Post Reply 
Breaking a RAID 1 array
Author Message
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,853
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #21
RE: Breaking a RAID 1 array
Interesting...
I just entered: fsutil behavior query DisableDeleteNotify
in a command elevated prompt and I find TRIM is enabled on my 2 HDD RAID system.
Perhaps, I do not need to switch the controller mode to AHCI from RAID to use my SSD and have TRIM operate.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
03-24-2015 03:26 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
LanceC Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 76
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: ResMed AirCurve 10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit™ F10
Humidifier: Built in
CPAP Pressure: 14-25
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Aurora, IL

Post: #22
RE: Breaking a RAID 1 array
As long as there is no performance hit from looking for the other array member.

This space for rent.
03-24-2015 05:55 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,853
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #23
RE: Breaking a RAID 1 array
(03-24-2015 05:55 PM)LanceC Wrote:  As long as there is no performance hit from looking for the other array member.

When I booted the SSD in RAID mode yesterday, the RAID screen did not come up like it usually does. It didn't miss the former array.
Below is a shot of the screen on normal boot. This RAID screen usually shows up for a few seconds during boot. Note: In this configuration, I had a short-stroked WD VelociRaptor on SATA-3 as my Temp drive. (It provided no noticeable improvement -- so, I pulled it.

[Image: IMG_1567a.jpg]

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
(This post was last modified: 03-24-2015 07:33 PM by justMongo.)
03-24-2015 07:32 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
LanceC Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 76
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: ResMed AirCurve 10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit™ F10
Humidifier: Built in
CPAP Pressure: 14-25
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Aurora, IL

Post: #24
RE: Breaking a RAID 1 array
Looks like you're good to go then.

This space for rent.
03-24-2015 07:34 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
SuperSleeper Offline

Administrators

Posts: 9,973
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: PR System One REMstar Auto (DS560)
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Swift II
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: 12.5 - 18.5 cmH20 (auto range)
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Have diabetes Type II

Sex: Male
Location: Illinois, USA

Post: #25
RE: Breaking a RAID 1 array
My first PC had a whoppin' 4 MB of RAM and a 120 MB hard drive and ran IBMDOS 5.0, later updated to MSDOS 6.22 with an additional Windows 3.1 GUI added grudgingly added later. That was HUGE back then, and we didn't need no stinkin' redundancy because we backed up everything to those new fancy 3.5 inch floppies. Ain't nuthin' that couldn't be done from the DOS prompt. Even though I succumbed to Win 3.1 interface, my friends and I still thought GUIs were for wimps.

The only RAID we needed back then was to get rid of the bugs in the garage. Coffee

Bigwink

SuperSleeper
Apnea Board Administrator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.

03-24-2015 09:40 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
LanceC Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 76
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: ResMed AirCurve 10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit™ F10
Humidifier: Built in
CPAP Pressure: 14-25
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Aurora, IL

Post: #26
RE: Breaking a RAID 1 array
Lol, but I have you beat.

128K memory, 40MB hard drive and 5 1/4" floppies.

This space for rent.
03-24-2015 09:43 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
SuperSleeper Offline

Administrators

Posts: 9,973
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: PR System One REMstar Auto (DS560)
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Swift II
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: 12.5 - 18.5 cmH20 (auto range)
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Have diabetes Type II

Sex: Male
Location: Illinois, USA

Post: #27
RE: Breaking a RAID 1 array
(03-24-2015 09:43 PM)LanceC Wrote:  Lol, but I have you beat.

128K memory, 40MB hard drive and 5 1/4" floppies.

'Ya got me beat, although my PC had both a 3.5 and 5 1/4 drive on it. Never did use the 5.25 drive other than once or twice when I purchased a program that came on the larger floppies. And i think someone gave me a copy of Duke Nukem or some other cool game on a old 5.25 floppy, so I just had to load that, of course.

SuperSleeper
Apnea Board Administrator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.

03-24-2015 09:50 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,853
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #28
RE: Breaking a RAID 1 array
An XT clone: 80188 processor, 20 MB HDD, two half-height 5.25 " floppies. I think 256k RAM on the MOBO. Plus an extension card with RAM that was used as RAMDISK. DOS ?? Windows was a give away -- no GUI just a shell to run DOS commands. If MS hadn't kept the right to sell what he developed for IBM, there would have been no clones. Before that, I built an IMSAI 8080 that ran CPM.

Had access to the HP 2100 and Data General Nova Minicomputers.
First machine I ever used was an IBM 1620 that did BCD arithmetic -- no fixed word length.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
03-24-2015 11:26 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
LanceC Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 76
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: ResMed AirCurve 10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit™ F10
Humidifier: Built in
CPAP Pressure: 14-25
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Aurora, IL

Post: #29
RE: Breaking a RAID 1 array
Anyone remember the Timex Sinclair 1000?

This space for rent.
03-25-2015 08:41 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Crimson Nape Offline

Monitors

Posts: 1,332
Joined: Oct 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Other
Mask Make & Model: P-10 / F&P Simplus / DreamWear
Humidifier: H5i w/Climateline
CPAP Pressure: 8 - EPR 3
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: CMS-50F & 50IW

Sex: Male
Location: Georgia

Post: #30
RE: Breaking a RAID 1 array
My first was a metal Kapro with built-in 8" monitor dual 5¼ floppies and 64K memory running CPM O/S. It was kind of a forerunner to the Compaq.

Statistics prove that people who have more birthdays live longer.
(This post was last modified: 03-25-2015 10:10 AM by Crimson Nape.)
03-25-2015 08:55 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  What's up with my Intel RAID? justMongo 3 87 12-02-2016 06:29 PM
Last Post: justMongo
  RAID 1 issues justMongo 5 725 05-27-2015 09:27 AM
Last Post: AlanE

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)