfort.

One suspicious thing has happened though. On night two, I woke up in the middle of the night when the pressure was 8 but heading down. I stopped the machine and came back to bed after 10 minutes. When I turned the machine back on, it started out at 14 (the max), and I lay awake struggling with the pressure as it decayed back down to 6.5 over the next hour and a half. I don't remember for how much of that 1.5 hours I was awake, but it was a long time. (Seems ridiculous that sleep disorder therapy doesn't measure sleep!)

Second problem is one morning when I stopped the machine, it reported an SD card error. I popped it out, verified it was unlocked, popped it back in, and slept for two more hours. The second time I turned it off, there was no SD problem. Interestingly, the SD card recorded that I used the device for 8 hours, even though there was only data for the last 2 hours.

Anyway, just throwing it out there in case anyone else has had a problem with an AirSense10 AutoSet.

Elron
04-02-2015 08:10 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaytonA Offline
Wiki Editor
Monitors

Posts: 3,002
Joined: Dec 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 VPAP Auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: H5i(distilled-top up)
CPAP Pressure: VAuto MinE14.0 MaxI 20.6 PS4.0
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Orange County,California

Post: #2
RE: 1 week in, questions about A10 Auto
For the first problem, I have no clue. Never seen that problem and never heard about it before. I have an S9 so no actual experience with your machine.

Second problem. Are you sure that the SD card error did not come up the last time that you re-installed the card? I get an error at times when reinstalling the card. In fact, this morning, I had to reinstall the card 2 or 3 times before the error went away. Didn't hold my mouth just right, I guess.

My first thought was that you got the error when you installed the card and did not notice it until you took the card out in the morning and then when you re-installed it, it went in right and so no error.

Just my thinking.

Best Regards,

PaytonA
04-02-2015 08:35 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,429
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #3
RE: 1 week in, questions about A10 Auto
Hi elron,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Hang in there for more suggestions and answers to your questions and much success to you with your CPAP therapy.

trish6hundred
04-02-2015 08:55 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
quiescence at last Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 753
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: REMstar System One with Autoflex
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Quattro AirFit F10
Humidifier: yes typical setting = 4
CPAP Pressure: 5-13 Autotritrating CPAP
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: CMS-50F Plus oximeter /w SPO2 Assistant software. Avowed mouth-breather switching to nose-breathing

Sex: Male
Location: US

Post: #4
RE: 1 week in, questions about A10 Auto
If you unlock your SD card, then from that point you will get "detailed" data, but the machine will also write the "less detailed" data for the session during which the card was locked, as soon as you insert a card that is not locked.

QAL

Dedicated to QALity sleep.
You'll note I am listed as an Advisory Member. I am honored to be listed as such. See the fine print - Advisory Members as a group provide advice and suggestions to Apnea Board administrators and staff concerning Apnea Board operation and administrative policies. Membership in the Advisory Member group should not be understood as in any way implying medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment.
04-03-2015 10:28 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
estgad Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 26
Joined: Mar 2015

Machine: AirCurve 10 vauto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Airfit P10
Humidifier: AirCurve 10
CPAP Pressure: 9.2 PS 4.6 TiMax 3.2 TiMin 0.6
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: IL.

Post: #5
RE: 1 week in, questions about A10 Auto
as to the issue of the machine starting off at 14 and you fighting to try to go to sleep.
Do you have the ramp turned on?
IMHO that would be one thing to look into. Just set the ramp time for a little longer than it would normally take you to get to sleep.
04-03-2015 11:22 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Crimson Nape Offline

Monitors

Posts: 1,324
Joined: Oct 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Other
Mask Make & Model: P-10 / F&P Simplus / DreamWear
Humidifier: H5i w/Climateline
CPAP Pressure: 8 - EPR 3
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: CMS-50F & 50IW

Sex: Male
Location: Georgia

Post: #6
RE: 1 week in, questions about A10 Auto
(04-02-2015 08:10 PM)elron Wrote:  Second problem is one morning when I stopped the machine, it reported an SD card error. I popped it out, verified it was unlocked, popped it back in, and slept for two more hours. The second time I turned it off, there was no SD problem. Interestingly, the SD card recorded that I used the device for 8 hours, even though there was only data for the last 2 hours.

The AS10 will store summary data without the SD card. The only thing you lose without a SD card is the detailed data for that period.

(04-03-2015 11:22 AM)estgad Wrote:  as to the issue of the machine starting off at 14 and you fighting to try to go to sleep.
Do you have the ramp turned on?
IMHO that would be one thing to look into. Just set the ramp time for a little longer than it would normally take you to get to sleep.

The ramp mode doesn't work like that. The highest pressure that can be used by the ramp is the lowest pressure set in the machine. If you have it set to auto titration with a pressure range of 5-14; the highest ramp pressure setting is 5.

