Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Another newbie
Another newbie
Hi all, I'm new to the forum but I've been using a machine with varying pressure for about six months now. Mostly just writing this to introduce myself, I'm 26 and I'm a sleepy Australian (hence the koala avatar).

I've done two sleep studies, and I've been told I've got a mix of Obstructive Sleep Apnoea (OSA) and Central Sleep Apnoea (CSA). I've been looking through my data using the incredible SleepyHead software, and I can't seem to find any way to differentiate between OSA and CSA incidents. Is this data at all available?

Also I've had quite a few mornings where my mouth is completely dried out, so I assume the air is rushing in my nose then straight back out through my mouth. Are there any good tricks for preventing this, or should I look into getting a whole face mask, rather than the nostril pillows I'm using now?

If anyone reading this is completely new to using a CPAP, I know it can be pretty unpleasant at first. My first month was really tricky, and I think I slept much worse than I ever had before receiving treatment. But it gets easier and easier, and you learn to be comfortable. Stick with it.
-That said, I still haven't worked out how to position my hose properly. Does anyone have any creative solutions to hose management?

I'm really glad I found this forum, as I don't know anyone else who has sleep apnoea, and it's full of really interesting stuff, so thanks to you all for that!
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Another newbie