Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

AHI higher on cpap than before therapy.
AHI higher on cpap than before therapy.
I have been using a cpap for two months. When I was tested prior to cpap, apneas were at 11. With cpap, AHI averages 17.5 for the month. It has been as high as 48 on a single night. I suspect most of these, or many, 
occur while I am still awake, wearing the cpap, and trying to fall asleep. I have tested this by lying quietly while wearing the cpap for two hours, and it seems to hold true. So that would mean I am holding my breath while awake? I am lucky to sleep even four hours on a good night. These high AHI numbers are puzzling. My machine automatically adjusts pressure from 4 up to 15. Any clues, anyone? Thanks!
Sweetpea
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: AHI higher on cpap than before therapy.
Hi and welcome to the forum, Sweetpea!

People here will want to see some data in order to be able to pinpoint the problems with your therapy. Download the Sleepyhead software (link at top of the page) to start with. You'll need at least four posts before the system will allow you to post links here, so answer a few time and it will speed things up for you.

If you haven't done it yet, also download the manual for your machine so you can make adjustments. Do you have a sleep doctor that works with you? What do they say?
Post Reply Post Reply
While awake our breathing patterns are very erratic. Our breathing only becomes rhythmic when we are asleep. If you toss and turn during the night, chances are you will tense up and hold your breath each time you turn.  This can cause an event to be recorded because it may take a little longer than 10 seconds to get situated. I highly recommend that you get #SleepyHead and get a better picture of what is going on.