Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Breathe cool air
RE: Breathe cool air
I hate to admit it but Ive been filling my tank with ice since 11/2015, i hated the warm air since I started cpap 14 mos ago, and I do it everynite, otherwise im waking up, restless and generally unhappy, we"ll see if it takes a crap, I will cross that bridge when I get to it.
Post Reply Post Reply
(07-23-2014, 10:38 AM)jcarerra Wrote: OK, get ready for weirdness...

I hate breathing warm air.  Have all my life.  If a pillow or person makes a 'pocket' near my face so that I am rebreathing warm air, I go nuts.  I am in Florida, with naturally high humidity.  Though air conditioned, at night,  it does not run all that often, so the humidity in house does rise.

I started my machine with the humidifier on 3 based on the DME recommendation.  Air felt too hot/thick--whatever the word is.

Humidifier down to 1---still not good.

Humidifier off, with water--barely tolerable, still not good.

Humidifier off, no water--just tolerable, not good.

Now the weirdness.  A few nights ago, I filled the reservoir with ice cubes.  Heaven had arrived!  Cool air into my nose.  Wonderful!  Glorious.  Unfortunately, it only lasts about an hour until the ice melts.

I don't think I will do this routinely as the ice is not sterile--just out of the icemaker. But boy, I wish I could get that cool air somehow.

I must be weird too.  I need to breathe cool air!  We keep our bedroom very cold for that reason.  I breathe easier with cool air.  So glad you brought this up.  I am also going to try ice cubes in my humidifier!
Post Reply Post Reply