Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

AirSense 10 Autoset and Elite
#11
RE: AirSense 10 Autoset and Elite
(02-22-2021, 03:20 AM)StevesSp Wrote: Have you had a sleep study or are you self-diagnosed? To be honest, I wonder if you should be using CPAP at all.

Hi Steve

I had a sleep study. It showed 31 apneas an hour. The CPAP reduced the AHI to less than 5. Why are you wondering whether I should be using CPAP?
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#12
RE: AirSense 10 Autoset and Elite
I got the impression from your last post in which you said AHI was 5. It wasn't clear to me whether this was before or after treatment. An AHI of 31 definitely warrants treatment.
Post Reply Post Reply
#13
RE: AirSense 10 Autoset and Elite
I just found out that Resmed S10 machines bought in the US cannot connect to the application in Europe and the Middle East. How important is the application? Can I still get the data for OSCAR out of the memory card like I can with the S9?
Post Reply Post Reply
#14
RE: AirSense 10 Autoset and Elite
The modems in the US models use CDMA, while the rest of the world uses GSM.   You aren't missing anything by not being able to have it communicate. It is primarily used for reporting summary data to the MyAir app and to the DME or doctor, if they paid to subscribe to the monitoring service. Once, shortly after the A10 series was released, Resmed pushed out a firmware fix with it. I think the fix had to do with the display being on constantly while the CPAP was operating. That was the one and only time that I'm aware that they did that. All other functions are independent of this attachment, so you can still use the SD card.
Crimson Nape
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com
___________________________________
Useful Links -or- When All Else Fails:
OSCAR Chart Organization
Attaching Images and Files on Apnea Board
Beginner's Guide to Sleepyhead and OSCAR
Apnea Helpful Tips

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#15
RE: AirSense 10 Autoset and Elite
(02-23-2021, 10:29 AM)Benzi Wrote: I just found out that Resmed S10 machines bought in the US cannot connect to the application in Europe and the Middle East. How important is the application? Can I still get the data for OSCAR out of the memory card like I can with the S9?

Hi Benzi,

I'm Canadian; I ran up over 22,000 hours on my S9 E.  
I replaced it with the S10 Autoset "for her" variety following discussions here.  It's a far better machine than I had. It's quieter. It's more convenient. 

Point  of posting here is that by asking questions here in the forum, and more importantly, when I finally started to listen I started getting better results.  Then in time I started getting results I'm really proud of. Then I had to learn not to out-think myself. I only look at OSCAR about once a month, and only after events I don't understand, or just plain rotten sleep.

And I owe great thanks to the people that took time to answer my questions.

Dave
DaveL
Compliant for about 30 Canadian years

I'm just a cpap user like you. I don't give medical advice. I hope to learn from you, and share my experiences with you. 
Seek the advice of a physician before seeking treatment for medical conditions including sleep apnea. Sleep-well

Post Reply Post Reply
#16
RE: AirSense 10 Autoset and Elite
Thanks guys for all your info! I too have received tremendous benefit from advice received from forum members.
Something that I just noticed: it seems people are complaining about leaks from the s10 humidifier, that it's a "known issue". How common is this? I shudder at the thought of having to ship a machine back to the US for servicing/replacement (the warranty isn't honored here).
Post Reply Post Reply
#17
RE: AirSense 10 Autoset and Elite
(02-22-2021, 03:15 AM)Benzi Wrote:
(02-21-2021, 05:26 PM)mesenteria Wrote:
(02-21-2021, 09:31 AM)Benzi Wrote: Thanks! My insurance won't pay but I'm still looking for the best machine.

The 'best' machine is the one that meets your needs.  However, it might not meet your needs in six months or a year if you gain weight, develop other conditions, or continue on whatever path has led you to require PAP treatment of a sort.  So, it is often, not always, but often...a good idea to get what you can afford and that has some considerable flexibility of response built into it.  That tends to be the more capable ($$) machines.

The Elite is what I use.  It suffices, and my needs have not changed, even though I have lost 11kg of weight in the past year.  When I had my sleep labs, the first determined that I was in trouble.  The second, a month later, showed that fixed PAP, CPAP actually, solved my particular case, and so a simple CPAP was prescribed by the specialist.  I still use a fixed range of pressures, which the Elite model delivers.

You may need something more complex or varied to solve your case, and to keep solving it as you age over the next year or four.  We don't know, but a proper diagnosis will help, or a machine that has variable delivery function can be adjusted as you go to optimize your therapy.  That's what we do here...we offer advice and coaching if people are struggling and don't seem to be able to find relief or a suitable type of machine.

