Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Flow Rate Interpretation and PAP Mode / Pressure Settings Suggestions
Flow Rate Interpretation and PAP Mode / Pressure Settings Suggestions
Hi everyone,

Hope all is well. First-time poster here. I’m a 34-year-old male, about 5 feet 8 inches tall and weighing approximately 150 pounds.

I’ve been using a CPAP machine since 2018, when I took a WatchPAT test that showed an excessive number of arousals / high RDI (upper airway resistance syndrome) even though I think my AHI was normal or close-to-normal. I was prescribed an AirSense 10 AutoSet machine auto-set at 5 – 15 cm H2O, although the pressure rarely if ever went above 6 cm H2O. I felt a lot better as I woke up feeling more refreshed and had more energy during the day.

Fast forward to this year, when I had COVID in February and then a septorhinoplasty in May to correct a badly broken nose / deviated septum. I felt like I had recovered from the fatigue, non-refreshing sleep, and “brain fog” (not feeling as sharp mentally) from COVID by the time I went in for the surgery, but they seemed to emerge again after my surgery.

So about a month ago I took a WatchPAT home sleep apnea test to rule out any sleep issues. To my surprise, the test showed an RDI of 14.7 (per hour) even though I was using my CPAP machine. Interestingly, the RDI was only 7.1 for the two hours I spent sleeping on my left side. The test recorded an hourly RDI of 14.7 but my CPAP machine only listed a total of 22 events for the whole night (about two-thirds of which were RERAs). Similarly, the WatchPAT test showed an AHI of 4.2 whereas the machine reported an AHI of only 0.99.