Post Reply 
[CPAP] Adjusting Pressure on Respironics Model 362505
Author Message
Terry Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 553
Joined: May 2014

Machine: Philips Respironics RemStar Auto with A-Flex (560P)
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: P/R Nuance & Pap Cap
Humidifier: Integrated
CPAP Pressure: Auto
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #11
RE: Adjusting Pressure on Respironics Model 362505
(04-13-2015 05:20 PM)RobertK Wrote:  Incidentally, since you're all so fond of the latest and greatest, I had dinner two weeks ago with a couple whose entire home was destroyed by fire, caused by a very recent-model ResMed CPAP which had been recalled unbeknownst to them, for the very reason that it did heat up and start fires. They weren't hurt, because it burst into flame when they were hunting around downstairs to find out why their alarms were going off, and had no idea it was running, upstairs, even though they thought it was off. I think they said it was a ResMed S8 or S9, later than the ResMed models I have.

The S8 was manufactured 2004-2006 and recalled in 2007 because of a risk of fire.

http://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/cd...m?id=51799

If your friend had current equipment, the DME would have a record of who had the device and they would have been notified of the recall and would not have burned their house down.

You can replace your old machine with something that has current technology and support and where the manufacturer can contact you in case of a problem.
04-14-2015 09:44 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Sleeprider Online
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,376
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: Resmed Aircurve 10 Vauto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: Resmed Climateline
CPAP Pressure: Auto Bilevel 18/9, PS 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Where they make Respironics

Post: #12
RE: Adjusting Pressure on Respironics Model 362505
It's "Murrysville", the town I live in, up on Logans Ferry Road. The manufacturing and research campus is still here and in Lower Burrell, PA. Philips purchased the company, and it is now known as Philips Respironics.

They won't talk to you, don't waste your time. I've tried, and if you're not a DME or licensed repair facility, you might as well have the plague. They used to be a small family owned company that was very approachable, but today they seem very regulated and limited in who they can speak to. Customer service will be very polite, but useless.

______________________________________________
Organize your SleepyHead Data
Post your SleepyHead Data from Imgur
Robysue's Beginner's Guide to Sleepyhead
(This post was last modified: 04-14-2015 09:56 AM by Sleeprider.)
04-14-2015 09:50 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
RobertK Offline

Members

Posts: 10
Joined: Apr 2015

Machine: Resmed S6
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed
Humidifier: Respironics
CPAP Pressure: 14
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #13
RE: Adjusting Pressure on Respironics Model 362505
(04-14-2015 09:44 AM)Terry Wrote:  If your friend had current equipment, the DME would have a record of who had the device and they would have been notified of the recall and would not have burned their house down.

Amazing how much everybody knows about people they've never met.
04-14-2015 11:58 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
RobertK Offline

Members

Posts: 10
Joined: Apr 2015

Machine: Resmed S6
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed
Humidifier: Respironics
CPAP Pressure: 14
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #14
RE: Adjusting Pressure on Respironics Model 362505
(04-14-2015 09:50 AM)Sleeprider Wrote:  It's "Murrysville", the town I live in, up on Logans Ferry Road. The manufacturing and research campus is still here and in Lower Burrell, PA. Philips purchased the company, and it is now known as Philips Respironics.

They won't talk to you, don't waste your time. I've tried, and if you're not a DME or licensed repair facility, you might as well have the plague. They used to be a small family owned company that was very approachable, but today they seem very regulated and limited in who they can speak to. Customer service will be very polite, but useless.

Yes, I remember once needing to call Respironics, long, long ago, with some question--I forget what--and getting through to one of the engineers to get my answer . . . very polite and sensible, and none of that persnickety stuff about who can speak to whom about what. I'm sure if it's now taken over by Philips, there probably is no point in contacting them. My best bet, probably, is to try to find an "old-timer" R.T. (which is what we called respiratory therapists back then) who had once set up this early model, and find out where the control is that regulates it.

