Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

AHI
AHI
I'm new to CPAP, just into my third week. I'm wondering why my AHI varies so much. Some nights it's .2 and others, like last night 2.1.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: AHI
Totally normal. Be happy, as the 'goal' is to try to stay below '5.0'. I'm usually between 5.0-10.0.

Welcome to the forumSmile
*I* am not a DOCTOR or any type of Health Care Professional.  My thoughts/suggestions/ideas are strictly only my opinions.

"Only two defining forces have ever offered to die for you. Jesus Christ and the American Soldier. One died for your Soul, the other for your Freedom."
Post Reply Post Reply
(02-09-2014, 08:39 AM)Sandra_ON Wrote: I'm new to CPAP, just into my third week. I'm wondering why my AHI varies so much. Some nights it's .2 and others, like last night 2.1.

Those are great numbers!!! keep it up.
Coffee
Post Reply Post Reply
Hi Sandra_ON,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Your numbers are great as they are below 5 which is where they should be, sounds like you are off to a GREAT start, keep up the good work.
Hang in there for more responses to your post and best of luck to you with your CPAP therapy.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply
I've wondered about that as well. My numbers are similar to yours.
Most nights are under 1.0. Then I have a couple days over 3.0.
The majority under 5.0. Then perhaps once a month or less I'll have
an 8.0 or 10.0 for no reason I can find other than on those really
bad nights I have increased mask leaks.
Post Reply Post Reply
It's normal for the AHI to fluctuate, especially when you're new to CPAP therapy.