Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Am I getting the right cpap backup battery? Beginner here
RE: Am I getting the right cpap backup battery? Beginner here
I wanted to come back to my reply. The normal desktop UPS similar to the older one I own (APC BX-1500 Pro) which was discontinued last year shows a runtime of approximately 262 minutes when using my ResMed AirSense 10 in APAP mode, humidity set to 1, and pressures set to 12 cmH20 to 10cmH20 with a ERP of 1.

Pushing the humidity up to number "8," the UPS displayed a runtime of 106 minutes.

Turning the humidity off, the runtime of 262 minutes was displayed. Since the ResMed was in APAP mode, the 262 minutes was displayed during the exhale cycle and 217 minutes was displayed during the inhale cycle. The air pump has to work harder during the inhale cycle.

This UPS when it was purchased years ago it sold for about $150. I think I picked it up at Best Buys. It does have a replaceable battery. There is other UPS models rated at 1500 VA (about 900W) with larger batteries, but the cost increases considerably into the $800 to $2,000 range depending on it battery size and features. These expensive models would be for servers and data center equipment. The more expensive models generally supply a clean sinewave as opposed to the stepped sinewave of models similar to the one I have when on UPS mode.

In conclusion, I would expect to get about 4 hours of runtime from the BX-1500. I hope this helps for users looking for a UPS. This configuration is not for travel use.

Equipment Setup: https://photos.app.goo.gl/NSw8osHnJNBGycuY6

Power Reading: https://photos.app.goo.gl/ckxSd7JQ1WF7sDSh6
Post Reply Post Reply