Post Reply 
Airsense 10 sim card
Author Message
zzzzuser Offline

Members

Posts: 4
Joined: Oct 2015

Machine: PR Dreamstation
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: PR Dreamwear
Humidifier: PR Dreamstation
CPAP Pressure: 7-12
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #1
Airsense 10 sim card
Hello, I've just been diagnosed with sleep apnea and I'm now looking for a CPAP machine to buy.

I am confused about the "wireless" feature of the Airsense 10, how does it work ?
I suppose I need to insert a sim card in it ?
How do I access the data once it's online ? Is it on a website somewhere ?

Thanks for your help Smile
10-31-2015 01:08 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #2
RE: Airsense 10 sim card
Hi zzzzuser and welcome to Apnea Board
Airsense 10 has a cellular communication, transmit data automatically and allows change the settings remotely by your doctor
If wanted, you can turn it off. Data transmission is not available outside the country of purchase

SD card is separate thing from the wireless, report additional detailed data which are not transmitted remotely
You can use SleepyHead http://www.sleepfiles.com/SH2/ for that
You can also connect to 'my Air" http://www.resmed.com/au/en/consumer/air...myair.html and that gives you nice score and stay tuned

[Image: ResMed-AirSense-10.png]
[should say "AutoSet, AutoSet for Her, Elite or CPAP"]

If you've been diagnosed with obstructive sleep apnea, might be good idea to get an 'AutoSet', can be used on fixed pressure mode or auto-adjusting mode (two machines in one) only cost few dollars more and better value for money as machines last many years. No point get stuck with a machine have limited option

http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-CPAP-Supplier-List
All the above suppliers offer free shipping in US. Supplier #2 and #10 ship internationally
10-31-2015 02:19 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
cate1898 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 784
Joined: Aug 2015

Machine: PR System One 560BT Auto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: P10's/backup-DreamWear
Humidifier: PR attached
CPAP Pressure: 8.5 - 13. A-Flex 3
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Began CPAP Therapy Sept. 11, 2015. Hx Hypertension, Post Graves Disease, chronic migraines.

Sex: Female
Location: Southern Ontario//SW Florida

Post: #3
RE: Airsense 10 sim card
Hi zzzzuser and welcome to Apnea Board forum! Best place to get help from other CPAP users with experience!!

I can't tell where you are from as you did not fill that out. However just wanted to mention that the wireless feature might work differently depending on what country you are in. I can only speak for Canada, but I was told if I wanted to use that feature that there is a fee for it. Now if you have an SD card in your machine and take it to your doctors or the DME in my case who will download the info from it, it does the same as what the wireless would do wirelessly.

So check to see if that feature is free in your country, as it is not in Canada.

APNEABOARD - A great place to be if you're a hosehead!! Rolleyes

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
EVERY ACCOMPLISHMENT BEGINS WITH THE DECISION TO TRY!
10-31-2015 06:19 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zzzzuser Offline

Members

Posts: 4
Joined: Oct 2015

Machine: PR Dreamstation
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: PR Dreamwear
Humidifier: PR Dreamstation
CPAP Pressure: 7-12
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #4
RE: Airsense 10 sim card
Thanks for your answers Smile
I'm living in Thailand and I'll have to buy it online, probably from a US online shop.
So "Data transmission is not available outside the country of purchase" means it won't be available for me I suppose.

And yes I will take an autoset model, whatever it will be. Maybe Airsense 10, or S9 or maybe Dreamstation.
10-31-2015 07:36 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,853
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #5
RE: Airsense 10 sim card
You can still follow your therapy with Sleepyhead software and the SD card in the machine.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
10-31-2015 07:51 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Jim Bronson Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 264
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: ResMed Airsense 10 Elite
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage FX
Humidifier: Built-in
CPAP Pressure: 9.2
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: California

Post: #6
RE: Airsense 10 sim card
The wireless feature is often used by insurance companies for compliance. For example, Medicare requires that the patient use the machine for an average of four hours per day during the 90 day trial period. If you are paying for the machine yourself, you may not need the wireless feature, and you can turn it off. Ask your doc.

