Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

COSA, hypoxemia, AFIB, high BP, polycythemia, and CBTI?
COSA, hypoxemia, AFIB, high BP, polycythemia, and CBTI?
Hello all, newbie here. Been reading your boards and gathering a lot of good info- thank you.

I'm in my mid-50s. I have a unique case that I've been playing whack-a-mole medicine with for ~ 10 years; so bear with me and provide help if you can...

I had trouble sleeping up until 2019, then the insomnia went into overdrive. I was diagnosed with prostate cancer. I was put on anti-depressants, Ambien, etc. I was put on a cpap for OSA. Combining all that is rough.

2020- I had the prostate removed, and for those that know the side effects are incontinence, stress insomnia, impotence, and pissing yourself-- none are any fun.

2021- I had a hip replaced while I was recovering from the pros surgery. I was switched to Lunesta, and spent a lot of time on the couch trying to sleep, heal, and recover. The couch was more comfortable so I wouldn't roll over on my hip (unlike the the bed). I was switched to an ASV for my CSA. So again, try getting used to an air compressor blasting your face while not moving from surgery and not sleeping.

2022- The Lunesta is ineffective. It works 2-3 hrs, but the hangover is pretty bad. I was put on an oxygen concentrator with the ASV. To date, I have never felt good from the cpap, ASV, nor the ASV + O2. I am using the ASV + O2 for > 6-7 hrs/nt; so my sleep dr says I should be good and sleeping well- nope, nada, zilch.

My bp is consistently ~135/90 ish, and heart rate > 80 bpm. My motor is on high idle and I'm running rich- someday it will blow up.