Post Reply 
Auto CPAP query
Author Message
msapnea Offline

New Members

Posts: 3
Joined: Feb 2016

Machine: Remstar 60
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Dreamwear
Humidifier: Remstar
CPAP Pressure: Unsure
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #1
Auto CPAP query
I have been diagnosed with moderate SA. The doctor has advised me to rent a CPAP machine for a month to check on the pressure and other sleep data necessary to kickstart my therapy. The cost of renting the machine and new mask is more or less equivalent to buying a new one. I am instead thinking of buying a Auto CPAP (Remstar 60 Series Auto CPAP). Will using a Auto CPAP for a month help in providing data to the doctor to decide upon my pressure requirements? My understanding is that an APAP being automatic generates air pressure necessary to keep the airway open. For moderate SA, can you just not start using an Auto CPAP? Can an Auto APAP substitute a sleep titration test?
02-06-2016 08:44 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,839
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #2
RE: Auto CPAP query
(02-06-2016 08:44 AM)msapnea Wrote:  I have been diagnosed with moderate SA. The doctor has advised me to rent a CPAP machine for a month to check on the pressure and other sleep data necessary to kickstart my therapy. The cost of renting the machine and new mask is more or less equivalent to buying a new one. I am instead thinking of buying a Auto CPAP (Remstar 60 Series Auto CPAP). Will using a Auto CPAP for a month help in providing data to the doctor to decide upon my pressure requirements? My understanding is that an APAP being automatic generates air pressure necessary to keep the airway open. For moderate SA, can you just not start using an Auto CPAP? Can an Auto APAP substitute a sleep titration test?

Welcome

Titration is sometimes done that way. It is especially cost effective when you have obstructive apnea.

The machine you are considering is available at bargain prices right now.

The doctor's purpose in a month trial is to find a pressure range that best suits you; to see if you will be complaint (i.e. -use it.); and to see if the auto PAP is effective for you.

There is a financial risk in buying a machine if you do not know for sure what type of apnea you have. If you have central or mixed apnea, then an Auto PAP might not be the correct machine. You might need a Bilevel Auto; or an ASV PAP.

You should get a copy of your sleep report and read it carefully.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
(This post was last modified: 02-06-2016 09:16 AM by justMongo.)
02-06-2016 09:15 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,430
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #3
RE: Auto CPAP query
Hi msapnea,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Much success to you as you start your CPAP journey and hang in there for more answers to your questions.

trish6hundred
02-06-2016 08:41 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
msapnea Offline

New Members

Posts: 3
Joined: Feb 2016

Machine: Remstar 60
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Dreamwear
Humidifier: Remstar
CPAP Pressure: Unsure
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #4
RE: Auto CPAP query
(02-06-2016 09:15 AM)justMongo Wrote:  
(02-06-2016 08:44 AM)msapnea Wrote:  I have been diagnosed with moderate SA. The doctor has advised me to rent a CPAP machine for a month to check on the pressure and other sleep data necessary to kickstart my therapy. The cost of renting the machine and new mask is more or less equivalent to buying a new one. I am instead thinking of buying a Auto CPAP (Remstar 60 Series Auto CPAP). Will using a Auto CPAP for a month help in providing data to the doctor to decide upon my pressure requirements? My understanding is that an APAP being automatic generates air pressure necessary to keep the airway open. For moderate SA, can you just not start using an Auto CPAP? Can an Auto APAP substitute a sleep titration test?

Welcome

Titration is sometimes done that way. It is especially cost effective when you have obstructive apnea.

The machine you are considering is available at bargain prices right now.

The doctor's purpose in a month trial is to find a pressure range that best suits you; to see if you will be complaint (i.e. -use it.); and to see if the auto PAP is effective for you.

There is a financial risk in buying a machine if you do not know for sure what type of apnea you have. If you have central or mixed apnea, then an Auto PAP might not be the correct machine. You might need a Bilevel Auto; or an ASV PAP.

You should get a copy of your sleep report and read it carefully.

The report says moderate OSA and recommends usage of a CPAP machine. If APAP machines are automatic, i.e. give an air pressure required to keep your airway open, does one need to even go through a titration test to check on the pressure setting? Can I just not set the min and max pressure into the machine and allow it to do its job?
02-07-2016 09:52 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,839
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #5
RE: Auto CPAP query
(02-07-2016 09:52 PM)msapnea Wrote:  The report says moderate OSA and recommends usage of a CPAP machine. If APAP machines are automatic, i.e. give an air pressure required to keep your airway open, does one need to even go through a titration test to check on the pressure setting? Can I just not set the min and max pressure into the machine and allow it to do its job?

