Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Anyone Using Auto On/Off w/S9 AutoSet?
#11
(11-24-2012, 07:51 PM)Dawei Wrote: Tim-- When I first got my Autoset, I recall trying the auto on/off feature, but I found that movement of the hose and or mask after getting up during the night could start the full blower function before I had the mask back on. Since I did not want to add any false leakage reading to the data and didn't care much for the noise of the blower running without any resistance at the hose end, I turned the feature off and have left it off.
Okay, Thank you for the reply. I'll probably rearrange my set-up a bit then. I use a Hospital Bed and a few other things make it a bit more difficult to reach the button as the machine is on the right side of my bed which puts the hose closer. I don't really have the option for a left side set-up. I just figured may be a way to make things easier when getting up during the night for BR trips. When I get up in the morning I just roll my bedside table out the way and then turn off the machine. There's a few cords though I don't want to "yank" off during the night so the option seemed attractive! Nothing critical,Coffee
Tim
Finger Lakes Region, NY
Post Reply Post Reply
#12
Take a thick dowel (whatever fits best in your hand) of the length you need. Then get one of those thingies that you put on the wall so when the bottom of a door hits it, it won't go through. Heck, you could use any hook that you think would work for the weight and angle you need.

Put that hook on the end. Viola. Use it to tap the machine button.

Where's your imagination, man!?

Go to the Lowes website and do a search for "Gatehouse Econo". One of the springy door stops would work if it was a stiff enough spring you can tap and it not bend. Or use a double hook and dip it in plasti-dip to soften it so it won't scratch your machine.
PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.




Post Reply Post Reply
#13
(11-24-2012, 08:28 PM)PaulaO2 Wrote: Take a thick dowel (whatever fits best in your hand) of the length you need. Then get one of those thingies that you put on the wall so when the bottom of a door hits it, it won't go through. Heck, you could use any hook that you think would work for the weight and angle you need.

Put that hook on the end. Viola. Use it to tap the machine button.

Where's your imagination, man!?

Go to the Lowes website and do a search for "Gatehouse Econo". One of the springy door stops would work if it was a stiff enough spring you can tap and it not bend. Or use a double hook and dip it in plasti-dip to soften it so it won't scratch your machine.
You sure are a creative one!Too-funny But hey, that's a good thing, I'll think of something, just don't be disappointed if I don't go with your idea this time!Dielaughing But at least you got me thinkingThinking-about
Tim
Finger Lakes Region, NY
Post Reply Post Reply


#14
I have had my S9 for about 2 months. The 1st 3 weeks it worked 100% of the time. Now it only seems to work about 60% of the time or less. I have noticed the auto on/off getting less reliable over time. I decided to run some tests so I removed the hose, inhaled with it up to my mouth and the S9 turns on every time with the 1st 1/2 breath.

I figure it must be the valve. Everything has a failure rate. It's funny the suppliers will replace the mask cushion once a month on my insurance plan, but not the 2 other replaceable parts. I will have to ask on that.

Post Reply Post Reply
#15
(11-24-2012, 08:51 PM)bryank1 Wrote: I have had my S9 for about 2 months. The 1st 3 weeks it worked 100% of the time. Now it only seems to work about 60% of the time or less. I have noticed the auto on/off getting less reliable over time. I decided to run some tests so I removed the hose, inhaled with it up to my mouth and the S9 turns on every time with the 1st 1/2 breath.

I figure it must be the valve. Everything has a failure rate. It's funny the suppliers will replace the mask cushion once a month on my insurance plan, but not the 2 other replaceable parts. I will have to ask on that.
I'm using the Nasal Pillows, I guess I'd rather have more accurate recording vs. ease of making bathroom trips at night! I am going to see if the data on the card changed since last night tomorrow to see if that was part of the issue. Appreciate all the replies and information. As mentioned above it seems others have had issues with the auto on/off also.

