Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

18 Year CPAP Dieing. Is Data Recording Needed?
18 Year CPAP Dieing. Is Data Recording Needed?
Hello, I've been useing a DeVilbiss CPAP since around 1999. It has a ton of hours on it and its starting to make a funky noise. (I think I got my money out of it) Why does everyone insist that you need to have data recording? I'm looking at getting a new one but really dont see any reason to spend the extra money on that feature. If it blows air and is fairly quite, I'm happy. Any info would be great. Thanks and I'm glad I just found this site!

Zac
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: 18 Year CPAP Dieing. Is Data Recording Needed?
First off - welcome to Apnea Board!  

There are a few reasons:  Generally speaking, it's extremely difficult to gauge your success with therapy if your machine is not fully data-capable.  It also makes it very hard for us to help you if you are experiencing a problem because you won't be able to share data.      

I won't comment on the quality of your medical team/sleep doctor, but many find that they get sub-optimal care and the only real way to ensure they are getting the treatment they need is to view the data regarding their therapy and make necessary changes themselves.   Without a fully data-capable machine, making these changes becomes trial and error and can be quite difficult to achieve.  

Lastly, most machines that are not fully data-capable are no-frills machines that lack comfort features and basic settings to make therapy more comfortable.   These machines have really come a long way in the last decade (since my first machine), and you may not realize how much these features can improve the quality of your sleep.  

Good luck with your machine choice!
Post Reply Post Reply