Statistics prove that people who have more birthdays live longer.
04-03-2015 12:03 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
elron Offline

Members

Posts: 4
Joined: Jan 2015

Machine: AirSense10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: P10
Humidifier: builtin
CPAP Pressure: 5-14
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: CMS50IW

Sex: Male
Location: Boston MA USA

Post: #7
RE: 1 week in, questions about A10 Auto
FWIW, I'm sure the card was unlocked when I put it in the A10 the night before, and when I took it out after the error message in the morning... unless it is somehow defective inside the plastic. It worked fine the day after. If it happens again, I'll just try a new card.

The DME is going to "look into" the starting at max issue (they verified the incident in the cell modem data), but I don't think that will go anywhere. Hopefully, it was just a one time glitch, or worst case I'll try a hard reset if it happens again.
04-03-2015 07:06 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
truetopath Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 421
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: PR system one 560p auto with a flex
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resumed F10
Humidifier: PR system one
CPAP Pressure: 11
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Lake View, NY

Post: #8
RE: 1 week in, questions about A10 Auto
(04-03-2015 07:06 PM)elron Wrote:  FWIW, I'm sure the card was unlocked when I put it in the A10 the night before, and when I took it out after the error message in the morning... unless it is somehow defective inside the plastic. It worked fine the day after. If it happens again, I'll just try a new card.

The DME is going to "look into" the starting at max issue (they verified the incident in the cell modem data), but I don't think that will go anywhere. Hopefully, it was just a one time glitch, or worst case I'll try a hard reset if it happens again.

I would make sure you stay on the DME to figure out what caused the "glitch." For respiratory equipment in my opinion any glitch is a no no.
04-04-2015 11:35 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
GeoffD Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 194
Joined: Sep 2014

Machine: ResMed Airsense 10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit P10
Humidifier: Integral + ClimateLine
CPAP Pressure: 14-17
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: New England

Post: #9
RE: 1 week in, questions about A10 Auto
(04-02-2015 08:10 PM)elron Wrote:  Hi folks, hi trish6hundred,

I'm 1 week into therapy after perhaps 10 years of undiagnosed apnea. So far it's working ok-- I'm getting ~8hrs of use a night and supposedly AHI is down to ~2 (from something like 35), but I do wake up fully in the middle of the night more often now due to the pressure or discomfort.

One suspicious thing has happened though. On night two, I woke up in the middle of the night when the pressure was 8 but heading down. I stopped the machine and came back to bed after 10 minutes. When I turned the machine back on, it started out at 14 (the max), and I lay awake struggling with the pressure as it decayed back down to 6.5 over the next hour and a half. I don't remember for how much of that 1.5 hours I was awake, but it was a long time. (Seems ridiculous that sleep disorder therapy doesn't measure sleep!)

Second problem is one morning when I stopped the machine, it reported an SD card error. I popped it out, verified it was unlocked, popped it back in, and slept for two more hours. The second time I turned it off, there was no SD problem. Interestingly, the SD card recorded that I used the device for 8 hours, even though there was only data for the last 2 hours.

Anyway, just throwing it out there in case anyone else has had a problem with an AirSense10 AutoSet.

Elron

My A10 did that a few times. I cycled power and it started behaving. I've seen other errors with the humidifier not working and the ClimateLine hose reporting an error. My voodoo incantation is to cycle power every night when I put distilled water in the tank. I've been doing that for 6 weeks and have seen zero funky errors. I think the software is unstable. It only takes a few seconds to reboot after you unplug/plug the power connector so I just do that.

I've never had an SD card problem other than being a moron and inserting it into the machine with the write-protect tab locked.

As long as power cycling every evening does the trick, I'm going to keep this machine for 6 months. I'll stop power cycling next fall and see if it still has problems. If so, I'll get a warranty replacement.
04-04-2015 01:56 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
lab rat Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 138
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset
CPAP Pressure: 8-16
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: Satisfied Resmed customer since March 1996

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #10
RE: 1 week in, questions about A10 Auto
take the machine back. I've been using cpap for 18 years and never had that kind of stuff happen. I reckon the machine is faulty.
04-07-2015 06:28 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  First week- why is my cpap making me dizzy? sleepjunky 44 26,253 11-12-2016 05:44 PM
Last Post: Clay L
  Been about a week with the AirSense 10 for Her Beej 4 372 11-11-2016 09:30 PM
Last Post: Beej
  Questions for anyone who has tried Transcend Mini Auto CPAP rdavis 3 238 11-04-2016 06:42 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  [CPAP] First week and some questions cedrorum 7 277 10-28-2016 06:12 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Just Started Using an Auto CPAP this week for 1st time ApneaintheATL 4 422 10-14-2016 06:06 PM
Last Post: player
Question 109AHI, starting 2nd week on CPAP, have some questions toinewi 38 2,405 10-14-2016 06:19 AM
Last Post: JaneAM
  airsense10 auto cpap(for him) VS DreamStation Auto CPAP DSX500T11 w/HT humid rookiepom 5 839 10-09-2016 07:52 AM
Last Post: stephennic

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)