Tim
Finger Lakes Region, NY
Post Reply Post Reply
#16
I have used the auto on/off function since commencing on cpap therapy in September without problem. I don't remove my mask for bathroom trips, I only disconnect the elbow from the mask to reduce the need to readjust the straps when back in bed
Post Reply Post Reply


#17
you can make a shelf wide enough next to your bed to place the machine on
Supplier #1 ... look for CPAP bedside holder
Post Reply Post Reply
#18
(11-24-2012, 09:13 PM)2Tim215 Wrote:
(11-24-2012, 08:51 PM)bryank1 Wrote: I have had my S9 for about 2 months. The 1st 3 weeks it worked 100% of the time. Now it only seems to work about 60% of the time or less. I have noticed the auto on/off getting less reliable over time. I decided to run some tests so I removed the hose, inhaled with it up to my mouth and the S9 turns on every time with the 1st 1/2 breath.

I figure it must be the valve. Everything has a failure rate. It's funny the suppliers will replace the mask cushion once a month on my insurance plan, but not the 2 other replaceable parts. I will have to ask on that.
I'm using the Nasal Pillows, I guess I'd rather have more accurate recording vs. ease of making bathroom trips at night! I am going to see if the data on the card changed since last night tomorrow to see if that was part of the issue. Appreciate all the replies and information. As mentioned above it seems others have had issues with the auto on/off also.

I would thing there must also be a valve in the pillow type as well. There S9. I had the same problem, not having a table for the device. I commandeered a small folding wood table my wife bought from a common store that sells bed, kitchen & linen supplies. She said they came in a set of 4 tables for $30. Nice thing is it is right at bed height so I can easily reach the button.
Post Reply Post Reply
#19
(11-24-2012, 08:39 PM)2Tim215 Wrote: You sure are a creative one!Too-funny But hey, that's a good thing, I'll think of something, just don't be disappointed if I don't go with your idea this time!Dielaughing But at least you got me thinkingThinking-about

I've been adapting for a while so I gots lots o' tricks.

There is the option someone else said of just disconnecting the mask hose from the machine hose, do your business, then reconnect when you get back. You'll get wonky data but just note what time it is so you can determine which wonky is what.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.




Post Reply Post Reply


#20
(11-24-2012, 09:19 PM)Allen Wrote: I have used the auto on/off function since commencing on cpap therapy in September without problem. I don't remove my mask for bathroom trips, I only disconnect the elbow from the mask to reduce the need to readjust the straps when back in bed

Hi Allen, Any problems with data recording with SleepyHead? I only had about 1 1/2 hours of data last night show up when entering into SleepyHead although it was on all night. The machine read the same so it appears it isn't SleepyHead but the AutoSet itself. SD card was not locked, and inserted properly.
Tim
Finger Lakes Region, NY
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Dreamstation Auto - Auto Start Takes a While littlefatcat 8 192 06-17-2017, 01:47 AM
Last Post: Hydrangea
  [Equipment] ResMed AirSense 10 AutoSet APAP vs ResMed AirSense 10 AutoSet For Her SingerWang 11 831 04-04-2017, 12:07 AM
Last Post: JamesW
  ICON AUTO vs S9 AUTOSET Snorilla 11 562 02-28-2017, 10:25 PM
Last Post: Snorilla
  [Equipment] S10 Auto vs Dream Machine auto silversnore 13 756 02-23-2017, 11:57 AM
Last Post: leadslinger
  difference between Apex XT Auto and Resmed S9 Autoset Lanco 11 744 10-11-2016, 03:29 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  airsense10 auto cpap(for him) VS DreamStation Auto CPAP DSX500T11 w/HT humid rookiepom 5 1,684 10-09-2016, 07:52 AM
Last Post: stephennic
  My Comparison of DreamStation Auto vs ResMed AirSense10 Autoset Tinkerbell 11 5,143 08-24-2016, 01:02 AM
Last Post: Dan H

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.