Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Air Curve 10 ASV Back-up Rate
Air Curve 10 ASV Back-up Rate

I have been using the Air Curve 10 ASV since April 2019.  For the most part, after going through the initial acclimation to ASV and going through numerous masks and positional adjustments, no one would throw rocks at having an ASI rate on most nights usually at zero to 1.  However, its still a bit of a love hate relationship and that has to do with the built in backup rate.  Any time it senses the need to provide breath by breath therapy it does so at a significantly lower rate than my normal breathing pattern.  Normal is 14-15.  ASV BPM is 7 - 9 and my body and the ASV seem to battle one another and at times, it wakes me.  The lower BPM also drops my minute vent rate.   My understanding, from having read many of the threads on this forum, including publications from Resmed, is that in ASV Auto, which is how my machine was setup, it is supposed to sample my normal breathing pattern and closely match it when breath therapy is needed.   I have also read that a backup rate less than 15 is not recommended for machines that have adjustable BPM. During a recent visit with my pulmonary doc, I brought this question up and he had no answer.   I asked if they had any contacts at Resmed that might be able to inform us if this was normal--or if my machine is malfunctioning.  I was informed, they have no contacts at all with Resmed.  Oh.  . . . .  I called Resmed customer service and was informed they could not discuss this with me and referred me back to the pulmonary doc or the DM supplier.  So, I am looking for some guidance in regard to whether this is just how the "normal" algorithm works or if my machine may have an issue.  

Many thanks, as always.
Post Reply Post Reply