Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

New, question on pillows vs. face mask
New, question on pillows vs. face mask
Hi! I'm Deirdre. I'm new to this site, but I've been using a CPAP for about 7 years. Joined because yesterday I found some awesome info here about using CPAP when I have a cold. Thank you!!
I wondered what you guys think: I've used both a full-face mask and nasal pillows. The pillows have made it much easier to use the CPAP. But I was hesitant to use the pillows when I had a cold last winter (the cold developed into pneumonia and I didn't know whether to blame pillow use, or non-use when mouth-breathing). My question is: When I have a cold, is it worth finding my old full mask, cleaning it and getting new silicone for it, or do I stick with the pillows?
My current cold is going away bc I took Mucinex DM at night and used my pillows with humidity at the usual setting.
Thanks for being such a great forum! Sleep-well
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: New, question on pillows vs. face mask
There's no right answer to that question. Some like to stay with pillows as they feel they can breath better. Others feel they breath better with a full face mask. Best answer I can give you is try both and go with the one you feel better with.
Download SleepyHead
Organize your Sleepyhead Charts
Posting Charts
Beginner's Guide to SleepyHead
Mask Primer
Advisory Members serve as an "Advisory Committee" to help shape Apnea Board's rules & policies.

Membership in the Advisory Members group does not imply medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment.

Post Reply Post Reply