Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

A Tale of Two Masks
A Tale of Two Masks
I've been a midnight jet fighter pilot (as my husband calls my mask) for almost 6 months now. When I did my sleep studies I slept best with a full face mask. I got the same one when I picked up my equipment from the DME. I used this mask for 4+ months and although it had issues, i.e. leaks, I was fine with it. What is especially odd is that I'm a stomach sleeper and full face masks aren't normally good for people who sleep on their side and stomachs.

I am also a mouth breather because I have a badly deviated septum and congestion problems. I thought I would never be able to sleep with a nasal mask.

However after about 3+ months I noticed that I don't sleep with my mouth open when I sleep on my right side or right cheek smashed into the pillows. My mouth opens when I sleep on my left side, which is only about 20% of the night. I thought if I got a chin strap, I might be able to get a smaller mask. After almost 5 months of cpap therapy I went to my DME and asked to try a Mirage Activa LT. They didn't have one in my size but they had a Mirage Micro that fit my face, or more specifically my nose quite well. I bought it with a chin strap and took it home to try immediately.

The chin strap needed the help of wide elastic band safety pinned on to stop it from sliding off but the the nasal mask worked quite well for the nap. And there were no leaks. No leaks!!! For those of us with full face masks and who wiggle often throughout the night, leaks are hard to avoid.