There is one mysterious little gizmo on the back
   
which might be what is used to control the pressure, and which looks as if it was accessible by means of a special tool or "key." It's a little hole with a little spindle hidden inside it, and looks as if it's set up for a R.T. to insert some device to grasp that spindle and turn it or push it and turn it or something of that sort--and that would make sense to me, because then the R.T. could attach a hose and manometer and have the machine sitting there just as a patient would use it, while he set the pressure to the prescription level (as opposed to opening the device, and adjusting something inside, on the motor itself). If I can find needle-nose pliers thin and long enough, I may see if by grasping that spindle and turning it, it changes the apparent pressure.

The only other external controls are the on-off switch and a little turn-screw to change voltage for travel, along with a pull-out drawer for the two electrical fuses which have to be changed when you alter the voltage--and the cap on top over the filters, which the patient was supposed to replace and wash regularly.

That may well be the way the pressure is adjusted on this old machine.
04-14-2015 12:11 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Terry Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 553
Joined: May 2014

Machine: Philips Respironics RemStar Auto with A-Flex (560P)
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: P/R Nuance & Pap Cap
Humidifier: Integrated
CPAP Pressure: Auto
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #15
RE: Adjusting Pressure on Respironics Model 362505
(04-14-2015 11:58 AM)RobertK Wrote:  
(04-14-2015 09:44 AM)Terry Wrote:  If your friend had current equipment, the DME would have a record of who had the device and they would have been notified of the recall and would not have burned their house down.

Amazing how much everybody knows about people they've never met.

I don't know anything about them, but I do know about equipment recalls.

When stuff gets old enough, the records tend to vanish.
(This post was last modified: 04-14-2015 01:12 PM by Terry.)
04-14-2015 01:03 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
RobertK Offline

Members

Posts: 10
Joined: Apr 2015

Machine: Resmed S6
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed
Humidifier: Respironics
CPAP Pressure: 14
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #16
RE: Adjusting Pressure on Respironics Model 362505
(04-14-2015 12:11 PM)RobertK Wrote:  There is one mysterious little gizmo on the back

which might be what is used to control the pressure, and which looks as if it was accessible by means of a special tool or "key."

No. I looked at a somewhat later model I have, which is very similar (this one does have a model name emblazoned on it, which is "Remstar Choice LS"), and on that one, the little gizmo turns out to be a socket for a DC power connector, as when one is plugging it into a car for camping or something of that sort. The same gizmo, in the same position, is marked for its purpose on that one.

But it turns out the dial for altering the pressure is located at the top of the rectangular tower portion, when you open the thing up--needs to be set with a separate manometer, but that's where it is, apparently. I'll have to open it up to see exactly where it is, and if I find it and manage to change the pressure successfully, I'll post a photo of where it is.
04-19-2015 03:25 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
amerigoa Offline

New Members

Posts: 1
Joined: Sep 2016

Machine: remstar #362505
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: unsure
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: 14
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: USA

Post: #17
RE: Adjusting Pressure on Respironics Model 362505
If you look at the back of the machine,on the top of the rectangular tower you will see vent slots. look in and you will see a blue square box about 3/8' square with a little white screw in the middle. You can reach and turn it with a small screw driver. If you turn it to the right it decreases the pressure, if you turn it to the left it increases pressure, I hope this helped you !!!!!!!Wink
09-11-2016 07:36 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
RobertK Offline

Members

Posts: 10
Joined: Apr 2015

Machine: Resmed S6
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed
Humidifier: Respironics
CPAP Pressure: 14
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #18
RE: Adjusting Pressure on Respironics Model 362505
(09-11-2016 07:36 AM)amerigoa Wrote:  If you look at the back of the machine,on the top of the rectangular tower you will see vent slots. look in and you will see a blue square box about 3/8' square with a little white screw in the middle. You can reach and turn it with a small screw driver. If you turn it to the right it decreases the pressure, if you turn it to the left it increases pressure, I hope this helped you !!!!!!!Wink

I see it!!!

