Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Advice on Inspire device
RE: Advice on Inspire device
(06-01-2021, 10:25 PM)JaneAM; OpalRose; SuperSleeper; Dormeo; Clownbell; SarcasticDave94; GrumpyHere Wrote: Hi - I’m considering the idea of having the Inspire device implanted in order to deal with my sleep apnea.  I have been using my CPAP now for 5 years and don’t hate it - so I am not all that driven to get the Inspire device.  However, my results with my CPAP average around 4 to 5  AHI (better than the 31 AHI I originally had!) -so am wondering if an Inspire device might give me better results.  I still feel some fatigue in the afternoons - would like to get over that.  (Although - I am almost age 69 - perhaps afternoon fatigue is part of life..).  Overall I am fit and still working - so looking at the Inspire as a solution that might make my sleep even better.   Thanks  for any advice.  Also, I would appreciate being directed to any discussion groups of Inspire users.   Thank you!

Update - and thanks to all who gave advice!  I just saw a very nice and seemingly experienced ENT doctor who does the Inspire implant. After seeing the device in person (it's big to my eyes - I expected a microchip - but it's apparently the same size as a pacemaker, if that helps anyone visualize it), and seeing a diagram of the wires that run both to your chest and up through your jaw to your tongue, and hearing about adjustment issues, I'll stick with my CPAP!  I think the Inspire is only for those who absolutely can't or won't use their CPAP.  I've been using my CPAP for 5 years now, and while I don't love it, I wear it every night and will stick with it given the present state of Inspire surgery.