Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Any stomach sleepers using a hose hanger?
Any stomach sleepers using a hose hanger?
I'm new to the CPAP game -- but getting great results and my morning headaches have disappeared.  However, I still fuss a bit with the hose at night.  I sleep only on my stomach and tuck the hose under my pillow, but so far this seems to require a bit of hose repositioning when I switch my head from one direction to the opposite. 

I've read some of the prior threads on hose management and the use of hose hangers, but didn't see anyone mention that they used a hanger and were stomach sleepers.  I can visualize how it would work great for back sleepers.  However, it seems like any pressure caused by pulling on the hose would cause my P10 to leak, so I'm wondering if having the hose draped overhead and hanging down from a hanger would even have a chance of working for me.  Or do you stomach sleepers just keep plenty of slack piled up in the area above your head?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Any stomach sleepers using a hose hanger?
I have tried it a number of ways. Primarily leaving the hose in a gap between the pillow and the headboard, leaving space between the mattress and the headboard, using a hose-hanger suspended from the top of my headboard, and using a mask with an overhead connection rather than one at the bottom of the mask. And they all exert pressure on my mask interface when I reposition myself.

This may be one of those cases that you keep experimenting until you find something comfortable and produces minimal leakage. One discovery is that using a SlimLine, non heated, hose worked better than a larger hose or the ResMed ClimateLine hose which is smaller, but has embedded metallic coils.