Post Reply 
AirSense 10 CPAP vs AirSense Elite with Sleepyhead
Author Message
FrankNichols Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 714
Joined: Mar 2016

Machine: AirSense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed F10 and/or P10
Humidifier: Builtin
CPAP Pressure: 17-19
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead Other Software

Other Comments: I've figured out how to get my AHI down to 5, I quit sleeping!

Sex: Male
Location: Live Oak, Florida

Post: #1
Question AirSense 10 CPAP vs AirSense Elite with Sleepyhead
I had my Titration followup meeting with the doctor today and got a prescription, it seems a regular CPAP will work for me (as opposed to BiPAP or ASV), at least that is what he is recommending we start with for the trail period. I am "stuck" using Aprea (for multiple reasons) and as such I am watching them carefully, per everyones advice here, and I am going try to make a few waves as possible in hopes things go smoothly.

Their "default" machine (if the doctor does not script for a specific model) is the ResMed AirSense 10 CPAP. As far as I can see the only difference between this and the AirSense CPAP Elite is that the Elite will detect CSR/CSA events.

1. Is that correct?

2. Will Sleepyhead be able to detect Central events with the CPAP, or do I need to have the ELITE for those to be detected, and Sleepyhead simply reports them?

The reason I ask is that on the original sleep study I was throwing Centrals, in the titration study they were completely eliminated during CPAP and some Centrals were reported during BiPAP at high pressure (18 to 20). So, he feels the CPAP therapy should be all I need. But, if my machine can not detect CSA/CSR events, how will we know if I am having them? I could ask him to script for the Elite, but again, I want to go the least rock the boat path unless there is a good reason to request something specific. I didn't know that the CPAP was the default with Aprea, so at the time he wrote the script I didn't know to ask him to specify it. I can ask him to change the script, but if it is not necessary, I would rather not.

I am not a Medical professional and I don't play one on the internet.
Started CPAP Therapy April 5, 2016
I'd Rather Be Sleeping
03-22-2016 11:47 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
pholynyk Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 307
Joined: Mar 2015

Machine: ResMed AirSense 10 APAP
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Amara View
Humidifier: included
CPAP Pressure: 11-17
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post: #2
RE: AirSense 10 CPAP vs AirSense Elite with Sleepyhead
The biggest difference between the CPAP and the Elite is that the CPAP model is a brick with only compliance data recorded. The Elite is also a constant (settable) pressure machine, but it also records full data which can be displayed by SleepyHead. The CPAP machine is much more profitable for the DME, since they get paid the same amount by the insurance company or Medicare.

You do not want the CPAP model if you plan on using SleepyHead.
03-22-2016 12:45 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
FrankNichols Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 714
Joined: Mar 2016

Machine: AirSense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed F10 and/or P10
Humidifier: Builtin
CPAP Pressure: 17-19
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead Other Software

Other Comments: I've figured out how to get my AHI down to 5, I quit sleeping!

Sex: Male
Location: Live Oak, Florida

Post: #3
RE: AirSense 10 CPAP vs AirSense Elite with Sleepyhead
(03-22-2016 12:45 PM)pholynyk Wrote:  The biggest difference between the CPAP and the Elite is that the CPAP model is a brick with only compliance data recorded. The Elite is also a constant (settable) pressure machine, but it also records full data which can be displayed by SleepyHead. The CPAP machine is much more profitable for the DME, since they get paid the same amount by the insurance company or Medicare.

You do not want the CPAP model if you plan on using SleepyHead.

Thank you, I have contacted the Sleep Center and requested a new script specifying the Airsense 10 CPAP Elite. I appreciate you taking the time to answer.
03-22-2016 01:05 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
OpalRose Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,181
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: PR System One REMstar Auto 560 with A Flex
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: AirFit P10 For Her
Humidifier: REMStar heated humidifier with heated hose
CPAP Pressure: Auto Cpap 10-13 AFLEX 1
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Started CPAP Therapy October 23, 2014

Sex: Female
Location: Northeast Ohio, USA

Post: #4
RE: AirSense 10 CPAP vs AirSense Elite with Sleepyhead
You should not be settling for anything less than an auto Cpap.
Just so you know, your insurance pays the same for an Elite or an AutoSet. It's Apria who will profit, and not sure why your doctor should care.

Speak up with your doctor, ask for an Auto Cpap. You have to use this machine for a long time.

An Auto Cpap can be set to a straight Cpap pressure mode, but an Elite cannot be set to Auto.

OpalRose
03-22-2016 02:10 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
FrankNichols Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 714
Joined: Mar 2016

Machine: AirSense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed F10 and/or P10
Humidifier: Builtin
CPAP Pressure: 17-19
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead Other Software

Other Comments: I've figured out how to get my AHI down to 5, I quit sleeping!

Sex: Male
Location: Live Oak, Florida

Post: #5
RE: AirSense 10 CPAP vs AirSense Elite with Sleepyhead
(03-22-2016 02:10 PM)OpalRose Wrote:  You should not be settling for anything less than an auto Cpap.
Just so you know, your insurance pays the same for an Elite or an AutoSet. It's Apria who will profit, and not sure why your doctor should care.

Speak up with your doctor, ask for an Auto Cpap. You have to use this machine for a long time.

An Auto Cpap can be set to a straight Cpap pressure mode, but an Elite cannot be set to Auto.

