Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Airsense 10 problem with DreamWear Mask
Airsense 10 problem with DreamWear Mask
[attachment=4919]
I am rather new in CPAP treatment (less than a month) and I purchased the Resmed Airsense 10 Auto with a Resmed Swift FX nasal mask. I also started using the SleepyHead software to monitor the treatment. According to the software I had a very good AHI index (less than 3) and I already felt better.

Two weeks later, as I was not feeling so comfortable with the air tube under my nose, I decided to buy the Respironics DreamWear nasal mask which I believe is an ideal mask as regarding the feeling of freedom. BUT from the first day of using that mask, I had major problems that never had with the Swift FX. First of all, the Airsense 10 Auto, was no more able to sense that I was getting the mask off, stopping providing air, so I should always manually turn it off. Additionally, my AHI index reached very high levels (more than 10) and I felt not good again in my sleep. When checking the SleepyHead software, I found out that the Airsense 10 reported faulty OA and CA events, for periods I was not sleeping.

I do not know if anybody else had such problems, but as it seems the combination of Airsense 10 and the DreamWear mask is not working for me. I believe that Airsense can not realize if I am sleeping or not, to correctly adjust the pressure so it does not treat my apnea events as it should.

I need a presure level of 8 for my treatment, so the machine is set to provide 5 to 11. I changed the ramp time from Auto to Off, bypassing the lower levels without improvement. I do not know what is wrong with that set, as I hear that there are people out there using the same set without any problems.

Could anybody suggest any ideas please ?