Post Reply 
AirSense 10 Humidifier is not working
Author Message
spooky101 Offline

Members

Posts: 4
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: AirFit10
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 8-20
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Oklahoma

Post: #1
AirSense 10 Humidifier is not working
Last week I purchased a ResMed AirSense 10 Autoset C-PAP machine. The humidifier has never worked. I have changed the setting to different values (4,6, and 7) and the Humidifier heating Icon shows on the screen, but the water level never changes. A message "ClimateLine Fault, Change hose" started appearing a couple days after I bought the machine. I am not using a ClimateLine hose, just the hose that shipped with the product. The mask fits well and a smiley face appears on the screen for both mask and humidifier. Any suggestions?
02-09-2015 11:16 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
retired_guy Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 2,744
Joined: Jan 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 10.6/14, EPR 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Is it bedtime yet?

Sex: Male
Location: Beautiful, albeit very wet Oregon Coast

Post: #2
RE: AirSense 10 Humidifier is not working
It sounds like the machine is confused. You could change the settings yourself with the help of the clinician manual, but since the machine is brand new I would take it back to Mr. Resmed's store and tell them to give you the climateline hose the machine thinks it wants, or fix the settings so the humidifier works.
02-09-2015 12:34 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
spooky101 Offline

Members

Posts: 4
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: AirFit10
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 8-20
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Oklahoma

Post: #3
RE: AirSense 10 Humidifier is not working
Thanks for the quick response. Reading the clinician manual, it indicates that some options are only available when a ClimateLineAir tube is connected (Climate Control). When I go to the Clinical Menu, the options for Tube are SlimLine or Standard. This parameter is set to Standard. Climate Control does not appear as an menu item. The manual states that a ClimateLineAir tube is automatically detected. I am at a loss for what parameter to change. I will take it back to store.
02-09-2015 01:54 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,450
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #4
RE: AirSense 10 Humidifier is not working
Hi spooky101,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Since your machine is new, it would be a good idea to take it back to the store and have them take a look at it, and if necessary, they could exchange it.
Hang in there for more responses to your post.
Good luck on getting your machine straightened out and much success to you with your CPAP therapy.

trish6hundred
02-09-2015 04:44 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Mr. Van Winkle Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 257
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Eson
Humidifier: Airsense
CPAP Pressure: 9 -15
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead Other Software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Minnesota

Post: #5
RE: AirSense 10 Humidifier is not working
(02-09-2015 01:54 PM)spooky101 Wrote:  Thanks for the quick response. Reading the clinician manual, it indicates that some options are only available when a ClimateLineAir tube is connected (Climate Control). When I go to the Clinical Menu, the options for Tube are SlimLine or Standard. This parameter is set to Standard. Climate Control does not appear as an menu item. The manual states that a ClimateLineAir tube is automatically detected. I am at a loss for what parameter to change. I will take it back to store.
Welcome, You are correct the machine will recognize the Climate line tube when installed. You have Standard checked which should be good I think the only difference with the slimline tube is it's shorter and a little smaller diameter , but you could try that setting, any way the machine must think your using the Climate hose or I wouldn't think you would get that error message.
One thing you could try is to total unplug your machine let it set for a few minutes then plug it in and reset you hose choice and your humidification like to 5 or 6, and if that doesn't work I'd contact your DME or who you bought from, These machines have a 2 year warrantee.
Good Luck!
Keep us posted..
(This post was last modified: 02-09-2015 05:06 PM by Mr. Van Winkle.)
02-09-2015 05:05 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Mr. Van Winkle Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 257
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Eson
Humidifier: Airsense
CPAP Pressure: 9 -15
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead Other Software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Minnesota

Post: #6
RE: AirSense 10 Humidifier is not working
Forgot one thing, If you do get your problem solved I would recommend the ClimatelineAir Hose. I'm not sure of your location but here in the cool no Cold climate that heated hose is nice and I use the auto feature and have real good results (No rainout at all).
Best to you!
02-09-2015 05:12 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
spooky101 Offline

Members

Posts: 4
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: AirFit10
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 8-20
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Oklahoma

Post: #7
RE: AirSense 10 Humidifier is not working
Again, thanks for the quick responses. I contacted the vendor and they suggested removing the SD card and unplugging the device for a couple minutes. Exactly as Mr. Van Winkle suggested. I tried that and the plate seemed to be warmer. I will report back in the morning. I am in Oklahoma, so I may need to cool the tube.

Edit: The vendor was very helpful. If unplugging the device doesn't work, they agreed to exchange it for another one.
(This post was last modified: 02-09-2015 05:28 PM by spooky101.)
02-09-2015 05:24 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
spooky101 Offline

Members

Posts: 4
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: AirFit10
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 8-20
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Oklahoma

Post: #8
RE: AirSense 10 Humidifier is not working
Thanks Mr. Van Winkle. Your suggestion of unplugging the machine appears to have worked.
02-10-2015 10:27 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Mr. Van Winkle Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 257
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Eson
Humidifier: Airsense
CPAP Pressure: 9 -15
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead Other Software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Minnesota

Post: #9
RE: AirSense 10 Humidifier is not working
(02-10-2015 10:27 PM)spooky101 Wrote:  Thanks Mr. Van Winkle. Your suggestion of unplugging the machine appears to have worked.

You are very welcome, glad that worked for you, Just remember you have a lot of support on this board, there are many helpful folks here.

Sleep-well
02-11-2015 07:32 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
rfletch Offline

New Members

Posts: 1
Joined: Oct 2014

Machine: AirSense 10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: Built-in
CPAP Pressure: 4-20
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #10
RE: AirSense 10 Humidifier is not working
Hi, Spooky;

I have the AirSense 10 Autoset, but with the ClimateLine heated tube. My wife has the AirSense 10 For Her Autoset, also with the heated tube. We would get the same error and the humidifier would quit working for the rest of the night once the error occurred. ResMed replaced my machine and it was still doing it. Nothing like waking up in the morning with your tongue sticking to the roof of your mouth because it's so dry.

I found that by pulling out the power supply cord going into the back of the machine just enough so that it lost power and then pushing it back in, my machine and my wife's would work fine that night. Now I do that to her machine and mine every night after filling our humidifiers and reinserting them into our machines and we don't get the error.

As an old electronics engineer, I suspect a firmware bug which hopefully ResMed will soon resolve. I don't like the idea of constantly power-cycling the machine every night as doing so exposes the machines' electronics to what we call "in rush" current which can prematurely age some of the electronic components.

Otherwise, we both really like our machines much better than our previous Respironics autos.
02-12-2015 01:38 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Beginning use with H5i humidifier Lanco 27 863 12-07-2016 02:59 PM
Last Post: Lanco
  Does long term humidifier use affect lungs? Russatrice 11 436 12-06-2016 06:27 PM
Last Post: eseedhouse
Question ResMed AirSense 10 Badjo17 26 2,507 12-04-2016 09:30 AM
Last Post: Arnie51
  [Equipment] ResMed Airsense 10 Quit Working SherrieR 4 253 11-26-2016 07:51 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  [Pressure] new airsense 10 new at this abrun7 7 517 11-19-2016 02:12 PM
Last Post: Sleepster
  Been about a week with the AirSense 10 for Her Beej 4 397 11-11-2016 09:30 PM
Last Post: Beej
  [CPAP] Changes in how the machine has been working? Xinectyl 9 318 11-07-2016 12:02 PM
Last Post: Xinectyl

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)