My doctor doesn't care, when we met I asked him how he would write the script and he said he would normally write it generic and let the DME and me decide the machine model. I said, fine. When I went to Aprea they said their default machine was the CPAP and they could only provide a different machine if the doctor specified it. So, I came here to verify the CPAP did not collect enough data, and upon that being confirmed, I called the sleep center and asked them to ask the doctor to rewrite the script to be an elite. As for the auto, he does feel that auto is conta-indicated in my case, saying that auto is not recommended for my specific symptoms. I understand that I will be using this for a long time, but I don't mind leaving off the auto, and "tuning" it myself if and when I have to.
(This post was last modified: 03-22-2016 02:17 PM by FrankNichols.)
03-22-2016 02:15 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #6
RE: AirSense 10 CPAP vs AirSense Elite with Sleepyhead
(03-22-2016 11:47 AM)FrankNichols Wrote:  I had my Titration followup meeting with the doctor today and got a prescription, it seems a regular CPAP will work for me (as opposed to BiPAP or ASV), at least that is what he is recommending we start with for the trail period. I am "stuck" using Aprea (for multiple reasons) and as such I am watching them carefully, per everyones advice here, and I am going try to make a few waves as possible in hopes things go smoothly.

Their "default" machine (if the doctor does not script for a specific model) is the ResMed AirSense 10 CPAP. As far as I can see the only difference between this and the AirSense CPAP Elite is that the Elite will detect CSR/CSA events.

1. Is that correct?

The data collected by the Elite is much better than the "CPAP."

The A10 CPAP only has nightly AHI average and leak numbers.

No indication of the time the events happened. No indication of whether you have 11 second apneas or 50 second apneas. Doesn't distinguish central from obstructive apnea. No airflow waveforms. No indication of whether you have clusters of events when you fall asleep or wake up, or if you have them uniformly during the night. No indication whether you have periods of large leak with good fit between or if you're leaking all night long.

It is better than the classic "brick" that only records on/off times. but the Elite collects much more useful data.

The "A10 CPAP" model is a bit like having a check engine on your car dashboard. The Elite is like having an engine analyzer with printouts, gauges, and oscilloscope displays. If you have any problems with your therapy, it's a lot easier to fix it if you have an Elite.
03-22-2016 03:56 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
FrankNichols Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 714
Joined: Mar 2016

Machine: AirSense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed F10 and/or P10
Humidifier: Builtin
CPAP Pressure: 17-19
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead Other Software

Other Comments: I've figured out how to get my AHI down to 5, I quit sleeping!

Sex: Male
Location: Live Oak, Florida

Post: #7
RE: AirSense 10 CPAP vs AirSense Elite with Sleepyhead
(03-22-2016 03:56 PM)archangle Wrote:  
(03-22-2016 11:47 AM)FrankNichols Wrote:  I had my Titration followup meeting with the doctor today and got a prescription, it seems a regular CPAP will work for me (as opposed to BiPAP or ASV), at least that is what he is recommending we start with for the trail period. I am "stuck" using Aprea (for multiple reasons) and as such I am watching them carefully, per everyones advice here, and I am going try to make a few waves as possible in hopes things go smoothly.

Their "default" machine (if the doctor does not script for a specific model) is the ResMed AirSense 10 CPAP. As far as I can see the only difference between this and the AirSense CPAP Elite is that the Elite will detect CSR/CSA events.

1. Is that correct?

The data collected by the Elite is much better than the "CPAP."

The A10 CPAP only has nightly AHI average and leak numbers.

No indication of the time the events happened. No indication of whether you have 11 second apneas or 50 second apneas. Doesn't distinguish central from obstructive apnea. No airflow waveforms. No indication of whether you have clusters of events when you fall asleep or wake up, or if you have them uniformly during the night. No indication whether you have periods of large leak with good fit between or if you're leaking all night long.

It is better than the classic "brick" that only records on/off times. but the Elite collects much more useful data.

The "A10 CPAP" model is a bit like having a check engine on your car dashboard. The Elite is like having an engine analyzer with printouts, gauges, and oscilloscope displays. If you have any problems with your therapy, it's a lot easier to fix it if you have an Elite.

Thanks, I am waiting to hear from the Doctors office (Sleep Center) on if he will script it for me. If not, I will have to decide if I want to just pay out of pocket. The AirSense line is about $800 to $900 compared to the AirCurve Line that is about $1800, compared to the ASV which is about $5000. I would prefer to have my insurance pay for it. I am also waiting for Humana to reply to a question about if I can go out of network and receive any reimbursement. I expect my $975 deductible would have to be paid before I can get any reimbursement from them. But, If I am going to use this for 5 or 10 years, I want something I will be happy with and at $800 I can afford it (barely) I would just prefer to not have to pay it.
03-22-2016 04:07 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Cloggd Nose elling with ResMed Airsense 10 AutoSet edmund36 4 93 Today 08:22 PM
Last Post: edmund36
  Totally Confused by Airsense 10 Data - Centrals - Problem machine... ? mymontreal 23 1,145 Today 06:14 PM
Last Post: richb
Question ResMed AirSense 10 Badjo17 26 2,540 12-04-2016 09:30 AM
Last Post: Arnie51
  Is this sound normal? - Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset Ronberta 8 1,280 11-29-2016 07:59 PM
Last Post: sonicboom
  [Equipment] ResMed Airsense 10 Quit Working SherrieR 4 258 11-26-2016 07:51 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
Angry Resmed Airsense/Telstra 2G wireless kerput JamesW 2 220 11-24-2016 11:08 PM
Last Post: JamesW
  ResMed Airsense 10 Auto Set...Runaway Pressure Abnormal86 14 576 11-22-2016 11:39 PM
Last Post: sonicboom

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)