Post Reply 
2 OSs, one computer and two drives ?
Author Message
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,839
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #1
2 OSs, one computer and two drives ?
Having WIN7 one one drive...

Can I put a second OS like WIN8.1 or 10 when it is released on a second drive; then setup selective boot on Drive 0?

How does one setup selective boot after the fact?

I'm thinking that if I do, then I'll put my libraries on a 3rd drive that either OS can access.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
03-04-2015 02:11 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,062
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #2
RE: 2 OSs, one computer and two drives ?
Yes, you do it in the BIOS. You set it up to ask you which drive to boot from each time.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
03-04-2015 04:04 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #3
RE: 2 OSs, one computer and two drives ?
It depends on the computer and operating system, but in general, you can hit F12 (or some other key depending on the BIOS) at boot time and it will give you a "boot menu" where you can select which drive to boot from. You can put one OS on one drive and another OS on the other drive. The machine may or may not remember your choice next time. You can also change the default choice permanently it in the BIOS.

Some operating systems might do some strange things if they're not the "first" disk in some sense, but I think most modern OS's can handle it.

Some BIOS's or operating systems may have a problem with booting from USB disks or ATA "slave" disks.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
03-04-2015 07:56 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,839
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #4
RE: 2 OSs, one computer and two drives ?
I have one machine with an SSD that boots so fast that ASUS put a pair of terminals that I connected the reset switch to them. I have no need for a reset -- but this function is a boot directly into BIOS. Saves pounding on a key trying to catch a fast boot system.

The machine I'm sitting at is slower with two spinners. In fact the windows performance evaluation gets its lowest score from disk performance.

It's: Processor: 7.7
Memory: 7.8
Grapics: 7.7
Gaming Graphics 7.7
Primary HDD: 5.9

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
(This post was last modified: 03-04-2015 08:59 PM by justMongo.)
03-04-2015 08:58 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
SuperSleeper Offline

Administrators

Posts: 9,958
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: PR System One REMstar Auto (DS560)
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Swift II
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: 12.5 - 18.5 cmH20 (auto range)
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Have diabetes Type II

Sex: Male
Location: Illinois, USA

Post: #5
RE: 2 OSs, one computer and two drives ?
If you're installing a new disk that has enough space, you can simply make two (or three or four) partitions on that one hard drive. I once had one large hard drive with four OS's on it... long time ago, but I think I had Win98se, Win2k Pro, Win2k Server and some version of Linux all on one drive, but with four separate partitions, formatted with Fat32, NTFS and ext's for Linux.

The Linux OS was last to be installed, since I used Grub to boot into the various operating systems. There was an OS on the disk previously and I think I used fdisk to remove it, and also made sure to "fdisk /mbr" to wipe the Master Boot Record. If you do it this way, you can set up Grub to ask on startup which OS to boot into, and set it up so that after a few seconds of inaction, it will automatically boot into any OS you've set up as the default OS.

It's a little more obtuse as far as initial setup, but once set up properly, this method has the advantage of not having to always bring up the BIOS setup to change default HDD for booting up, plus it's generally cheaper since you can use one hard drive for multiple operating systems.

SuperSleeper
Apnea Board Administrator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.

03-04-2015 11:14 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
2PAPs Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 58
Joined: May 2015

Machine: PR System One 750p
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Ultra Mirage
Humidifier: PR System ONe
CPAP Pressure: 8-20
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: California

Post: #6
RE: 2 OSs, one computer and two drives ?
It might be better to use separate drives, rather than separate partitions for different OSs in a single computer. It's easier to dump an OS if you change your mind.
05-24-2015 08:45 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
retired_guy Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 2,744
Joined: Jan 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 10.6/14, EPR 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Is it bedtime yet?

Sex: Male
Location: Beautiful, albeit very wet Oregon Coast

Post: #7
RE: 2 OSs, one computer and two drives ?
It would be best to use three computers. One for each foot.
05-24-2015 09:42 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,839
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #8
RE: 2 OSs, one computer and two drives ?
I ended up using the second SSD as a library for the Windows 7.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
05-24-2015 10:29 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Mark Douglas Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 513
Joined: Apr 2015

Machine: Sys 1 (60) RemStar BiPAP Auto with Bi-Flex 760P Auto Bi-Level (Variabl
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: PR Wisp
Humidifier: PR Sys One heated
CPAP Pressure: RiseTime 3 Fxd E-9.0 / I-11.5
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Hashimoto's thyroiditis.

Sex: Male
Location: SW Ohio

Post: #9
RE: 2 OSs, one computer and two drives ?
Many moons ago you could get a computer on a card. It would coexist with the main board and you could run 2 OS's simultaneously. Now with virtualization and modern computing power the idea is not needed.

I use my PAP machine nightly and I feel great!
Updated: Philips Respironics System One (60 Series)
RemStar BiPAP Auto with Bi-FlexModel 760P -
Rise Time x3 Fixed Bi-Level EPAP 9.0 IPAP 11.5 (cmH2O)
05-25-2015 08:39 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Mark Douglas Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 513
Joined: Apr 2015

Machine: Sys 1 (60) RemStar BiPAP Auto with Bi-Flex 760P Auto Bi-Level (Variabl
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: PR Wisp
Humidifier: PR Sys One heated
CPAP Pressure: RiseTime 3 Fxd E-9.0 / I-11.5
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Hashimoto's thyroiditis.

Sex: Male
Location: SW Ohio

Post: #10
RE: 2 OSs, one computer and two drives ?
(05-24-2015 08:45 PM)2PAPs Wrote:  It might be better to use separate drives, rather than separate partitions for different OSs in a single computer. It's easier to dump an OS if you change your mind.

When one can buy a 3TB fixed disk for $90 why not? With swappable front panel bays you are not limited for space.
I remember thinking what would I ever do with the upgraded TEN MEGS storage in my Compaq luggable and Framework files only a couple K each. DOS 3 was such a joy LOL
Alas I pitched it when I went sailing.

I use my PAP machine nightly and I feel great!
Updated: Philips Respironics System One (60 Series)
RemStar BiPAP Auto with Bi-FlexModel 760P -
Rise Time x3 Fixed Bi-Level EPAP 9.0 IPAP 11.5 (cmH2O)
05-25-2015 09:21 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
Gross Sudden computer shutdown DeepBreathing 26 635 11-28-2016 12:50 PM
Last Post: justMongo
  Computer Monitor Linearity surferdude2 6 253 10-31-2016 03:21 PM
Last Post: Perchas
  Need computer help......... GrammaBear 33 2,178 01-14-2016 03:54 PM
Last Post: justMongo
  Ghost Computer Drives PaytonA 3 623 07-12-2015 09:35 PM
Last Post: PaytonA
Grin Senior Computer Skills Crimson Nape 9 1,074 05-08-2015 01:52 AM
Last Post: leximorph19
  Man kills Dell Computer justMongo 8 1,901 04-25-2015 02:17 PM
Last Post: Mark Douglas
  The answer to your Computer / Software problems SuperSleeper 15 1,418 04-09-2015 12:04 PM
Last Post: Homerec130

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)