Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

AHI even when awake?
AHI even when awake?
I'm entering into my second week of therapy but I'm a little confused about my results. The first couple days I got very little sleep and my AHI was low, but as I started getting more sleep and getting used to my mask, my AHI level went up.

That made sense but last night I was awake from about 3 AM until I got up about 5:45, and yet, according to Sleepyhead, I had a lot of AHI (incidents? what's the proper verbiage? I'm still learning the lingo). Last night was 17.10, not good.

Why would I have AHI while I'm awake?

[attachment=1184]
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: AHI even when awake?
(01-06-2015, 06:33 PM)novatom Wrote: Why would I have AHI while I'm awake?

Insomniacs often get periods of sleep even when they think they are awake. Your machine, of course, does not know anything about your state of consciousness beyond what it can infer from your breathing pattern.

My guess (and it's only that) is that you may have dozed off for a couple of minutes without realizing it and that's when your AHI happened. But if you just stop breathing for awhile even while awake your machine wouldn't know that you were actually awake, it would only know that you stopped breathing for awhile.
Post Reply Post Reply
ok. that's a bunch. AHI is not the amount, but a number expressing (total # events)/(total hours). So, you could have a very short sleep and get a high AHI.

So, you were awake, and your OA score during that period is extra low, that is expected. What the CA and H are during that time could be truly "slow or halted breathing" that the machine thinks looks a lot like same type of breathing it is supposed to track during your sleep. The machine does not have a "this guy's asleep" sensor.