Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Differnce between BPAP and A-FLex??
Differnce between BPAP and A-FLex??
Just a stray thought, one of the features of the trial machine my wife is using is that it has A-Flex to reduce the pressure while exhaling. This also seams to be similar to what I believe BPAP is in that a BPAP changes pressure to help the user exhale. Is it that BPAP has a measured change in pressure while the change in pressure from A-flex isn't necessarily a controlled one??
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Differnce between BPAP and A-FLex??
I'm not an expert in Philips machines, but I believe the flex settings are limited to 3 cm pressure relief. With a bpap the pressure support can go up to 15 cm, so there is potentially a very substantial difference.
Post Reply Post Reply
Flex provides a flow based pressure relief of up to 2-cmH2O pressure. The Resmed machines with EPR (exhale pressure relief) provide up to 3-cm. It does result in lower EPAP, but unlike a bilevel it is limited to 2-3 cm, while bilevels can use pressure support of a much wider range. Even with pressure relief, the machines are classified as CPAP and have significantly lower prices than BPAP, but it does blur the lines a bit.
Sleeprider
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com

Organize your OSCAR Charts
Attaching Files
Mask Primer
How To Deal With Equipment Supplier

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
Some things to help you as you go along: