Post Reply 
Apap mode causing mask trouble
Author Message
truetopath Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 421
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: PR system one 560p auto with a flex
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resumed F10
Humidifier: PR system one
CPAP Pressure: 11
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Lake View, NY

Post: #1
Apap mode causing mask trouble
So my prescribed cpap pressure is 11cm from my split night sleep study, but I wanted to set a tight range on auto mode to see how my pressure needs fluctuate. I started with 10-13cm and the highest my pressure went was 12.5 and the lowest was 10.8. my problem was that with the nasal mask, every time the pressure would increase it would break my seal and I'd get woken up to fix the leak. So I tried the full face mask. Same thing happened. So the next night I tried 11cm-13cm. Same leaking happened, and also in Apap mode my AHI climbed to 3.9. When in cpap mode my highest was 2.4 and that was the first night. So my question is, is there a trick to stop the increasing pressure from breaking your seal? And is there a better mask style for Apap mode? Currently using an Ultra mirage 2 nasal mask, and ESon nasal mask, and a mirage Quattro, all of which I get great seals with in cpap mode.
02-26-2015 10:44 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
AshSF Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 356
Joined: Oct 2014

Machine: PRS1 D560TS
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed P10, Bkup: Airfit F10 & Quattro Air
Humidifier: PRS1 60 series with Heated Tube
CPAP Pressure: 8 - 8 w/ Aflex 3
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Using APAP mode with fixed pressure

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #2
RE: Apap mode causing mask trouble
Since your pressure is in a tight range, why don't you try a straight CPAP mode. You can use your 95% pressure to be the set pressure on CPAP mode (it will be less than your peak pressure seen in the last 30 days). Constant pressure will not dislodge your mask. Evaluate the CPAP mode for 10 days and see how you feel.

You may be surprised that you feel better on CPAP mode than on APAP.

Started APAP 4-20, Closed range to 7.5-14, then straight 8.0 w/ Aflex 3
RDI always below 1. But sleep much much better at straight pressure.
Started on F10, Tried Quattro Air successfully. Finally settled on P10.
02-26-2015 11:25 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Sleeprider Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,400
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: Resmed Aircurve 10 Vauto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: Resmed Climateline
CPAP Pressure: Auto Bilevel 18/9, PS 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Where they make Respironics

Post: #3
RE: Apap mode causing mask trouble
I doubt the 2 cm pressure fluctuation is causing the problem, but some people are more sensitive to pressure changes than others. EPR on your machine can cause a 3 cm drop and rise between each breath.

Anyway, in auto mode, you can set minimum and maximum pressure both at 11, and it will act as a CPAP but give the flow limitation data available in auto.

______________________________________________
Organize your SleepyHead Data
Post your SleepyHead Data from Imgur
Robysue's Beginner's Guide to Sleepyhead
02-26-2015 11:30 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaytonA Online
Wiki Editor
Monitors

Posts: 3,020
Joined: Dec 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 VPAP Auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: H5i(distilled-top up)
CPAP Pressure: VAuto MinE14.0 MaxI 20.6 PS4.0
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Orange County,California

Post: #4
RE: Apap mode causing mask trouble
I am confused. I use my S9 Auto in S mode and I get Flow limitation data. Why not just change the mode to CPAP?

Best Regards,

PaytonA
(This post was last modified: 02-26-2015 11:38 AM by PaytonA.)
02-26-2015 11:37 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,857
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #5
RE: Apap mode causing mask trouble
(02-26-2015 11:37 AM)PaytonA Wrote:  I am confused. I use my S9 Auto in S mode and I get Flow limitation data. Why not just change the mode to CPAP?

Best Regards,

PaytonA

HUH.. Now you're confusing me.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
02-26-2015 11:40 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
truetopath Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 421
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: PR system one 560p auto with a flex
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resumed F10
Humidifier: PR system one
CPAP Pressure: 11
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Lake View, NY

Post: #6
RE: Apap mode causing mask trouble
I think I'm going to stick with cpap mode since I have no problem with it. I may try to slightly increase my pressure though to work to eliminate all apenas. Thanks for chiming in.
02-26-2015 12:13 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
PaytonA Online
Wiki Editor
Monitors

Posts: 3,020
Joined: Dec 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 VPAP Auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: H5i(distilled-top up)
CPAP Pressure: VAuto MinE14.0 MaxI 20.6 PS4.0
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Orange County,California

Post: #7
RE: Apap mode causing mask trouble
(02-26-2015 11:40 AM)justMongo Wrote:  
(02-26-2015 11:37 AM)PaytonA Wrote:  I am confused. I use my S9 Auto in S mode and I get Flow limitation data. Why not just change the mode to CPAP?

Best Regards,

PaytonA

HUH.. Now you're confusing me.

Sleeprider said and I quote,"Anyway, in auto mode, you can set minimum and maximum pressure both at 11, and it will act as a CPAP but give the flow limitation data available in auto."

I was merely trying to say that flow limitation data is not exclusively available in auto mode. Don't you agree?

Best Regards,

PaytonA
(This post was last modified: 02-26-2015 02:34 PM by PaytonA.)
02-26-2015 02:32 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Sleeprider Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,400
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: Resmed Aircurve 10 Vauto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: Resmed Climateline
CPAP Pressure: Auto Bilevel 18/9, PS 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Where they make Respironics

Post: #8
RE: Apap mode causing mask trouble
Payton, I am not sure with the resmed machine. I know the PR machines do not chart flow limitations when put in CPAP mode. In any event there is no practical difference between CPAP mode and making minimum and maximum auto pressure equal.

______________________________________________
Organize your SleepyHead Data
Post your SleepyHead Data from Imgur
Robysue's Beginner's Guide to Sleepyhead
02-26-2015 02:49 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
eseedhouse Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 882
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: SimPlus
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 7-10
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Also on supplemental O2 at 3L/min. while sleeping.

Sex: Male
Location: Victoria, British Columbia

Post: #9
RE: Apap mode causing mask trouble
(02-26-2015 02:49 PM)Sleeprider Wrote:  Payton, I am not sure with the resmed machine. I know the PR machines do not chart flow limitations when put in CPAP mode. In any event there is no practical difference between CPAP mode and making minimum and maximum auto pressure equal.

I can tell you that I know for sure my Resmed 10 Auto still tracks flow limitation when in CPAP mode.

Ed Seedhouse
VA7SDH

I am neither a Doctor, nor any other kind of medical professional.

Actually you know, it is what it isn't.
02-26-2015 03:07 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
truetopath Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 421
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: PR system one 560p auto with a flex
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resumed F10
Humidifier: PR system one
CPAP Pressure: 11
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Lake View, NY

Post: #10
RE: Apap mode causing mask trouble
I just checked and my S9 autoset definitely tracks flow limitation in straight cpap mode.
02-26-2015 04:52 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Vertigo/CPAP Pressure Update- CPAP causing inner ear problems SuperSleeper 66 63,050 Today 01:12 AM
Last Post: DeepBreathing
  New User Having Trouble Staying Asleep and more SnoreGalore 9 548 12-06-2016 08:00 PM
Last Post: SnoreGalore
  Medicare Advantage Coverage for APAP Evie 4 248 12-05-2016 09:49 PM
Last Post: Evie
  cpap and apap not effictive Ezil71 109 3,153 11-05-2016 11:19 AM
Last Post: sonicboom
Question A10 autoset in CPAP mode- all data recorded? PreciousRoy 3 251 10-31-2016 04:25 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Unable to clear throat while on APAP NorthernGuy 5 315 10-17-2016 08:18 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Apap I_will_never_sleep_again 2 297 10-14-2016 02:58 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)