Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

AirSense 11 settings to tweak to reduce central apneas?
AirSense 11 settings to tweak to reduce central apneas?
I'm a male in my mid-40's, diagnosed with moderate OSA in August 2022. The sleep study showed a total of 2 OAs, 7 CAs, and 72 hypopneas over 5 hours of sleep. I've been using a ResMed AirSense 11 since September 2022. My OA numbers have been very good since I got used to the machine, but my CAs increased. I was put on acetazolamide (125mg) to see if it could bring down my CAs and I believe it was working but may have affected kidney function (increased creatinine) so I've gone off it now for a week. 

Overall, sleep has definitely improved with CPAP but I don't feel that well rested and would like to see if improving CA numbers has any impact.

The sleep medicine provider has offered to set up a lab titration study but is very backlogged, so I'm wondering if this group has any suggestions for settings I could attempt to tweak in the meantime to lower CA without increasing OSA or hypopneas.

I have been using the machine with EPR off for several months. My other settings are shown in the attached screenshot, as well as a typical night (37 CA events). I've also attacehd a graph of a rolling average of CA events from October 2022 to the present. You'll see in the past week the numbers have gone up a fair bit since I've been off of acetazolamide.

Thanks for any suggestions!

Settings

Events

Graphs

I'll follow up with another post with my rolling average CA count, since I can only attach three files to one post.

Here's the graph of rolling-average CA's since October 2022.

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: AirSense 11 settings to tweak to reduce central apneas?