Thread Closed 
Archived SleepyHead Discussions [Q&A Thread from Jun-2014 thru Aug 2015]
Author Message
PaytonA Offline
Wiki Editor
Monitors

Posts: 3,005
Joined: Dec 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 VPAP Auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: H5i(distilled-top up)
CPAP Pressure: VAuto MinE14.0 MaxI 20.6 PS4.0
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Orange County,California

Post: #61
RE: SleepyHead Software - Beginner's Guide, Questions, Answers & Discussion
Nice job JediMark!

I have a question due to my curiosity. Is the mask Pressure calculated from the machine pressure by Sleepyhead or is it a number that the Sleepyhead pulls off of the datacard?

Best Regards,

PaytonA
08-21-2014 09:26 PM
Find all posts by this user

Donate to Apnea Board
jedimark Offline

Moderator - SleepyHead

Posts: 263
Joined: Mar 2012

Machine: ResMed AirSense 10
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Swift FX
Humidifier: H5i & Climateline
CPAP Pressure: 7-16
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Author of SleepyHead, sleepyhead*AT*jedimark.net

Sex: Male
Location: Bundaberg, Australia

Post: #62
RE: SleepyHead Software - Beginner's Guide, Questions, Answers & Discussion
(08-21-2014 09:26 PM)PaytonA Wrote:  Nice job JediMark!

I have a question due to my curiosity. Is the mask Pressure calculated from the machine pressure by Sleepyhead or is it a number that the Sleepyhead pulls off of the datacard?

Best Regards,

PaytonA

Mask Pressure is a waveform stored on the SD card.. When it's available, it usually comes with the high resolution data, along with flow rate waveform. SleepyHead simply presents mask pressure as it is given.

In reality the CPAP's MCU/DSP does a little magic to it first before storing it: There is usually at least a couple of pressure transducer readings taken at different stages of the air pipeline to estimate mask pressure, with calculations compensating for hose length/diameter, mask vents, and various other bits and pieces to make the reading more accurate.

Old machines used to have a little tube coming back from near the mask to sense this, but modern ones have gotten a little smarter..
(This post was last modified: 08-22-2014 02:27 AM by jedimark.)
08-22-2014 02:26 AM
Find all posts by this user
SleepyDreamCatcher Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 63
Joined: May 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Pillairo Q
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 11-14
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location: U.S.A.

Post: #63
RE: SleepyHead Software - Beginner's Guide, Questions, Answers & Discussion
(08-20-2014 11:08 PM)jedimark Wrote:  
(08-20-2014 08:23 PM)SleepyDreamCatcher Wrote:  I'm am using SleepyHead version 9.5 to read my S9 AutoSet information. I had been running my AutoSet as a straight CPAP with the pressure set at 7. Just changed my setup to the AutoSet mode with my pressures set at 7 to 11. But now when I look at my data I'm seeing strange
looking graphs. For example the pressure line will just disappear for long chunks of time but my machine is still working and I can see the other data during the missing times. Any ideas about what is happening? (The information seems to be on the data card... It is present when I download into ResScan.) I really prefer SleepyHead though.

Well, for starters there is a newer version available... does this not work for you? ( http://sleepfiles.com/SH )

0.9.6 implemented some imported graphics engine fixes.

I can't remember when I added in the graphs thickness slider.. it helped fixed a bug on a very limited range of graphics cards.

There is also the anti-aliasing setting,

Well... since I don't really understand computers and the 9.5 was working until I changed my CPAP settings I was happy to have something to see my data on.

I downloaded SleepyHead 9.6 (broken link?) and can find it in the download folder but not as a program I can start from my start list. The SleepyHead 9.5 is still on the desktop but doesn't appear to have been changed in any way.

So... in easy non-computer literate terms... how do I get the 9.6 version to be usable? And, will I be starting over with down loading data and have to go back to the 9.5 version to see my earlier downloads?

One more question: what is "anti-aliasing"?

Thanks
08-22-2014 08:01 AM
Find all posts by this user

Donate to Apnea Board
surferdude2 Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,077
Joined: Jul 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage Quattro & Optilife
Humidifier: ResMed H5i @ #3 if nose breathing & #5 if mouth breathing
CPAP Pressure: 12 ~ 20 & 11 ~12 if nasal mask
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Late stage 2 emphysema

Sex: Male
Location: Mousetown, Southern Illinois

Post: #64
RE: SleepyHead Software - Beginner's Guide, Questions, Answers & Discussion
Anti-aliasing is a process used when wanting/needing to convert digital data into smoother analog data. Digital data makes for a jagged waveform when trying to display a graph so anti-aliasing is used to smooth the process out so a more traditional (aka analog) waveform can be displayed. It renders a more pleasing waveform without having requiring excessively high resolution. You could think of it as fake resolution since it's just filling in the jagged areas synthetically rather than with high resolution data bits.
(This post was last modified: 08-22-2014 02:27 PM by surferdude2.)
08-22-2014 02:22 PM
Find all posts by this user
Sleepster Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 4,988
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed AirCurve10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: HumidAir and SlimLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: MaxI 13.6 | MinE 5.2 | PS 4.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Diagnosed Nov 2011. Conquered aerophagia.

