Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Another newbie....help please
Another newbie....help please
Hi guys
I'm new to the cpap world, having recently purchased a Resmed airsence 10 autoset to solve my sleep apnea, frequent awakenings, hypertension and fatigue. I've been using the machine for about 2 weeks but still have fairly high AHI's .  I started on low pressure (5-9) and have gradually increased it to 8-16 last night, and although slightly improved, still far from ideal (last night AHI 15.16). As my maximum pressure of 16 is getting close to top of 20, I wonder if there is any advice on how to lower my AHI's

Ive included following screenshots

22/7/19 (pressure 5-9)  AHI 21.87
26/7/19 (pressure 5-12) AHI 14.07
1/8/19 (pressure 6-13)  AHI 15.15
2/8/19 (pressure 6-13) AHI 20.90
3/8/19 (pressure 8-16)  AHI 15.16

Any help appreciated
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Another newbie....help please
Welcome to the forum.

You asked for help, well that is easy.
You have very significant Positional Apnea.  The best fix is a soft cervical collar worn loosely.  The concept is to prevent the chin from tucking down.

With the chin-tuck theory, the soft tissues under the jaw are pressed upward causing a restriction or collapse during inspiration. It takes very little pressure to make this happen and the negative pressure of the airway during inspiration increases the restriction. You can simulate the chin tuck by pressing lightly upward on the tissues at the back of the lower jaw. Relatively light pressure on this tissue creates an increasing flow limitation ultimately resulting in a series of apneas. The series of apneas causes an arousal that either corrects the airway and/or causes mouth breathing.