In a word: Yes.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
02-07-2016 10:13 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
msapnea Offline

New Members

Posts: 3
Joined: Feb 2016

Machine: Remstar 60
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Dreamwear
Humidifier: Remstar
CPAP Pressure: Unsure
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #6
RE: Auto CPAP query
(02-07-2016 10:13 PM)justMongo Wrote:  
(02-07-2016 09:52 PM)msapnea Wrote:  The report says moderate OSA and recommends usage of a CPAP machine. If APAP machines are automatic, i.e. give an air pressure required to keep your airway open, does one need to even go through a titration test to check on the pressure setting? Can I just not set the min and max pressure into the machine and allow it to do its job?

In a word: Yes.

Thanks! I received the machine today. Have scanned through several videos on youtube but am unable to find a detailed setup video. Can I just switch on the machine and start using it? Or do i need to set it up on auto mode? I am using a PR System One DS560 REMstar Auto CPAP. Also read something about auto trial mode, which confuses me even more. I am led to believe auto trial mode was for an older CPAP fixed machine?

Do I need to feed in any data into the machine? The homecare company has not set anything into the machine. Would the auto pressure settings be set at the minimum and maximum?Do I need to tinker around with any settings or should it just be plug and play? Thanks!!
(This post was last modified: 02-09-2016 01:36 AM by msapnea.)
02-09-2016 01:35 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
OpalRose Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,160
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: PR System One REMstar Auto 560 with A Flex
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: AirFit P10 For Her
Humidifier: REMStar heated humidifier with heated hose
CPAP Pressure: Auto Cpap 10-13 AFLEX 1
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Started CPAP Therapy October 23, 2014

Sex: Female
Location: Northeast Ohio, USA

Post: #7
RE: Auto CPAP query
msapnea,
I would suggest you order the Clinicians Manual:
http://www.apneaboard.com/adjust-cpap-pr...tup-manual

Your machine has the capability of Cpap or APAP (auto) mode. You will need to go into the providers menu to setup. Hold down round knob and the arrow to the right of knob at the same time till you hear it beep. Turn round knob to setup and choose auto setting. Then set a pressure range, minimum and maximum. Since you don't have a titration number, you are sort of guessing, but to start, set it to start at 6min and 14 max. You will need to download Sleephead software to monitor your pressure needs. You should watch your 90% pressure readings, and then can adjust accordingly.

The default setting is 4min and 20max, but most people feel starved for air with a setting that low.

You can also try Auto Trial Mode. I've never used it. I believe the machine will monitor your best pressure based on apnea events over a set period of time, then it automatically sets it to a straight pressure in Cpap mode, which may be based on the 90% pressure number. From that, you can put back in APAP mode, and use that number to set a pressure range, which would be min. start pressure at 2cm below the 90% number and 2cm above 90% number.

Ideally, you will have to monitor your pressure needs and AHI on Sleepyhead to determine changes.
http://www.sleepfiles.com/SH2/

OpalRose
(This post was last modified: 02-09-2016 08:29 AM by OpalRose.)
02-09-2016 08:22 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Questions for anyone who has tried Transcend Mini Auto CPAP rdavis 3 238 11-04-2016 06:42 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Ordered a Auto CPAP / Was diagnosed with Sleep Apnea jakthebomb 15 780 10-18-2016 08:00 AM
Last Post: southerndoc
  Just Started Using an Auto CPAP this week for 1st time ApneaintheATL 4 423 10-14-2016 06:06 PM
Last Post: player
  airsense10 auto cpap(for him) VS DreamStation Auto CPAP DSX500T11 w/HT humid rookiepom 5 839 10-09-2016 07:52 AM
Last Post: stephennic
  Auto-Trial –delivers CPAP therapy adjusting pressure 30days ICEMAN 8 1,212 09-24-2016 12:34 PM
Last Post: green wings
  Dreamstation cpap brick to auto cpap. kadaroten 5 398 09-23-2016 07:57 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Using nasal pillows with auto cpap? Lanco 11 804 09-07-2016 12:07 PM
Last Post: big_dave

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)