Post Reply 
Anyone running SleepyHead on Mac?
Author Message
SailingAway Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 50
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 6-14
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Floating around French Polynesia

Post: #1
Anyone running SleepyHead on Mac?
Lolabove

Have some questions. If so, which version of SH?
02-18-2015 06:09 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
TyroneShoes Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 505
Joined: Oct 2014

Machine: Resmed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: AirFit P10
Humidifier: Resmed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 10-14
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location:

Post: #2
RE: Anyone running SleepyHead on Mac?
9.8-1
02-18-2015 11:10 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
SailingAway Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 50
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 6-14
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Floating around French Polynesia

Post: #3
RE: Anyone running SleepyHead on Mac?
I am trying to migrate to the Mac. I have 9.6 installed. When I went to upgrade to 9.8-1 it says it will migrate my records and there is no going back. Before doing so I wanted to know if it stable enough for everyday use or should I stay with 9.6., which seems to have some limitations compared to the PC version.

Don't know if it matters, but I'm running it on a new Macbook Air.

Thanks
02-19-2015 07:23 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Sleeprider Online
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,398
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: Resmed Aircurve 10 Vauto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: Resmed Climateline
CPAP Pressure: Auto Bilevel 18/9, PS 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Where they make Respironics

Post: #4
RE: Anyone running SleepyHead on Mac?
You should be able to make a backup copy of the folder with the data files before converting. SH will not change your SD card.

______________________________________________
Organize your SleepyHead Data
Post your SleepyHead Data from Imgur
Robysue's Beginner's Guide to Sleepyhead
02-19-2015 09:23 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Homerec130 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 445
Joined: Mar 2012

Machine: Philips/Resperonics BiPAP auto SV Advanced System One (950P)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Quatro FX
Humidifier: Philips Respironics System 1
CPAP Pressure: 6-16
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: But it is a dry heat.

Sex: Male
Location: Tucson, AZ

Post: #5
RE: Anyone running SleepyHead on Mac?
I have been running 9.8-1 since it came out without any problems. When I did the upgrade from 9.6 I had the SD card still in my BiPap machine and didn't care what the Mac did to the data. Once I got it installed and looked at the data, all was good. Upload from the SD card has gone without issue. Just be sure to lock the SD card so the Mac won't write to it.

Homer
02-19-2015 12:03 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
SailingAway Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 50
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 6-14
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Floating around French Polynesia

Post: #6
RE: Anyone running SleepyHead on Mac?
Did the upgrade, no problems....yet anyway. The newer version took care of the problems I had noted in the earlier version.

So far, so good. Really like the software and greatly prefer it to ResScan.

Just getting used to the Mac. Been a Linux guy for the last decade and a half, but now trying to learn the Mac. A few bumps, but getting there.

Oh-jeez
(This post was last modified: 02-19-2015 04:15 PM by SailingAway.)
02-19-2015 04:13 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
eseedhouse Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 882
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: SimPlus
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 7-10
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Also on supplemental O2 at 3L/min. while sleeping.

Sex: Male
Location: Victoria, British Columbia

Post: #7
RE: Anyone running SleepyHead on Mac?
(02-19-2015 04:13 PM)SailingAway Wrote:  Just getting used to the Mac. Been a Linux guy for the last decade and a half, but now trying to learn the Mac. A few bumps, but getting there.

Well I believe you can get to a command line shell and the underlying OS is very similar to Linux, being originally based on FreeBSD, with all the unix utilities you are used to.

Ed Seedhouse
VA7SDH

I am neither a Doctor, nor any other kind of medical professional.

Actually you know, it is what it isn't.
02-19-2015 04:30 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
SailingAway Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 50
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 6-14
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Floating around French Polynesia

Post: #8
RE: Anyone running SleepyHead on Mac?
Ed,
The shell and linux commands are the easy part for me. Just figuring out the nuances of the OS X frontend are what are foreign to me. I think a lot of the linux base has now been removed and something called quartz has to be installed to get back a lot of the functionality it previously had.
02-19-2015 04:35 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
eseedhouse Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 882
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: SimPlus
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 7-10
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Also on supplemental O2 at 3L/min. while sleeping.

