Post Reply 
Am I missing something?
Author Message
Rick_V Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 51
Joined: Jan 2016

Machine: Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Airfit P10
Humidifier: Unsure
CPAP Pressure: 5-9
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: CPAPing since 2006

Sex: Male
Location: Fort White, Fl.

Post: #1
Am I missing something?
I have just recently (2 weeks ago) received a Airsense A10. I have the humidity set to 3 and I am not getting any moisture at all. I check the plate and bottom of the water chamber when I get up and they are cold. Is there some switch or option I am just not seeing? I would like to find out if it is something I am did/doing before I call the DME and look like a idiot SHa_biggrin5 . I was out camping for a week until yesterday. I have a S8 auto that I keep in the RV but took the A10 with me to use. I had to use the S8 after the first night due to the humidity issue and last night I used the Remstar Series 60 that was my old in the house machine.
01-19-2016 07:57 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Sleeprider Online
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,340
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: Resmed Aircurve 10 Vauto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: Resmed Climateline
CPAP Pressure: Auto Bilevel 18/9, PS 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Where they make Respironics

Post: #2
RE: Am I missing something?
It sounds like you may have received a unit with a bad humidifier heater. At a setting of 3 you would certainly notice the heat on the plate. I'm not aware of any other setting that would cancel humidification with that setting, but I don't use the Autoset. Is your equipment provider a DME or did you buy this yourself. It is under warranty, and you should contact your supplier, or contact Supplier 27 on the supplier list to learn about submitting for warranty service. http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-CPAP-Supplier-List

______________________________________________
Organize your SleepyHead Data
Post your SleepyHead Data from Imgur
Robysue's Beginner's Guide to Sleepyhead
01-19-2016 09:55 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Phill Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 90
Joined: Nov 2015

Machine: ResMed S9 Auto Set
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit F10
Humidifier: ResMed H5i, with heated hose
CPAP Pressure: unsure
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: UK, sunny south coast.

Post: #3
RE: Am I missing something?
Is the water level in the reservoir dropping? this is said to be a reasonable indicator the the humidifier is working, or so I was told.
Also, if the water level drops to empty it is an indication of a large air leak.

I must say that it does not feel from the airflow that my humidifier is working, but all other indicators are show it is OK.
Even though I wash out the water reservoir each day and refill it with pre boiled water I get a small build up of scale which is another indicator that the heater is actually doing what it is supposed to.
01-19-2016 10:42 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Possum Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 254
Joined: Oct 2015

Machine: Resmed Airsense Autoset A10
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Airfit P10
Humidifier: (included in CPAP model)
CPAP Pressure: 8-12
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Innovo CMS-50F+ pulse oximeter

Sex: Male
Location: San Diego, California, USA

Post: #4
RE: Am I missing something?
You can quickly check the humidifier heater by executing the "Run Warmup" sequence from the main menu of the machine, waiting 5-10 minutes, and then removing the water tank and carefully feeling the metal heating element. If it is hot to the touch, then the heater is working.

I noticed you live in Florida, which I imagine is pretty humid year-round. That said, the humidifer might not be using that much water to maintain the humidity setting - 3 is pretty low (lower than the Auto climate control setting of 4). Even though I live in an arid climate, I've noticed that when it's been raining and thus ambient humidity is high, my machine uses significantly less water.
01-19-2016 11:59 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Rick_V Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 51
Joined: Jan 2016

Machine: Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Airfit P10
Humidifier: Unsure
CPAP Pressure: 5-9
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: CPAPing since 2006

Sex: Male
Location: Fort White, Fl.

Post: #5
RE: Am I missing something?
(01-19-2016 09:55 AM)Sleeprider Wrote:  It sounds like you may have received a unit with a bad humidifier heater. At a setting of 3 you would certainly notice the heat on the plate. I'm not aware of any other setting that would cancel humidification with that setting, but I don't use the Autoset. Is your equipment provider a DME or did you buy this yourself. It is under warranty, and you should contact your supplier, or contact Supplier 27 on the supplier list to learn about submitting for warranty service. http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-CPAP-Supplier-List

I called the DME and will take it there tomorrow for them to check it out

(01-19-2016 11:59 AM)Possum Wrote:  You can quickly check the humidifier heater by executing the "Run Warmup" sequence from the main menu of the machine, waiting 5-10 minutes, and then removing the water tank and carefully feeling the metal heating element. If it is hot to the touch, then the heater is working.

