Post Reply 
AHI -- supposed to include CA apneas?
Author Message
Apnea 1 Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 29
Joined: Jun 2013

Machine: Respironics 332202 BiPAP
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Zest Q
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: 18/13 BiPap
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #1
AHI -- supposed to include CA apneas?
I have a PRS1 Series 60 auto-bipap. I know that the AHI refers to the number of apneas + hypopneas per hour. My question is whether the apneas in this measure are restricted to obstructive apneas or whether the apneas consist of both obstructive apneas and clear airway apneas. Put differently, does AHI refer to the number of obstructive apneas + clear airway apneas + hypopneas per hour?
07-16-2013 01:44 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #2
RE: AHI -- supposed to include CA apneas?
(07-16-2013 01:44 AM)Apnea 1 Wrote:  does AHI refer to the number of obstructive apneas + clear airway apneas + hypopneas per hour?
Correct ... Coffee
07-16-2013 02:14 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
packgreen49 Offline

Members

Posts: 13
Joined: Jun 2013

Machine: Philips System One
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: wisk
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: unsure
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #3
RE: AHI -- supposed to include CA apneas?
My AHI number is starting to go back higher. How can I decrease this number?
Ron
07-16-2013 11:20 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
RonWessels Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 465
Joined: Jun 2013

Machine: REMstar Auto AFlex DS560TS
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ComfortGel Blue
Humidifier: REMstar Heated Tube DS6T
CPAP Pressure: 11 - 20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: CMS50F Pulse Oximeter

Sex: Male
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post: #4
RE: AHI -- supposed to include CA apneas?
(07-16-2013 11:20 AM)packgreen49 Wrote:  My AHI number is starting to go back higher. How can I decrease this number?

What model of machine do you have? Is it data-capable? If so, you should look at the detailed data to see what is going on. It may be that you need to tweak your pressure settings, but without seeing the detailed data, you are operating in the dark.

By "starting to go back higher", what do you mean? If you are talking about going from an AHI of 1.6 up to 2.2, that may just be normal variations in the exact AHI value. Any AHI less than 5 is considered to be "no apnea". If you are going from, say, 1.6 up to 7.4, then you probably want to investigate making some changes.
07-16-2013 12:04 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
packgreen49 Offline

Members

Posts: 13
Joined: Jun 2013

Machine: Philips System One
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: wisk
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: unsure
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #5
RE: AHI -- supposed to include CA apneas?
I am using the Philips Resprionics System 1 560P RemStar Auto. I was using nasal mask and was getting 3 to 5 on AHI. I am now using the full mask. Last night it was 9.81. I am using the box on the far left to get these numbers.
Ron
07-16-2013 12:48 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
cbramsey Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 900
Joined: Mar 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage FX
Humidifier: ResMed H5i with ClimateLine
CPAP Pressure: 6 - 12
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: Supreme Overlord of Web Darkness

Sex: Male
Location: NC, USA

Post: #6
RE: AHI -- supposed to include CA apneas?
(07-16-2013 12:48 PM)packgreen49 Wrote:  I am using the Philips Resprionics System 1 560P RemStar Auto. I was using nasal mask and was getting 3 to 5 on AHI. I am now using the full mask. Last night it was 9.81. I am using the box on the far left to get these numbers.
Ron

That machine IS data capable. If you are using Windows, you might want to consider downloading Version 0.9.3 of SleepyHead software here. It might shed some light as to what is going on. Sleep-well

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
07-16-2013 12:54 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
packgreen49 Offline

Members

Posts: 13
Joined: Jun 2013

Machine: Philips System One
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: wisk
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: unsure
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #7
RE: AHI -- supposed to include CA apneas?
I can download the data, but have to understand how to read it. lol
Ron
07-16-2013 01:41 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
RonWessels Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 465
Joined: Jun 2013

Machine: REMstar Auto AFlex DS560TS
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ComfortGel Blue
Humidifier: REMstar Heated Tube DS6T
CPAP Pressure: 11 - 20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: CMS50F Pulse Oximeter

Sex: Male
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post: #8
RE: AHI -- supposed to include CA apneas?
You might want to have a look at this thread to start to get some idea of what the various plots mean.

With a 560P Auto machine, I would first be looking at the pressure plots to see if your pressures are railing against your upper and/or lower pressure limit settings. If the pressure plots frequently look like they would want to get higher than your upper pressure limit, you should consider increasing that limit to allow your machine to provide the pressure that it believes you need.

The best solution would be to review the data with your sleep doctor or whoever prescribed the machine for you in the first place. If that is not an option, you should educate yourself about your treatment, because although we can provide suggestions and advice, ultimately you will be responsible for your own treatment. Reading the various threads on this site would be a very good start.
07-16-2013 02:18 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,068
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #9
RE: AHI -- supposed to include CA apneas?
My first thought with a mask change is what are the leaks. High leaks can give skewed data.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
07-16-2013 04:36 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #10
RE: AHI -- supposed to include CA apneas?
(07-16-2013 12:48 PM)packgreen49 Wrote:  I am using the Philips Resprionics System 1 560P RemStar Auto. I was using nasal mask and was getting 3 to 5 on AHI. I am now using the full mask. Last night it was 9.81. I am using the box on the far left to get these numbers.
Ron
Whats machine pressure settings and the other numbers showing ... 90% pressure, leak

You need the software to check the breakdown of AHI (obstructive, hypopnea, clear airway)
SleepyHead glossary http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/sl...e=Glossary
07-16-2013 04:39 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  [Pressure] Hypoxic- No Apneas- Pressure Too High? beardog 13 641 11-08-2016 06:19 PM
Last Post: PsychoMike
  Clear/Central Apneas, BiPAP, CO2 washout confusion. NorthernGuy 3 495 09-02-2016 09:29 AM
Last Post: PaytonA
  [Treatment] Auto CPAP, high/erratic AHI, high Clear Apneas - it's not working jmortensenjr 10 775 08-30-2016 09:07 PM
Last Post: jmortensenjr
  Central Apneas & ASV Users jerrydaw 11 1,148 08-21-2016 04:15 PM
Last Post: ruach
  Central Apneas nadprok 5 659 07-22-2016 12:29 PM
Last Post: nadprok
Gross New Member - High Central Apneas TiredChem 2 491 07-19-2016 06:25 AM
Last Post: richb
  Can CPAP therapy cause Total Clear Airway Apneas TheLionSleeps 3 608 07-17-2016 08:39 PM
Last Post: WakeUpTime

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)