Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

AirSense 11 has now become a LOT louder: defective?
AirSense 11 has now become a LOT louder: defective?
I was one for the first new (early adopter of sorts) ResMed users to be provided with a new AirSense 11 to replace my AirSense 10 which I have been using for more than 5+ years. I've been using CPAP for more than 22 years too, so I'm not a noob when it comes to CPAPs and CPAP therapy.

About a month ago I noticed my unit became noticeably [much] louder during regular (normal) operation even at a pressure of 4 (ramp). It became so loud with EPR (enabled) that had to move it underneath my bed and wear earplugs. Previously, with EPR enabled I had no issue. It was [almost] as quiet as my AirSense 10. Even when I turn on the AirSense 11 and let it run (before it stops on it's own) it's much louder than before. I used this a benchmark comparing CPAP machines. I checked for leaks in the humidifier, hose, etc. None were found.

I'm wondering if maybe there's a defect with the unit and I'm just one of a few just starting to experience it?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: AirSense 11 has now become a LOT louder: defective?
Is it a constant noise from the blower or a breathing noise from the periodic breathing. I just got my S11 2 weeks ago and the blower noise is less than the s10 but I have noticed an increased breathing noise. I suspect it has to do with the amount of water in the humidifier tank. 

I plan to play with the water levels and see if I can lower this noise. 

Keep us posted as I too am interested in this.
CPAP is a journey like “The Wizard of Oz”. It’s a long slow journey. You will face many problems and pick up many friends along the way. Just because you reach the poppies, it doesn’t mean you are in Kansas.