I noticed you live in Florida, which I imagine is pretty humid year-round. That said, the humidifer might not be using that much water to maintain the humidity setting - 3 is pretty low (lower than the Auto climate control setting of 4). Even though I live in an arid climate, I've noticed that when it's been raining and thus ambient humidity is high, my machine uses significantly less water.

My older machines all used water plus this time of the year humidity is a lot lower but, I like your suggestion to put it into warmup mode and verify for sure the plate is not heating. Gonna go try it right now.

OK just put it in warmup mode for 10 minutes plate was barely warm to the touch.
(This post was last modified: 01-19-2016 01:26 PM by Rick_V.)
01-19-2016 01:04 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
cate1898 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 784
Joined: Aug 2015

Machine: PR System One 560BT Auto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: P10's/backup-DreamWear
Humidifier: PR attached
CPAP Pressure: 8.5 - 13. A-Flex 3
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Began CPAP Therapy Sept. 11, 2015. Hx Hypertension, Post Graves Disease, chronic migraines.

Sex: Female
Location: Southern Ontario//SW Florida

Post: #6
RE: Am I missing something?
Welcome to the forum Rick_V! Hope you get your machine problem sorted out soon.

APNEABOARD - A great place to be if you're a hosehead!! Rolleyes

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
EVERY ACCOMPLISHMENT BEGINS WITH THE DECISION TO TRY!
01-20-2016 08:43 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
PoolQ Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 986
Joined: Jul 2015

Machine: AirCurve 10 VAUTO
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Amara View
Humidifier: Integrated
CPAP Pressure: 6.2, 15, PS4.0
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Sillicon Valley

Post: #7
RE: Am I missing something?
Is the humidity set to auto? if not what temperature do you have it set to? I have mine at 63 degrees, humidity to 0 because I want it to be cold and I don't want a lot of humidity.
01-20-2016 12:32 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Rick_V Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 51
Joined: Jan 2016

Machine: Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Airfit P10
Humidifier: Unsure
CPAP Pressure: 5-9
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: CPAPing since 2006

Sex: Male
Location: Fort White, Fl.

Post: #8
RE: Am I missing something?
I just wanted to say thanks for making me look like an idiot (just kidding SHa_biggrin5 ). I took it to the DME this am they checked it out and it is working fine. I assumed that having it set to 3 was the middle range due to the fact that 5 was the highest number my previous machines had. I was informed that it goes to 8 and that I should run it around 5 or 6.
01-20-2016 02:49 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Sleeprider Online
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,340
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: Resmed Aircurve 10 Vauto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: Resmed Climateline
CPAP Pressure: Auto Bilevel 18/9, PS 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Where they make Respironics

Post: #9
RE: Am I missing something?
Problem solved. That's what counts.

______________________________________________
Organize your SleepyHead Data
Post your SleepyHead Data from Imgur
Robysue's Beginner's Guide to Sleepyhead
01-20-2016 02:51 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Rick_V Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 51
Joined: Jan 2016

Machine: Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Airfit P10
Humidifier: Unsure
CPAP Pressure: 5-9
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: CPAPing since 2006

Sex: Male
Location: Fort White, Fl.

Post: #10
RE: Am I missing something?
(01-20-2016 12:32 PM)PoolQ Wrote:  Is the humidity set to auto? if not what temperature do you have it set to? I have mine at 63 degrees, humidity to 0 because I want it to be cold and I don't want a lot of humidity.

After reading your post I checked to see what my settings are and can't find any place to change anything but the humidity setting. I also checked in clinical mode.
(01-20-2016 02:51 PM)Sleeprider Wrote:  Problem solved. That's what counts.
Smile
(This post was last modified: 01-20-2016 03:07 PM by Rick_V.)
01-20-2016 03:05 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Bone missing woodturner550 16 466 11-13-2016 11:34 PM
Last Post: woodturner550
  What am I missing? Rcgop 12 584 10-21-2016 07:26 PM
Last Post: PaulaO2
  Am I Missing a Sleeve? Help! Dreams of Green 4 224 08-29-2016 09:53 PM
Last Post: FrankNichols
  Missing hose fitting from this mask petemsw 9 527 08-13-2016 08:12 PM
Last Post: Ockrocket
  Resmed Autoset 10 - AHI information missing in sleep report eeyern 3 865 03-01-2016 01:56 PM
Last Post: Santa Barbara
  Missing Data from my S9 Dave Schmitt 8 1,067 10-10-2015 11:02 PM
Last Post: PaulaO2
  Missing Menu Options Nyre 2 938 04-18-2015 07:01 PM
Last Post: Nyre

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)