Thread Closed 
Archived SleepyHead Discussions [Q&A Thread from Jun-2014 thru Aug 2015]
Author Message
Quila Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 31
Joined: Mar 2015

Machine: AirSense 10 autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Airfit P10
Humidifier: Built in
CPAP Pressure: 8 - 13
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Post: #361
RE: SleepyHead Software - Beginner's Guide, Questions, Answers & Discussion
(04-16-2015 01:00 PM)eseedhouse Wrote:  
(04-16-2015 12:48 PM)LanceC Wrote:  I wonder if keeping the whole folder in Dropbox and just having shortcuts on each PC would resolve it.

Sounds reasonable, I'll likely give it a try.

When you turn your second computer on, do you give it enough time to let Dropbox finish updating? If not, that might be why you don't see the newest data on the second computer.

When you import data on the first computer, Dropbox will see new files and will upload them to the Dropbox servers. When the upload is complete, your other computer(s) running Dropbox will see the new files and start to download them. The speed of this process depends on the speed of your internet connection.
04-16-2015 02:13 PM
Find all posts by this user

Donate to Apnea Board
LanceC Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 76
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: ResMed AirCurve 10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit™ F10
Humidifier: Built in
CPAP Pressure: 14-25
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Aurora, IL

Post: #362
RE: SleepyHead Software - Beginner's Guide, Questions, Answers & Discussion
Also, make sure Settings -> Preferences -> Bandwidth -> Enable LAN Sync is checked. That way you cut out the middle-man and sync faster.

This space for rent.
04-16-2015 02:20 PM
Find all posts by this user
eseedhouse Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 882
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: SimPlus
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 7-10
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Also on supplemental O2 at 3L/min. while sleeping.

Sex: Male
Location: Victoria, British Columbia

Post: #363
RE: SleepyHead Software - Beginner's Guide, Questions, Answers & Discussion
(04-16-2015 02:13 PM)Quila Wrote:  When you turn your second computer on, do you give it enough time to let Dropbox finish updating? If not, that might be why you don't see the newest data on the second computer.

But it's not. I was working in I.T. for 25 years. I know enough to wait until the synch is finished.

But there is a problem - let's say I put both the programs and the data files into dropbox. Then I set the program to point to the data using one computer. That path won't be right on the other computer since the dropbox directory is not in the same path on both computers. But since there is only one copy of Sleepyhead and it's in the dropbox, it's path information will be the same when run from either computer, and that won't work.

Ed Seedhouse
VA7SDH

I am neither a Doctor, nor any other kind of medical professional.

Actually you know, it is what it isn't.
04-16-2015 03:07 PM
Find all posts by this user

Donate to Apnea Board
LanceC Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 76
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: ResMed AirCurve 10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit™ F10
Humidifier: Built in
CPAP Pressure: 14-25
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Aurora, IL

Post: #364
RE: SleepyHead Software - Beginner's Guide, Questions, Answers & Discussion
(04-16-2015 03:07 PM)eseedhouse Wrote:  
(04-16-2015 02:13 PM)Quila Wrote:  When you turn your second computer on, do you give it enough time to let Dropbox finish updating? If not, that might be why you don't see the newest data on the second computer.

But it's not. I was working in I.T. for 25 years. I know enough to wait until the synch is finished.

But there is a problem - let's say I put both the programs and the data files into dropbox. Then I set the program to point to the data using one computer. That path won't be right on the other computer since the dropbox directory is not in the same path on both computers. But since there is only one copy of Sleepyhead and it's in the dropbox, it's path information will be the same when run from either computer, and that won't work.
Isn't the default path in the SH folder structure? If so, then setting the path relative to the SH root should work for either PC.

This space for rent.
04-16-2015 03:10 PM
Find all posts by this user
eseedhouse Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 882
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: SimPlus
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 7-10
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Also on supplemental O2 at 3L/min. while sleeping.

Sex: Male
Location: Victoria, British Columbia

Post: #365
RE: SleepyHead Software - Beginner's Guide, Questions, Answers & Discussion
(04-16-2015 03:10 PM)LanceC Wrote:  Isn't the default path in the SH folder structure? If so, then setting the path relative to the SH root should work for either PC.

No, I moved it into Google Drive, actually. I can move it to the dropbox now that I have that as well as gdrive. I don't think a clean install puts that drive into the SH file structure, it puts it into the documents folder of the user account if I recall right. Where did it put yours?

Ed Seedhouse
VA7SDH

I am neither a Doctor, nor any other kind of medical professional.

Actually you know, it is what it isn't.
04-16-2015 03:28 PM
Find all posts by this user

Donate to Apnea Board
LanceC Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 76
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: ResMed AirCurve 10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit™ F10
Humidifier: Built in
CPAP Pressure: 14-25
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Aurora, IL

Post: #366
RE: SleepyHead Software - Beginner's Guide, Questions, Answers & Discussion
(04-16-2015 03:28 PM)eseedhouse Wrote:  
(04-16-2015 03:10 PM)LanceC Wrote:  Isn't the default path in the SH folder structure? If so, then setting the path relative to the SH root should work for either PC.

No, I moved it into Google Drive, actually. I can move it to the dropbox now that I have that as well as gdrive. I don't think a clean install puts that drive into the SH file structure, it puts it into the documents folder of the user account if I recall right. Where did it put yours?

I don't remember. I moved mine to a local network share so I could access from several machines. Let me mess with it a little and see if I can figure something out.

