Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[CPAP] Anxiety, Panic, Depression worse on CPAP
Anxiety, Panic, Depression worse on CPAP
Hello, 

I'm totally new to this CPAP stuff. 

I recently got diagnosed with moderate/severe sleep apnea and I also suffer from horrendous anxiety and depression. 

My anxiety and depression was "managed" sorta but the mornings and most of the day leave me with headaches, disorientation, fatigue, nausea, spaced out to the point I can't even realise what is what. I thought it was due to side effects of the anti depressants I am on, then I was diagnosed with he sleep condition where I stop breathing at alarming rates in sleep. I wake up basically paralyzed and crippled with terrible anxiety, panic and depression every morning. 

I got a CPAP machine from the Therapist last Tuesday and tried it Tuesday night. Here are the issues and the problems I am facing with it..i feel worse! 

- I am struggling to sleep with the mask really being intrusive and the air seems to be making me panic and anxious and for some reason. It is the mask that has the nostril things and a band that goes over the head. I am suffering from even more crippling depression since using it. 

- when i do sleep, I wake up in the middle of the night with panic and anxiety and struggle to go back to sleep. 

- I am also struggling to eat during the day, I can hardly move and i feel more bloated.. which is a huge reason that I needed addressed in the first place. I also feel super sick, headachy, sore arms, legs as well. 

- The following day, I'm an even more mess than I was and it feels like the one thing that all the Doctors, therapists said would help is making me an even more mess and it is intolerable.