Mask Type: Not using mask
Mask Make & Model: none
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: 7 cm H20
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Beginner needs help ... please
Hi. I'm new to this whole apnea business. I had to do a sleep study in order to have bariatric surgery and not I have my script from my doctor but need help in picking out a machine - and I'm totally, totally confused. Scrip says: CPAP unit with heated humidification and compliance card; ramp per patient preference; instruction is CPAP: 7cm H2O; heated humidification; ramp; compliance.
Insurance is going to cost me $650 which I can't afford right now.
For starters, I believe my cpap will be set at 7. Does this mean I cannot buy an auto machine? I was looking at a used S9 Escape auto and don't know if that fits my needs.
Second question, I was told that not all machines that come with a compliance card (SD card, right) will monitor all the information that's necessary for me to submit to the doctor. I "assumed" that if it had a compliance card, it would have all info the dr needs, no?
Thank you in advance,
richdan
07-20-2015 11:00 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
OMyMyOHellYes Offline

Advisory Members

Machine: Respironics 560 Auto
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage FX
Humidifier: Respironics System One (no heated hose)
CPAP Pressure: 08.0-15.0 cm/H2O
CPAP Software: EncoreBasic

Other Comments:

Sex: Male

RE: Beginner needs help ... please
Compliance card has all the information your doctor is asking. This amounts to telling them what percentage of nights (70%) in a given period you used the machine at least 4 hours. That's it. That is what the S-9 Escape will do. Insurance doesn't care how effective your treatment is, just that you are using it. Many doctors feel the same way.