Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

A10 Mod: Anyone Know How To Keep The Screen Bright When Lights Are Off?
#1
I hate the way the screen is basically unreadable when the lights are off.
It defies logic the have it always dark when the room is dark, and bright when the room is bright. No option... What idiot engineer designed that piece of genius? I know what flawed logic they used, but for me, I want to look at it in the dark, so it forces me to turn a bright light on.

Please tell me someone knows how to trick the sensor...
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
I understand what you mean. It is hard to read at night.

The light sensor is just a basic photoresistor. They usually decrease in resistance the more light you add.

[Image: photoresistor.jpg]

You can either tape a small LED to the light sensor here

[Image: airsense-10-autoset_lightsensor.jpg]

or you'll need to open it up and measure the resistance across the sensor in normal daylight and hook up a resistor close to that value. Current follows the path of least resistance and the sensor will have higher resistance at night, higher than the resistor you are putting in place of it. It may work by just shorting it but that could be bad for the circuit.

Down side to this is it will also take longer for the screen to go dark at night.


Using FlashAir W-03 SD card in machine. Access through wifi with FlashPAP or Sleep Master utilities.

I wanted to learn Binary so I enrolled in Binary 101. I seemed to have missed the first four courses. Big Grinnie

Post Reply Post Reply
#3
"The light sensor is just a basic photoresistor" have you opened it up and KNOW for sure this is what they are using and its not a photo diode/transistor or even an IC sensor.

The brightness steps to off and is not linear so my guess is that the light sensor and the display backlight have the micro in between and what you are describing will not work and could cause damage.
Post Reply Post Reply


#4
Perhaps true. Only one way to find out.


Using FlashAir W-03 SD card in machine. Access through wifi with FlashPAP or Sleep Master utilities.

I wanted to learn Binary so I enrolled in Binary 101. I seemed to have missed the first four courses. Big Grinnie

Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  screen shot from ResMed software Beej 9 635 10-26-2016, 02:07 PM
Last Post: Beej
  screen time out metropical 7 425 10-25-2016, 10:38 PM
Last Post: Sleepyb
Ohmy [CPAP] Screen Lights On Resmed Airsense 10 Turn On & It Generates Reports Very Frequently tabbygreye 5 996 02-19-2016, 04:52 PM
Last Post: eseedhouse
  Airsense 10 - Bright light from on/off switch Dagmar 5 1,581 01-03-2016, 03:45 PM
Last Post: Dagmar
  AHI on machine screen?? Can I see it there? SpeedyD 3 733 12-03-2015, 04:13 PM
Last Post: SpeedyD
  Resmed A10 Airplane Mode ON = No Screen Report? player 6 1,216 10-16-2015, 06:46 AM
Last Post: player
  Window too wide for Netbook screen on XP Dsclove 4 773 07-03-2015, 09:43 PM
Last Post: justMongo

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.