I shall try to find a small screwdriver that fits it, and see if I can adjust the pressure up to something that feels more like what I use now.

I'd be glad to be able to get this one back in service again, as a spare! The last time my CPAP suddenly failed and I pulled it out, I realized the pressure on it is much lower than what I need currently--and when you're trying to get back to sleep, that's not a pleasant discovery!

It took a while for me to get an answer: as you probably saw, I got a lot of non-answers first! But I'm delighted to have this mystery explained to me at last.

I never noticed that tiny adjusting mechanism before!
09-12-2016 11:41 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
RobertK Offline

Members

Posts: 10
Joined: Apr 2015

Machine: Resmed S6
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed
Humidifier: Respironics
CPAP Pressure: 14
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #19
Thumbsup RE: Adjusting Pressure on Respironics Model 362505
(09-11-2016 07:36 AM)amerigoa Wrote:  If you look at the back of the machine,on the top of the rectangular tower you will see vent slots. look in and you will see a blue square box about 3/8' square with a little white screw in the middle. You can reach and turn it with a small screw driver. If you turn it to the right it decreases the pressure, if you turn it to the left it increases pressure, I hope this helped you !!!!!!!Wink

SUCCESS!

Using a little screwdriver from an eyeglasses-repair kit I very easily was able to adjust the pressure up and down, and with a little trial-and-error, soon managed to get my old Respironics model creating approximately the same pressure as my "regular" machine, which is starting to make a whining noise (sounds like worn ball bearings or something) and may be about to give up.

Last night, just to be sure, I used the old Respironics machine instead of my own, and managed just fine with it.

However, I then checked a slightly NEWER model I have, which will also need to be adjusted up as well, and did *NOT* find the tiny blue square with the white screw looking through the vents.

This slightly newer model is the same SHAPE, but has a sort of transparent green triangular cut out at the top--I have no idea what it's for. It has vents, but all I see through them is a part of a circuit board.

Do you happen to know where the pressure adjustment is in that newer one? I'd like to adjust it up to my current pressure, too, if I can, so that it's ready to be put into use, if I ever need it.

These machines were expensive when I got them, and I have no intention of trashing them if I can still get some use out of them.


MANY THANKS FOR YOUR HELPFUL COMMENTS, AGAIN, Amerigoa!Thanks
09-16-2016 11:26 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Sleeprider Online
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,376
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: Resmed Aircurve 10 Vauto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: Resmed Climateline
CPAP Pressure: Auto Bilevel 18/9, PS 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Where they make Respironics

Post: #20
RE: Adjusting Pressure on Respironics Model 362505
The original iPhone was expensive too, but you don't see many of them around since they are obsolete, unsupported and better alternatives exist. Comparing your old machine to an iPhone is a bit unfair to the iPhone...more like one of those bag phones. Just sayin'

______________________________________________
Organize your SleepyHead Data
Post your SleepyHead Data from Imgur
Robysue's Beginner's Guide to Sleepyhead
(This post was last modified: 09-17-2016 08:48 AM by Sleeprider.)
09-17-2016 08:47 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  [Equipment] respironics bipap error code hanasdaddy 6 110 Yesterday 01:48 AM
Last Post: hanasdaddy
  Respironics 9 minute cycle with no events. pixpop 2 82 12-06-2016 09:17 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  [Equipment] Respironics blower failure SleepyinMTL 2 133 12-03-2016 12:52 AM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  [Pressure] How to change pressure - Respironics Solo slgoltz 5 20,016 11-30-2016 06:32 PM
Last Post: randx2
  Which disturbs sleep most? High Pressure or Changing Pressure Rcgop 7 1,268 11-10-2016 07:37 PM
Last Post: Sleep2Snore
  respironics pillow covers? metropical 3 244 11-08-2016 11:02 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Respironics Sleep Easy Question Rich 5 4,584 11-01-2016 10:56 PM
Last Post: Star

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)