Hi Mesenteria

Thanks for all the info. My background: I've been using CPAP for almost a year and a half. AHI was below 5 - which is not considered apnea in my part of the woods (I know that the situation is different in some other places). It was a life-changer for me; for the first time in years I was able to get through the work day without 6-8 espressos.
Then around a year ago my sleep quality tanked, AHI went to 12-14, and I was getting up exhausted. Most of the apneas were CAs. The "sleep doctor" prescribed a pill to help me sleep - "when people get CAs after a period with CPAP, we treat them the same way as OAs" or something similar. The pills worked like a charm for a few months, then stopped working. When I talked to my GP, she said I shouldn't be taking them for a long time, that I should get off them (the "sleep doctor" had not said anything about short-term use). So I had a couple of weeks of pure hell, waking up every hour. I felt like shooting the doctor who got me hooked on the pills. Now things are somewhat better, I'm in the process of researching what natural aids I should use so I don't wake up 2-3 times each night. Last night was a good one - AHI of 1.7 and I'm less tired. In general the apneas that I get are CAs, my OAs are zero or close to it.
If there is a machine that will improve my sleep quality better than what the S9 does, I'll buy it. My insurance subsidized the S9 that I bought a year and a half ago, and they only do that once in 5 years. So if I decide to buy a different machine now, it will be at my expense. Which is why I've been asking all these questions, to choose the best machine for me. It seems that the S10 Autoset For Her might do the trick.
(Incidentally, I see that you and I are using the same range of pressures - 5-8.)

Thanks again!

Oh no!! I am always scared of using sleep supplements for exactly that reason!! The only thing I tried - which I don’t now - was a drink that has a little melatonin, but I am so sorry your “sleep doctor” told you to use those pills!! 

I am actually about to be switching to an Autoset. Last night I figured out how to program my pressure and I’m going to try to use it. I loved my S9 and hated my Philips device I had - and the Philips broke!!! 

I do have a question, is there a reason why you want to upgrade? Is the S9 not working for you or you just want the newer model? Im just wondering since you just got the S9. I have been using my Philips for about 4-5 years and I’m only switching back to my S9 and now to the Autoset because the Philips broke. And I was lucky - my dad stopped using his Autoset and he gave it to me. 

Anyway, have a great day and hopefully a better sleep!!!
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#18
RE: AirSense 10 Autoset and Elite
(02-22-2021, 03:49 AM)Benzi Wrote:
(02-22-2021, 03:20 AM)StevesSp Wrote: Have you had a sleep study or are you self-diagnosed? To be honest, I wonder if you should be using CPAP at all.

Hi Steve

I had a sleep study. It showed 31 apneas an hour. The CPAP reduced the AHI to less than 5. Why are you wondering whether I should be using CPAP?

I was confused too. You mentioned your back story in one of your posts, and it wasn’t clear that your AHI of 5 was after treatment. That’s probably why he said that.
Post Reply Post Reply
#19
RE: AirSense 10 Autoset and Elite
(Yesterday, 07:32 AM)astraith Wrote:
(02-22-2021, 03:15 AM)Benzi Wrote:
(02-21-2021, 05:26 PM)mesenteria Wrote: The 'best' machine is the one that meets your needs.  However, it might not meet your needs in six months or a year if you gain weight, develop other conditions, or continue on whatever path has led you to require PAP treatment of a sort.  So, it is often, not always, but often...a good idea to get what you can afford and that has some considerable flexibility of response built into it.  That tends to be the more capable ($$) machines.

The Elite is what I use.  It suffices, and my needs have not changed, even though I have lost 11kg of weight in the past year.  When I had my sleep labs, the first determined that I was in trouble.  The second, a month later, showed that fixed PAP, CPAP actually, solved my particular case, and so a simple CPAP was prescribed by the specialist.  I still use a fixed range of pressures, which the Elite model delivers.

You may need something more complex or varied to solve your case, and to keep solving it as you age over the next year or four.  We don't know, but a proper diagnosis will help, or a machine that has variable delivery function can be adjusted as you go to optimize your therapy.  That's what we do here...we offer advice and coaching if people are struggling and don't seem to be able to find relief or a suitable type of machine.