This space for rent.
04-16-2015 03:31 PM
Find all posts by this user
Quila Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 31
Joined: Mar 2015

Machine: AirSense 10 autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Airfit P10
Humidifier: Built in
CPAP Pressure: 8 - 13
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Post: #367
RE: SleepyHead Software - Beginner's Guide, Questions, Answers & Discussion
(04-16-2015 03:07 PM)eseedhouse Wrote:  But it's not. I was working in I.T. for 25 years. I know enough to wait until the synch is finished.

But there is a problem - let's say I put both the programs and the data files into dropbox. Then I set the program to point to the data using one computer. That path won't be right on the other computer since the dropbox directory is not in the same path on both computers. But since there is only one copy of Sleepyhead and it's in the dropbox, it's path information will be the same when run from either computer, and that won't work.

It looks like SleepyHead stores the location of the data folder in the registry, specifically HKCU\Software\Jedimark\SleepyHead-Testing\Settings\AppRoot. The data directory itself doesn't seem to have any absolute reference to a directory other than the directory that the SD card data is read from during import.

As long as that registry entry points to the correct data directory location on each computer, which will be different if Dropbox files are stored in different locations, I think it should work. Of course, I could be wrong.

This is all assuming you're using Windows.
(This post was last modified: 04-16-2015 04:22 PM by Quila.)
04-16-2015 04:21 PM
Find all posts by this user

Donate to Apnea Board
LanceC Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 76
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: ResMed AirCurve 10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit™ F10
Humidifier: Built in
CPAP Pressure: 14-25
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Aurora, IL

Post: #368
RE: SleepyHead Software - Beginner's Guide, Questions, Answers & Discussion
(04-16-2015 04:21 PM)Quila Wrote:  
(04-16-2015 03:07 PM)eseedhouse Wrote:  But it's not. I was working in I.T. for 25 years. I know enough to wait until the synch is finished.

But there is a problem - let's say I put both the programs and the data files into dropbox. Then I set the program to point to the data using one computer. That path won't be right on the other computer since the dropbox directory is not in the same path on both computers. But since there is only one copy of Sleepyhead and it's in the dropbox, it's path information will be the same when run from either computer, and that won't work.

It looks like SleepyHead stores the location of the data folder in the registry, specifically HKCU\Software\Jedimark\SleepyHead-Testing\Settings\AppRoot. The data directory itself doesn't seem to have any absolute reference to a directory other than the directory that the SD card data is read from during import.

As long as that registry entry points to the correct data directory location on each computer, which will be different if Dropbox files are stored in different locations, I think it should work. Of course, I could be wrong.

This is all assuming you're using Windows.

I created a folder named "Data" in the SH folder and then edited the registry to point to .\Data and it seemed to work.

This space for rent.
(This post was last modified: 04-16-2015 05:02 PM by LanceC.)
04-16-2015 04:55 PM
Find all posts by this user
SleepingDragon Offline

Members

Posts: 19
Joined: Apr 2015

Machine: RemStar Auto w/ A-Flex (560P)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Quatro FX
Humidifier: SystemOne
CPAP Pressure: 14
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Now With Heated Tube - What a MAJOR improvement!

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #369
RE: SleepyHead Software - Beginner's Guide, Questions, Answers & Discussion
(04-16-2015 06:06 AM)Terry Wrote:  
(04-15-2015 11:15 PM)SleepingDragon Wrote:  Tried to post a bug report at sourceforge; however it wouldn't let me.

So, my next best option I think is here Dont-know

+ Every so often, if start with the "Daily" tab and switch to the "Overview" tab the graphs in the overview will appear to be full of snow/static... think of the old TV when the signal goes out. I can go back to the "Daily" tab without issue.

There is a "broken-gl" version of sleepyhead that contains a work-around for graphics problems with some versions of the windows graphics drivers (I believe)

It would be worth a try.
Yep, saw that one in the folder; however, thought I'd give the opengl a try first. Works for my Quake Games SHa_biggrin5
I think I'll switch over to the broken GL version, ran both.. didn't notice much difference other than the lack of snow Rolleyes
04-16-2015 07:56 PM
Find all posts by this user

Donate to Apnea Board
eseedhouse Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 882
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: SimPlus
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 7-10
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Also on supplemental O2 at 3L/min. while sleeping.

Sex: Male
Location: Victoria, British Columbia

Post: #370
RE: SleepyHead Software - Beginner's Guide, Questions, Answers & Discussion
(04-16-2015 03:07 PM)eseedhouse Wrote:  But there is a problem - let's say I put both the programs and the data files into dropbox. Then I set the program to point to the data using one computer. That path won't be right on the other computer since the dropbox directory is not in the same path on both computers. But since there is only one copy of Sleepyhead and it's in the dropbox, it's path information will be the same when run from either computer, and that won't work.

Turns out to be a non problem since the data directory is stored in the local computer's registry, which is what the program reads on start up.
So the same .exe can read the data stored in different locations on each computer. This is about the first time I've actually found the registry doing something useful.Unsure

Ed Seedhouse
VA7SDH

I am neither a Doctor, nor any other kind of medical professional.

Actually you know, it is what it isn't.
04-17-2015 07:55 PM
Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
Arrow ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 5.5) [Archived Discussions] SuperSleeper 1,109 484,284 08-25-2015 07:10 PM
Last Post: SuperSleeper
Idea Updates to SleepyHead [May 2015] SuperSleeper 21 3,392 06-26-2015 04:45 PM
Last Post: Mark Douglas
Arrow EncoreBasic 2.4.8.0 CPAP Reporting Software [Archived read-only thread] EncoreBasic User 142 53,871 02-18-2015 11:29 AM
Last Post: on the virge
Information Archived SleepyHead Discussions [Q&A Thread from Sep-2011 thru May 2014] SuperSleeper 484 172,601 05-28-2014 12:23 PM
Last Post: SuperSleeper

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)