Post Reply 
Autoset feature defaults to humidity change window on ResMed S9
Author Message
ucsleepy Offline

New Members

Posts: 1
Joined: Oct 2015

Machine: ResMed S9
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Quattro Air
Humidifier: Resmed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14.0
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #1
Autoset feature defaults to humidity change window on ResMed S9
Hi,

I'm new here -- been using CPAP for about 3 1/2 years, including a year to get used to it. Smile I'm using a ResMed S9 with an H5i humidifier, and have noticed a couple of times that my humidity setting will mysteriously get adjusted up in the middle of the night so it's too high, producing condensation in my climate line tubing.

I think this has to do with the autoset feature, which is enabled, but would welcome any feedback. When I connect my mask and the CPAP kicks in, I notice that the display shows the humidity setting in orange color, meaning it can be adjusted. It shows a value of 5.0, which is the highest value I can set it at before condensation kicks in. (I'm a mouth breather and get fairly bad dry mouth, so need the value set as high as it can go without producing condensation.)

I'm not sure, though, that the manual 5.0 setting actually means anything, since when the machine starts the autoset bar at the bottom of the humidity display appears in blue, and the numbers rapidly adjust up until they reach what I assume to be the autoset-determined value. If I need to get up and press the stop button, the humidity setting display switches to blue, meaning it can't be adjusted. But as soon as I put my mask on again and the machine kicks in, it switches back to orange and the autoset bar adjusts up again

Is my machine behaving correctly by defaulting to the orange humidity setting display when it starts operating? I notice that that at times when I get the rain/condensation my manual humidity setting has increased to 5.5 or 6. Is it possible that I could be accidentally raising this value by brushing against the control knob, and that's what's causing the problem? (The humidity setting remains, after all, in adjustable orange mode.) Or is the autoset feature just raising my humidity too high? Is the way to solve this problem disabling autoset?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions you might have.
10-25-2015 06:45 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
big_dave Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 411
Joined: Apr 2012

Machine: PR System One DS560
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: F&P Pilairo Q or ResMed Mirage Activa
Humidifier: PR System One
CPAP Pressure: 14 - 20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Former ResMed S8 Autoset II user

Sex: Male
Location: Eugene, Oregon

Post: #2
RE: Autoset feature defaults to humidity change window on ResMed S9
Welcome

The autoset feature only changes the pressure, not the humidity. You're brushing up against the knob. I had the same problem when I switched from a Resmed S8 Autoset II to a Philips Respironics System One DS-560. I had to learn not to reach for the knob without looking. (Or maybe, you're reaching for the machine while you're sleeping.) It wasn't a problem when I used the S8 because the humidifier knob is a little harder to turn.
10-25-2015 06:58 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #3
RE: Autoset feature defaults to humidity change window on ResMed S9
big_dave beats me to it Coffee

One thing, I liked about the S9, easy to make changes while the machine is on
AirSense 10 is not so easy and the dim lights don't helps either
10-25-2015 07:10 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaytonA Offline
Wiki Editor
Monitors

Posts: 3,007
Joined: Dec 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 VPAP Auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: H5i(distilled-top up)
CPAP Pressure: VAuto MinE14.0 MaxI 20.6 PS4.0
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Orange County,California

Post: #4
RE: Autoset feature defaults to humidity change window on ResMed S9
(10-25-2015 07:10 PM)zonk Wrote:  big_dave beats me to it Coffee

One thing, I liked about the S9, easy to make changes while the machine is on
AirSense 10 is not so easy and the dim lights don't helps either

Maybe they are trying mushroom management on you......Keep you in the dark and feed you BS. Apology-2 Couldn't resist.

Best Regards,

PaytonA
10-25-2015 07:27 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #5
RE: Autoset feature defaults to humidity change window on ResMed S9
What a coincidence, I'm just cooking some mushroom with garlic butter to have on toast for lunch
That is what you call multi-tasking, eating and socializing on hosehead forum at the same time Smile
10-25-2015 07:34 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,436
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #6
RE: Autoset feature defaults to humidity change window on ResMed S9
Hi ucsleepy,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Hang in there for more responses to your post and much success to you as you continue your CPAP therapy.

trish6hundred
10-25-2015 09:09 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  [Pressure] Change Pressure on AirCurve 10 VAuto info 28 4,781 Today 01:20 AM
Last Post: _cy_
  [Pressure] How to change pressure - Respironics Solo slgoltz 5 19,983 11-30-2016 06:32 PM
Last Post: randx2
  Is this sound normal? - Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset Ronberta 8 1,236 11-29-2016 07:59 PM
Last Post: sonicboom
Question Change Humidity Level Seasonally txpap 9 511 11-21-2016 06:58 PM
Last Post: Sleepster
  Is my ResMed S9 Autoset dying? gkainz 10 513 11-09-2016 11:35 AM
Last Post: gkainz
  [Equipment] Resmed S10 Autoset Humidifier question keithb4158 6 390 11-02-2016 05:13 AM
Last Post: keithb4158
  Resmed Airsense 10 CPAP data versus Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset data David P. 4 534 10-29-2016 08:42 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)