Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model:
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 8
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
AHI Score Does Not Go Down on CPAP
I am new to the Apnea Board, but not to Sleep Apnea. Until recently I was using a Respironics BiPap. The machine began to shut itself off and on all night long. Rather that repair the machine, my insurance company wanted a new sleep study. I had a new sleep study and a second night for titration. I was found to have an AHI of 12.5 and was prescribed a CPAP of 8. My insurance provided me with a ResMed S9 Autoset. I “allowed” myself to see the nightly AHI score by accessing the clinical set-up screen. My first night was 12.1. The second night I turned up the pressure to 12. My AHI score only improved to 10.2. I have a new full-face mask and from what I can tell, there are no leaks. Essentially there is no or only little improvement on CPAP. What is going on? Thanks for any assistance.
04-05-2012 06:05 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

RE: AHI Score Does Not Go Down on CPAP
Hi Theo and welcome
Why have you been prescribed BIPAP and what the breakdown of AHI (AI, HI, CAI)
Just a thought ask the Doc to try the S9 in AutoSet mode range 8-15 see how it goes, If leaks under control than the S9 wouldn't go any higher than necessary and it can distinguish between obstructive and central apnea.
You can download ResScan software from here and it shows more info.
(This post was last modified: 04-05-2012 06:34 PM by zonk.)
04-05-2012 06:32 PM
Theo Offline

Members

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Make & Model:

Other Comments:

(04-05-2012 06:32 PM)zonk Wrote:  Hi Theo and welcome