Post Reply 
[CPAP] Can I use a blank SD card?
Author Message
Juanito Offline

Members

Posts: 9
Joined: Sep 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 4.0-11.2
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Huatulco, Oaxaca, Mexico

Post: #1
Can I use a blank SD card?
Can I put a blank formatted SD card into my ResMed S9 AutoSet CPAP? When I send my SD card to my CPAP provider for compliance purposes, I don't have any data for the period until the card returns. So I am hoping a blank card will let me save that data.
09-22-2014 06:21 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
surferdude2 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,077
Joined: Jul 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage Quattro & Optilife
Humidifier: ResMed H5i @ #3 if nose breathing & #5 if mouth breathing
CPAP Pressure: 12 ~ 20 & 11 ~12 if nasal mask
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Late stage 2 emphysema

Sex: Male
Location: Mousetown, Southern Illinois

Post: #2
RE: Can I use a blank SD card?
Yes, I have done that without any issues. I formatted the one that came with the S9 when I first got it to see if it was user friendly. No problem.

BTW...Welcome

EDIT: I think it won't take anything other than a 2gig or 4gig. I haven't tried partitioning a larger SD card down to 2 or 4 gig..might work. Another rainy day project.
(This post was last modified: 09-22-2014 06:36 PM by surferdude2.)
09-22-2014 06:29 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,450
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #3
RE: Can I use a blank SD card?
Hi Juanito,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
You shouldn't have any problem doing that.
Hang in there for more suggestions and best of luck to you with your CPAP therapy

trish6hundred
09-22-2014 06:32 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
bwexler Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 563
Joined: Mar 2012

Machine: PRS 1 BiPAP autoSV Advanced, with Heated Tube humidifier
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Sleepweaver Élan
Humidifier: Resperonics Heated Tube humidifier
CPAP Pressure: Max pressure 25.0 cm H20, Max
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncorePro

Other Comments: CMS 50i with Software for SpO2

Sex: Male
Location: San Marcos, CA, USA

Post: #4
RE: Can I use a blank SD card?
Yes it will work.
I would probably format the blank, put it in my machine in the AM, take a short nap with the new card, wait a couple hours so it has time to write the data and send the new card in for compliance. You can than put the original back in the machine and go on your merry way without loosing one Byte.
09-22-2014 06:50 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #5
RE: Can I use a blank SD card?
(09-22-2014 06:29 PM)surferdude2 Wrote:  EDIT: I think it won't take anything other than a 2gig or 4gig. I haven't tried partitioning a larger SD card down to 2 or 4 gig..might work. Another rainy day project.

Pretty much any size SD or SDHC card 2GB or greater will work. The S9 machine may ask if it should format the card.

PRS1 or S9 machines won't use the extra space on the card, but they do usually work.

ResMed says SDHC cards won't work, but many of us have use them with no problem.

There are some safety regulation issues with using cards other than the ones supplied by the manufacturers. There are specifications in the safety standards that require things like spacing between live components and the user's finger, especially for medical equipment. Probably not a real hazard due to the voltages and other parts of the design, but it's in the standards.

Even the right SD cards have fairly high failure rates. SD cards are also bad about Card A won't work in Machine B, even though the specs say they should.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
09-22-2014 08:41 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
surferdude2 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,077
Joined: Jul 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage Quattro & Optilife
Humidifier: ResMed H5i @ #3 if nose breathing & #5 if mouth breathing
CPAP Pressure: 12 ~ 20 & 11 ~12 if nasal mask
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Late stage 2 emphysema

Sex: Male
Location: Mousetown, Southern Illinois

Post: #6
RE: Can I use a blank SD card?
(09-22-2014 08:41 PM)archangle Wrote:  Pretty much any size SD or SDHC card 2GB or greater will work. The S9 machine may ask if it should format the card.

Ah so, thanks for that. Much easier to get the bigger cards.

Even the right SD cards have fairly high failure rates. SD cards are also bad about Card A won't work in Machine B, even though the specs say they should.

Yep, They remind me of 3 1/2" floppies, same issues.
09-22-2014 08:58 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
bwexler Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 563
Joined: Mar 2012

Machine: PRS 1 BiPAP autoSV Advanced, with Heated Tube humidifier
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Sleepweaver Élan
Humidifier: Resperonics Heated Tube humidifier
CPAP Pressure: Max pressure 25.0 cm H20, Max
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncorePro

Other Comments: CMS 50i with Software for SpO2

Sex: Male
Location: San Marcos, CA, USA

Post: #7
RE: Can I use a blank SD card?
3 1/2" Diskets were never floppy.
09-22-2014 09:47 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,853
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #8
RE: Can I use a blank SD card?
(09-22-2014 09:47 PM)bwexler Wrote:  3 1/2" Diskets were never floppy.

Ah, Grasshopper. Open one up and tell me what you see.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
09-22-2014 09:59 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Galactus Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,388
Joined: Jan 2014

Machine: Phillips Respironics System One PRS1 DS760P Auto BiPAP
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Airfit P10 Nasal Pillow
Humidifier: System One Heated Humidifier + Climate Line
CPAP Pressure: E/I 13/20 PS 4/7 BiFlex 3
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Sleep can be a good thing.

Sex: Male
Location: USA

Post: #9
RE: Can I use a blank SD card?
(09-22-2014 09:47 PM)bwexler Wrote:  3 1/2" Diskets were never floppy.
Nor disk shaped for that matter.

And while we're at it-
IBM ThinkPads don't think, or come with pads.
Zip Drives have no Zippers
Jazz Drives don't play Jazz
USB Keys have no locks to open
We drive on the parkway and park in the driveway.
SurferDude2 doesn't surf anymore
Is Retired Guy really retired?
Is there an A or C wexler?
Is JustMongo not just mongo? Or is he a just mongo?

I shall not linger here any longer lest I digress. Things that make you go Hmmmmmm.

If everyone thinks alike, then someone isn't thinking.
Everyone knows something, together we could know everything.
(This post was last modified: 09-24-2014 12:12 AM by Galactus.)
09-24-2014 12:09 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  ResMed S9 SD Card "Invalid SD Card, erase card data?" MAPnea 28 27,507 03-18-2016 07:32 PM
Last Post: palerider
  Downloading data to SD card of Resmed for nights that SD card not in ResMed machine Robert6 8 4,937 06-19-2015 09:28 AM
Last Post: estgad
  Forgot to put card back in machine, is there a way to copy it from machine to card? Marnid2014 6 3,798 04-06-2014 08:54 PM
Last Post: PaulaO2

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)