Sex: Male
Location: Houston, Texas

Post: #65
RE: SleepyHead Software - Beginner's Guide, Questions, Answers & Discussion
(08-22-2014 08:01 AM)SleepyDreamCatcher Wrote:  I downloaded SleepyHead 9.6 (broken link?) and can find it in the download folder but not as a program I can start from my start list.

You have to unzip the file.

Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
08-22-2014 09:35 PM
Find all posts by this user

Donate to Apnea Board
PaytonA Offline
Wiki Editor
Monitors

Posts: 3,005
Joined: Dec 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 VPAP Auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: H5i(distilled-top up)
CPAP Pressure: VAuto MinE14.0 MaxI 20.6 PS4.0
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Orange County,California

Post: #66
RE: SleepyHead Software - Beginner's Guide, Questions, Answers & Discussion
I have a question regarding sub-directories involved in the final installation of Sleepyhead. When I installed it, I unzipped the file and looked for Sleepyhead.exe. Found it and double clicked on it. Got a message that said that it needed another file did I want to unzip the complete file. Said OK. Found the .exe file again and everything seems to be working fine but I now have 2 subdirectories under The Sleepyhead subdirectory as follows:

SleepyHead-20140623-Win32-0.9.6-testbuild-Qt5.3.0-BrokenGL-WinXP-MinGW
&
SleepyHead-20140623-Win32-0.9.6-testbuild-Qt5.3.0-BrokenGL-WinXP

Both have sub-directories beneath them that look alike. I would like to get rid of the non-functional one. Is there liable to be anything in the non-functional sub-directory that is necessary to the operation of the functional one?

Best Regards,

PaytonA
08-23-2014 11:13 AM
Find all posts by this user
becker44a Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 181
Joined: Jan 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus Lg
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: Rx 10 - 20cm, Usually 10-14cm
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: NE Ohio, USA

Post: #67
RE: SleepyHead Software - Beginner's Guide, Questions, Answers & Discussion
(08-23-2014 11:13 AM)PaytonA Wrote:  ...
Both have sub-directories beneath them that look alike. I would like to get rid of the non-functional one. Is there liable to be anything in the non-functional sub-directory that is necessary to the operation of the functional one?

Hi Payton,
Don't know the actual answer, but what I would do is rename one of these directories (just add some dashes to the end of the filebname, for example), then try running the program. If the program fails, it needs the renamed directory. Restore it to its original name, then test the other the same way. When you're done, you should know if it needs either, neither or both.

Good Luck.

A.Becker
PAPing in NE Ohio, with a pack of Cairn terriers
08-23-2014 10:21 PM
Find all posts by this user

Donate to Apnea Board
TampaBayRay Offline

New Members

Posts: 1
Joined: Aug 2014

Machine: Respironics system one
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed
Humidifier: respironics system one
CPAP Pressure: 14-17
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #68
RE: SleepyHead Software - Beginner's Guide, Questions, Answers & Discussion
In the past I have easily downloaded SH software to may Windows 7 laptop. I recently had to take the machine back to factory out of the box settings. had to do a complete restore. In the process, I had to download SH again. I am having HUGE problems doing so. Can someone PLEASE tell me how to go about doing this. I find the supposed site but either it downloads and then gets lost or does not download at all. Please help.
08-26-2014 10:20 AM
Find all posts by this user
Auto Trim Quebec Offline

New Members

Posts: 1
Joined: Sep 2014

Machine: Fisher Paykel Sleep Style 200
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Respironics
Humidifier: Fisher Paykel HC385
CPAP Pressure: unsure
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #69
RE: SleepyHead Software - Beginner's Guide, Questions, Answers & Discussion
I have a Fisher Paykel Sleepstyle 200 APAP.
I removed the memory stick, but my computer doesn't have the right type of slot to take it.

So: What do I need (an adapter)? What program will I use to read my data?

Thanks !!!
09-02-2014 06:33 PM
Find all posts by this user

Donate to Apnea Board
troykajoe Offline

Members

Posts: 8
Joined: Sep 2014

Machine: Resmed S9
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 5-15
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Central NY

Post: #70
SleepyHead question
I recently downloaded and installed SleepyHead. Great software! It worked great every time until just a couple of days ago. Now when I try to download the data from the SD card, the program freezes and stops working at about 98% complete. If I close the program and restart it, the data is there and it works fine.

The computer is pre-Windows 8 (Windows 7 Home Premium) and it did work fine a number of times previously.

Any thoughts?
09-06-2014 04:21 PM
Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
Arrow ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 5.5) [Archived Discussions] SuperSleeper 1,109 483,087 08-25-2015 07:10 PM
Last Post: SuperSleeper
Idea Updates to SleepyHead [May 2015] SuperSleeper 21 3,378 06-26-2015 04:45 PM
Last Post: Mark Douglas
Arrow EncoreBasic 2.4.8.0 CPAP Reporting Software [Archived read-only thread] EncoreBasic User 142 53,658 02-18-2015 11:29 AM
Last Post: on the virge
Information Archived SleepyHead Discussions [Q&A Thread from Sep-2011 thru May 2014] SuperSleeper 484 172,474 05-28-2014 12:23 PM
Last Post: SuperSleeper

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)