Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage FX
Humidifier: Built-in
CPAP Pressure: 9.2
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male

AHI vs Leak Rate
I've been using my CPAP for about two months, and I've noticed a correlation between late-session leak rates and my sleepiness and energy level the next day. Even though my AHI is always 3.0 or below, if I have a large leak near the end of the session, I feel lousy, but if I have a flatline leak profile for the whole session and no sleep interruption, I feel great. Recently, I've only noticed one such session, but the following day was excellent. The mask fits pretty tightly, but apparently it does leak when I move around. Two questions come to mind:

1) Does the correlation make sense or is there likely something else going on?
2) Would a new type of mask help?

Thanks in advance.
01-17-2015 09:30 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Sleeprider Online
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Machine: Resmed Aircurve 10 Vauto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: Resmed Climateline
CPAP Pressure: Auto Bilevel 18/9, PS 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments:

RE: AHI vs Leak Rate
(01-17-2015 09:30 PM)Jim Bronson Wrote:  I've been using my CPAP for about two months, and I've noticed a correlation between late-session leak rates and my sleepiness and energy level the next day. Even though my AHI is always 3.0 or below, if I have a large leak near the end of the session, I feel lousy, but if I have a flatline leak profile for the whole session and no sleep interruption, I feel great. Recently, I've only noticed one such session, but the following day was excellent. The mask fits pretty tightly, but apparently it does leak when I move around. Two questions come to mind:

Thanks in advance.