Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Random1001 - Therapy Thread
Question 
Random1001 - Therapy Thread
Hello! It's my first post and I am brand new to CPAP. 

I am a 44 year old female, overweight, living in the US. I had to have a surgery for a kidney stone a couple months ago and the anesthesiologist asked if I have sleep apnea, I said no. He told me, yes, I think you do! That's what started this journey for me. I've slept alone for > 15 years so no one to really give me feedback on my sleep. People have told me I snore in the past but I didn't think much of it. I breathe primarily through my mouth, I have my whole life. When I close my mouth and try to breathe only through my nose I feel like I must take a huge breathe of air through my mouth. 

I did an online sleep study where they sent me a common disposable gizmo that I wore for one night and the results were emailed to me. The general findings were:

Obstructive Sleep Apnea (G47.33) - Severe based on pAHIo=27.6 and O2 nadir of 85%
Central Sleep Apnea (G47.31) - Mild based on pAHIc = 11.0

I did not use the online company to purchase the CPAP, I got a prescription and went in person to a local DME so I could use my insurance. I got a ResMed AirSense 10 AutoSet and a ResMed Airfit F30i full face mask in size small. They did set it up for me and show me how to use it. That was about 3 weeks ago. I need to go back to them in the next week or so for them to check for insurance compliance. 

Since I started using it I have had pretty consistently high AHI each night (and nap) of ~15-25 (as shown on CPAP display). I downloaded OSCAR and took at a look at the data, but I don't really know what I am looking at. That's where you all come in (I hope!). I attached last night full night and some zoomed part for review.