I always take the memory card along with me to doctor appointments. He takes a look at the detailed data and reviews it with me.

The Sleepyhead application imports the card data so you can review it every day if you wish.

Resmed also has a similar application, but most forum members prefer Sleepyhead.
10-31-2015 08:26 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #7
RE: Airsense 10 sim card
(10-31-2015 07:36 AM)zzzzuser Wrote:  Thanks for your answers Smile
I'm living in Thailand and I'll have to buy it online, probably from a US online shop.
So "Data transmission is not available outside the country of purchase" means it won't be available for me I suppose.

And yes I will take an autoset model, whatever it will be. Maybe Airsense 10, or S9 or maybe Dreamstation.
I don't care about the wireless, mean a nothing to me. AirSense 10 AutoSet sleep report shows detailed information of last night data on the screen and the software shows all the summary data and the more important detailed data graphs
I got two machines from US and happy with my purchase

I haven't used PR machines but I have used both S9 AutoSet and AirSense 10 AutoSet, you'll be pleased with either one
S9 getting discontinued but parts should available at least for the next 5 years
The free software 'SleepyHead' does not support DreamStation yet, but support the other two machines
10-31-2015 03:03 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
eseedhouse Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 881
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: SimPlus
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 7-10
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Also on supplemental O2 at 3L/min. while sleeping.

Sex: Male
Location: Victoria, British Columbia

Post: #8
RE: Airsense 10 sim card
You can buy a replacement SD card that has a WIFI transceiver built into it and use that to copy your data to your computer without removing the card from your machine. Look for a thread titled "Flashair" or "Flashpap".

Ed Seedhouse
VA7SDH

I am neither a Doctor, nor any other kind of medical professional.

Actually you know, it is what it isn't.
(This post was last modified: 10-31-2015 03:06 PM by eseedhouse.)
10-31-2015 03:05 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,449
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #9
RE: Airsense 10 sim card
Hi zzzzuser,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Much success to you as you start your CPAP journey and good luck to you with your machine decision.
Hang in there for more responses to your post.

trish6hundred
10-31-2015 03:24 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
dcchan2 Offline

Members

Posts: 8
Joined: Aug 2015

Machine: PR CA561
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: PR Wisp
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: 4
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #10
RE: Airsense 10 sim card
(10-31-2015 06:19 AM)cate1898 Wrote:  I can only speak for Canada, but I was told if I wanted to use that feature that there is a fee for it.

I'm in Canada as well (Mississauga, near Toronto ON). When I purchased the AirSense 10, the provider wanted to charge me a $50 "wireless activation fee" but I declined.

I registered my machine with ResMed MyAir program and the wireless feature works just fine, transmitting the data every morning one hour after the machine turns off. I can see my usage history online, although it's nowhere as detailed as SleepyHead.
(This post was last modified: 11-01-2015 09:08 AM by dcchan2.)
11-01-2015 09:05 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
Question ResMed AirSense 10 Badjo17 26 2,481 12-04-2016 09:30 AM
Last Post: Arnie51
  [Pressure] new airsense 10 new at this abrun7 7 514 11-19-2016 02:12 PM
Last Post: Sleepster
  Been about a week with the AirSense 10 for Her Beej 4 394 11-11-2016 09:30 PM
Last Post: Beej
  [Equipment] ResMed AirSense - Is there data storage on the SD card AND in the unit itself? FormerFed 19 2,475 11-03-2016 03:17 PM
Last Post: PreciousRoy
  1st night on new Airsense 10 for her Beej 7 482 11-02-2016 06:08 PM
Last Post: Beej
  Resmed Airsense 10 CPAP data versus Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset data David P. 4 539 10-29-2016 08:42 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  [Equipment] Airsense 10 enquiry weeble 6 483 09-29-2016 04:44 PM
Last Post: weeble

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)