Sex: Male
Location: Victoria, British Columbia

Post: #9
RE: Anyone running SleepyHead on Mac?
(02-19-2015 04:35 PM)SailingAway Wrote:  Ed,
The shell and linux commands are the easy part for me. Just figuring out the nuances of the OS X frontend are what are foreign to me. I think a lot of the linux base has now been removed and something called quartz has to be installed to get back a lot of the functionality it previously had.

Makes sense. I've done my share of shell programming in various varieties of unix so I guess I know where you are coming from. Fortunately I also have a knack for understanding GUI front ends, so they don't bother me.

Ed Seedhouse
VA7SDH

I am neither a Doctor, nor any other kind of medical professional.

Actually you know, it is what it isn't.
02-19-2015 06:01 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
TyroneShoes Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 505
Joined: Oct 2014

Machine: Resmed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: AirFit P10
Humidifier: Resmed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 10-14
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location:

Post: #10
RE: Anyone running SleepyHead on Mac?
I've run 9.6.1 and 9.8-1 a lot on a MacBook Air (late 2011 model) with no issues of any kind. Most server software in a pre-release mode is not this stable, so I think SH may have been written pretty well.

The caveat about remembering to lock the card may apply to some OS versions, but in my experience apparently not to 10.7 and 10.8. Data survives every day, and also survived an upgrade. You do not need to lock the card, so dealer's choice here is to believe me and not lock it, or be skeptical and lock it anyway, for no particular reason other than superstition.

The only time I ever lock the card is by accident, putting it back in the S9.

(02-19-2015 04:35 PM)SailingAway Wrote:  ...I think a lot of the linux base has now been removed and something called quartz has to be installed to get back a lot of the functionality it previously had.

Previously had what functionality?

I think quartz may be just the GUI layer on top of the underlying OS. That's where the transparent windows and other eye candy comes from, and quartz has always been a part of OS X, since birth. Linux was never a part of any Mac OS, which since ~2000 (OS X 10.0) has been neXt-ified FreeBSD on the Mach kernel. Apple was the most closed proprietary OS you could ever find in those days, and would never have been party to using any open-source code from linux. Very much like linux, however (imitation being a sincere form of flattery).

If you think being a Windows guy learning the Mac OS is frustrating, try doing that from the point of view of being a Mac guy learning the Windows OS.

Or try learning Widows 7 after years on XP; there is more difference between those two than between Windows and Mac. Both Windows and Mac have improved greatly since 2000 (Windows had a lot further to go), but every new Windows version is like spilling the silverware drawer; everything changes for no apparently reason. It's like moving Helen Keller's furniture when she is out for the day. All the tricks I learned for Server 2003 were trumped by an entire new set of tricks for Server 2008.

Mac OS X, on the other hand, even with the iOS-iffication of late, and even with its significant improvements, is still pretty much the same interface it was 15 years ago. They seem to understand the value of treading lightly when messing with the interface, and not just changing things willy-nilly based on how they felt on that particular day.

What will never be a bridge that is crossed is the CTRL-C (Windows) and APPLE-C, or "puppyfoot" (Mac) keyboard locations for the copy command; that screws me up constantly when shifting back and forth between platforms. That will always be annoying. Apple also changed the scroll direction on the trackpad to make it more like the iPad, so when I go to my old 2008 MacBook running 10.5, I always end up scrolling the wrong direction. Also annoying.
02-20-2015 01:54 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  sleepyhead running on dell insiron 620/ microsoft 10 velpen 2 205 08-15-2016 03:39 PM
Last Post: natyprueba
  msvcr120d.dll is missing running sleepyhead salsburyg 2 750 12-11-2015 09:18 AM
Last Post: salsburyg
  Problems running Sleepyhead or Resmed software Seawind36 6 2,327 06-03-2014 02:14 PM
Last Post: retired_guy

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)