Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

3 Nights in…Need Settings Advice
3 Nights in…Need Settings Advice
Hello everyone!!  This is my first post….thank you in advance for any help you’re able to provide.  I am brand new to the sleep apnea thing.  I’ve been reading this board for the last month trying to educate myself on all things SA.

Some background…I am a 40 year old male and I’ve known that I snored and stopped breathing since I was a teenager.  I’ve always been tired in the afternoon and drowsy at inappropriate times.  I never took it seriously or did anything about it until I began dating a nurse earlier this year.  It didn’t take many nights together before she came right out and said that I needed to see a sleep Dr. because she wasn’t going to lie beside me and watch me kill myself in my sleep.

I had an initial consult with a pulmonologist last month and he scheduled me for an in-lab sleep study on September 12th.  I had my follow-up appointment with the Dr. on September 18th.  At the follow-up the Dr. indicated that I had stopped breathing 87 times per hour during the study and that my oxygen level fell as low as 68%.  He indicated that I had severe obstructive SA.  He recommended that I come back in for a titration study but I insisted that I didn’t want to wait another month for that and said I wanted to start treatment right away with an APAP.  He agreed and wrote me a prescription for a ResMed A10 set at 5-20 and scheduled a follow-up appointment in a couple months.