Post Reply 
Breaking a RAID 1 array
Author Message
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #11
RE: Breaking a RAID 1 array
Have you tried turning it off and back on? Cool

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
03-15-2015 05:15 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,853
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #12
RE: Breaking a RAID 1 array
(03-15-2015 05:15 PM)archangle Wrote:  Have you tried turning it off and back on? Cool

Do you mean break the RAID making it JOBOD; then tell the RAID controller, they are again member disks?

Risky at best. Better to protect the two array drives and work from a clone. The one point of concern is getting back into AHCI mode.

My BIOS has two settings -- RAID or AHCI.
And SSD needs to be in AHCI to take advantage of TRIM which is an essential to SSD lifetime.

I also turn off Prefetch and Superfetch as they are not needed with an SSD. Also no reason to defrag an SSD.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
03-15-2015 06:31 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
trailrider Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 304
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: A10 Autoset for Her
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Eson or P10
Humidifier: autoset
CPAP Pressure: 6-12 DME, 7-13 me
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: engineer. EPR at 3, unheated hose, humidity at 2. Routine hose entanglement.

Sex: Female
Location: Ontario

Post: #13
RE: Breaking a RAID 1 array
ok, why go through all this? Isn't this what boot disks are for...? Or you know, excuse to get a new computer...
03-15-2015 07:21 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,853
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #14
RE: Breaking a RAID 1 array
(03-15-2015 07:21 PM)trailrider Wrote:  ok, why go through all this? Isn't this what boot disks are for...? Or you know, excuse to get a new computer...

My disk speed is the limiting factor on this machine. This machine is less than 1 year old. And I need it. this is a Dell 8700 that I way over paid for. I have upgraded the Video card; added memory to 24GB; increased case airflow; went from a Seagate 1TB HDD to a pair of WD Black 1TB HDDs in RAID mirror. I wish I would have gone straight to SSD.

I do have a new machine that I build my way. However, when deployed, it will not be as a replacement for this machine. I'll post a photo through the case side window soon.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
03-15-2015 08:35 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,853
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #15
RE: Breaking a RAID 1 array
I could not get this to not BSOD. I cloned an HDD to the SSD. I connected the SSD to SATA0 with no HDDs connected.
It booted into windows. But, I need ACHI so I can run TRIM for the SSD. I did a regedit to set iaStorF and iaStofA run parameter to 3 (no start.)
I set msahci's run parameter to 0 (start at boot.) I shut down; and upon restart, I went into the BIOS and set SATA mode to AHCI in BIOS.
It then BSODed. No way to recover from it.

So, I put the 2 HDD RAID disks back in and set SATA mode in BIOS back to RAID. Another morning wasted. I guess this machine is going to stay RAID 1 with 2 HDDs.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
(This post was last modified: 03-23-2015 02:50 PM by justMongo.)
03-23-2015 02:48 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
LanceC Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 76
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: ResMed AirCurve 10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit™ F10
Humidifier: Built in
CPAP Pressure: 14-25
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Aurora, IL

Post: #16
RE: Breaking a RAID 1 array
I would try it without the reg edits. After confirming it comes up into Windows, just shut down and change the BIOS from RAID to SATA and let Windows figure it out.

This space for rent.
03-23-2015 02:51 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,853
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #17
RE: Breaking a RAID 1 array
(03-23-2015 02:51 PM)LanceC Wrote:  I would try it without the reg edits. After confirming it comes up into Windows, just shut down and change the BIOS from RAID to SATA and let Windows figure it out.

That might work. A suggestion that it might is from a mistake I made when I put the HDDs back in. I forgot to switch the BIOS from AHCI to RAID -- Windows was starting and I was saying: "Oh Hockey Sticks!"
But, it booted into Windows. I then restarted and changed the BIOS back to RAID; and had back my initial configuration.

It's story for another morning when I feel like trying it. I've already done a single pass wipe of the SDD -- so, I'd have to clone it again. That takes 2 hours.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
03-23-2015 06:58 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
LanceC Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 76
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: ResMed AirCurve 10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit™ F10
Humidifier: Built in
CPAP Pressure: 14-25
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Aurora, IL

Post: #18
RE: Breaking a RAID 1 array
Um...

If it successfully booted into Windows with the HDDs in it and set to AHCI, weren't you done? I thought that was what you were trying to do, break the RAID but keep the same system from the original HDDs.

When you rebooted and changed it back to RAID, did it regenerate?

This space for rent.
03-23-2015 07:22 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,853
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #19
RE: Breaking a RAID 1 array
(03-23-2015 07:22 PM)LanceC Wrote:  Um...

If it successfully booted into Windows with the HDDs in it and set to AHCI, weren't you done? I thought that was what you were trying to do, break the RAID but keep the same system from the original HDDs.

When you rebooted and changed it back to RAID, did it regenerate?

That's was I was trying to do; and end up with the system on a 1TB SDD.

When I could not get the cloned SDD to work after regedit and switch to AHCI, I put the 2 HDDs back in. It did accidentally reboot in AHCI to the two drives. Likely from SATA0 Port. When I then shutdown and switched BIOS back to RAID, I saw the array screen during boot.

The array did not require rebuilding. I just ran the IRST verify on the array.

ergo: Your suggestion 3 posts up, may just work.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
(This post was last modified: 03-23-2015 08:08 PM by justMongo.)
03-23-2015 08:08 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
LanceC Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 76
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: ResMed AirCurve 10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit™ F10
Humidifier: Built in
CPAP Pressure: 14-25
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Aurora, IL

Post: #20
RE: Breaking a RAID 1 array
Yeah, I believe it will. As I said a while back, I've successfully done it before.

This space for rent.
03-23-2015 08:22 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  What's up with my Intel RAID? justMongo 3 84 12-02-2016 06:29 PM
Last Post: justMongo
  RAID 1 issues justMongo 5 724 05-27-2015 09:27 AM
Last Post: AlanE

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)