Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[News] Traveling with CPAP - advice from a long-haul truck driver
Traveling with CPAP - advice from a long-haul truck driver
ApneaNews Wrote:NOTE: The author of this article is Apnea Board member truckerdad57 (Bob Stanton).

Traveling with CPAP—Yes, You Can

A long-haul truck driver shares his 14 years of experience successfully taking CPAP wherever life takes him, including to altitudes higher than 10,000 feet, campgrounds without electricity, and of course along the open road.

[Image: TravelCPAP-466x329.jpg]

By Bob Stanton

I am a long-haul over-the-road truck driver, and I have been traveling with a CPAP for 14 years now at more than 300 days per year. So when I hear a person with sleep-disordered breathing say they are planning a trip and “can’t” take a CPAP along, I will set them straight. The truth is YES you can take CPAP with you; it just takes a little preplanning and knowledge. Even one night without CPAP can be detrimental to a person’s health. The Washington Post asked the question earlier this year, “Did sleep apnea contribute to Justice Scalia’s death? His unplugged breathing machine raises that question.”1 So my response to people who say they are planning to travel without their device is…Are you planning to be like Justice Scalia? Here are solutions for different travel scenarios that may arise.

Portable CPAP Options