Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Any other CDL drivers get restricted due to OSA?
Any other CDL drivers get restricted due to OSA?
I am a newish truck driver in CA. I have been fighting with CA DMV for over 18 months. After my diagnosis of mod OSA I began using a Cpap. I have never failed a DOT med exam. DMV restricted me to intrastate commercial driving only (can't drive out of CA in a truck), no hazmat and no passenger endorsement.

I have proven over 90% compliance with my Cpap and my AHI is consistently below 4. I've never had any daytime somnolence.

I have had 5 appeals and reviews. Today a DMV supervisor told me that no CA driver with OSA is allowed to drive a Commercial vehicle out of state. The US DOT says they do not restrict drivers with well controlled OSA. Anybody with a similar experience?

My only option remaining is to hire an attorney.Oh-jeez
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Any other CDL drivers get restricted due to OSA?
Sometimes we hear from truckers that are trying to "beat the system." In your case you are doing everything you are supposed to do, and doing it successfully, and they're giving you shixx?

I'm sorry about that lltrucker. It really doesn't make sense to me that they feel they can regulate commerce outside of their borders.

Good luck to you, and congrats for doing the right things.
Post Reply Post Reply
There are several commercial drivers on the forum. They have to show DOT compliance.
Some even have their CPAP machine in their sleeper berths.
I do not know if any are in CA. Hopefully one will chime in...

Kommiefornia is a different animal.
Admin Note:
JustMongo passed away in August 2017
Click HERE to read his Memorial Thread

~ Rest in Peace ~
Post Reply Post Reply