Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[CPAP] Counter intuitive Data
Question 
Counter intuitive Data
I have been using APAP (Resmed S9) for about 18 months now and tried four different masks.  I have also just started using the Sleepyhead software.  My thanks to all the good people who contribute so much to this forum and associated activities.

My problem is that my sleep experience runs counter to the Sleepyhead data.  My best nights sleep from a subjective point of view have definitely been with the Ciradience Sleepweaver Advance mask (the fabric nasal mask).  It takes a little time to eliminate the leaks around the mask before going to sleep but I am getting better at this.  What is more, as the leaks seem to mostly go into the eye area, it is impossible to ignore them - when one is not yet asleep in any case.  I normally have one or two waking episodes (visits to the facilities are required) and then awake refreshed.  This all seemed great to me until I looked at the Sleepyhead data which shows an increased API from less than one to about 2.5.  The large leak data is off the chart - showing at about 90% of the night I am experiencing large leaks.

By contrast my other masks fit well and easily when I first go to sleep.  However after about 4 or 5 hours sleep they all slip and leak.  Getting a good fit at this time is more difficult and often results in a running battle between me and my mask, with the mask usually winning.  I can lose a couple of hours sleep this way in a bad night.