Hi Mesenteria

Thanks for all the info. My background: I've been using CPAP for almost a year and a half. AHI was below 5 - which is not considered apnea in my part of the woods (I know that the situation is different in some other places). It was a life-changer for me; for the first time in years I was able to get through the work day without 6-8 espressos.
Then around a year ago my sleep quality tanked, AHI went to 12-14, and I was getting up exhausted. Most of the apneas were CAs. The "sleep doctor" prescribed a pill to help me sleep - "when people get CAs after a period with CPAP, we treat them the same way as OAs" or something similar. The pills worked like a charm for a few months, then stopped working. When I talked to my GP, she said I shouldn't be taking them for a long time, that I should get off them (the "sleep doctor" had not said anything about short-term use). So I had a couple of weeks of pure hell, waking up every hour. I felt like shooting the doctor who got me hooked on the pills. Now things are somewhat better, I'm in the process of researching what natural aids I should use so I don't wake up 2-3 times each night. Last night was a good one - AHI of 1.7 and I'm less tired. In general the apneas that I get are CAs, my OAs are zero or close to it.
If there is a machine that will improve my sleep quality better than what the S9 does, I'll buy it. My insurance subsidized the S9 that I bought a year and a half ago, and they only do that once in 5 years. So if I decide to buy a different machine now, it will be at my expense. Which is why I've been asking all these questions, to choose the best machine for me. It seems that the S10 Autoset For Her might do the trick.
(Incidentally, I see that you and I are using the same range of pressures - 5-8.)

Thanks again!

Oh no!! I am always scared of using sleep supplements for exactly that reason!! The only thing I tried - which I don’t now - was a drink that has a little melatonin, but I am so sorry your “sleep doctor” told you to use those pills!! 

I am actually about to be switching to an Autoset. Last night I figured out how to program my pressure and I’m going to try to use it. I loved my S9 and hated my Philips device I had - and the Philips broke!!! 

I do have a question, is there a reason why you want to upgrade? Is the S9 not working for you or you just want the newer model? Im just wondering since you just got the S9. I have been using my Philips for about 4-5 years and I’m only switching back to my S9 and now to the Autoset because the Philips broke. And I was lucky - my dad stopped using his Autoset and he gave it to me. 

Anyway, have a great day and hopefully a better sleep!!!

Hi Astraith

Lately the noise from the machine is disturbing my wife's sleep - not sure whether it's the noise from the machine or from the mask. In addition my sleep quality has not been fantastic lately, and since I've read some reports of the S10 Autoset providing better treatment, I'm thinking about getting it.
Post Reply Post Reply
#20
RE: AirSense 10 Autoset and Elite
(Yesterday, 12:15 AM)Benzi Wrote: Thanks guys for all your info! I too have received tremendous benefit from advice received from forum members.
Something that I just noticed: it seems people are complaining about leaks from the s10 humidifier, that it's a "known issue". How common is this? I shudder at the thought of having to ship a machine back to the US for servicing/replacement (the warranty isn't honored here).

I started a controversy here.

I have an S10 that I bought. I was able to purchase a spare reservoir very cheaply from a local supplier.  It was about $50 CDN.  There are two kinds of reservoirs. One you can use city water with chlorine. The other is marked not to do that, and that's what I got with my machine.  Many here have had good long performance from that container. 

You won't have to ship the machine back to the US; find a vendor who will sell a replacement reservoir.

I like the humidifier in the S10 better than the one in the S9E I used to use.

Dave
DaveL
Compliant for about 30 Canadian years

I'm just a cpap user like you. I don't give medical advice. I hope to learn from you, and share my experiences with you. 
Seek the advice of a physician before seeking treatment for medical conditions including sleep apnea. Sleep-well

Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
Question [Equipment] ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset astraith 10 190 Yesterday, 11:16 PM
Last Post: astraith
  Humidifier, AirSense 10, AutoSet g200 4 144 02-24-2021, 12:24 PM
Last Post: staceyburke
  Please help me diagnose this ResMed AirSense 10 AutoSet noise - YouTube link added UncollapseMeThroat 26 1,048 02-22-2021, 02:25 PM
Last Post: AlanF51SA
  Airsense 10 Autoset not writing to SD card u4ea 0 58 02-20-2021, 05:41 PM
Last Post: u4ea
  New User [adjusting pressure on AirSense 10 Autoset] mike231a 21 1,329 02-15-2021, 04:58 PM
Last Post: mike231a
  Time and Date Wrong on Airsense 10 Autoset biyahero 37 6,686 02-08-2021, 09:48 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  [CPAP] [mb635] - AirSense 10 Autoset to Aircurve 10 ASV mb635 82 3,434 02-06-2021, 12:48 PM
Last Post: mb635


New Posts   Today's Posts






About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.