Post Reply 
[CPAP] Extracting Detailed Data from ResMed S9 Escape
Author Message
Redhill82 Offline

New Members

Posts: 1
Joined: Jan 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 Escape
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Softgel
Humidifier: None
CPAP Pressure: 10
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #1
Idea Extracting Detailed Data from ResMed S9 Escape
Wondering if anyone has been able to "Jailbreak" the S9 Escape? I'm only able to extract basic usage and statistical data from my SD card. Is it possible to access the detailed data like that found on the S9 Auto, S9 Elite, etc?
Basically want to know if my AHI is below the optimum target of "5"...
Much thanks
01-19-2013 01:42 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,067
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #2
RE: Extracting Detailed Data from ResMed S9 Escape
Nope. The Escape keeps no data except hours used. There's nothing to break into.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
01-19-2013 02:20 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #3
RE: Extracting Detailed Data from ResMed S9 Escape
(01-19-2013 01:42 AM)Redhill82 Wrote:  Wondering if anyone has been able to "Jailbreak" the S9 Escape? I'm only able to extract basic usage and statistical data from my SD card. Is it possible to access the detailed data like that found on the S9 Auto, S9 Elite, etc?
Basically want to know if my AHI is below the optimum target of "5"...
Much thanks
welcome to the board
what Paula said
not even MacGyver can break in or out
if efficacy data very important for you ... you need the Elite or Autoset (Not Escape Auto)

here is the S9 series specification guide and comparison charts
http://www.resmed.com/us/products/s9_ser...nc=dealers
01-19-2013 03:22 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
herefishy Offline

Members

Posts: 15
Joined: Jan 2013

Machine: resmed s9
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage activa lt
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: 10
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location: us

Post: #4
RE: Extracting Detailed Data from ResMed S9 Escape
What statistical data do you get from your escape? And what program do you use to look at it? I have one too and noticed that there are lots more files on the card than you should need for just compliance data.
(This post was last modified: 01-19-2013 10:30 AM by herefishy.)
01-19-2013 10:25 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
trish6hundred Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,452
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #5
RE: Extracting Detailed Data from ResMed S9 Escape
Hi Redhill82,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
What zonk and Paula said.
Best of luck to you.

trish6hundred
01-19-2013 10:31 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Sleepster Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 4,995
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed AirCurve10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: HumidAir and SlimLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: MaxI 13.6 | MinE 5.2 | PS 4.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Diagnosed Nov 2011. Conquered aerophagia.

Sex: Male
Location: Houston, Texas

Post: #6
RE: Extracting Detailed Data from ResMed S9 Escape
(01-19-2013 01:42 AM)Redhill82 Wrote:  Wondering if anyone has been able to "Jailbreak" the S9 Escape?

It's likely a hardware issue. I doubt that this machine has the necessary sensors, like a pressure sensor and a low-inertia flow sensor, to collect the data needed to measure leaks, flow rates, apneas and hypopneas, let alone distinguish between clear-airway apneas and obstructive apneas.

I know that on PRS1 machines this shows up in the specs, as the bricks are unable to maintain as tight a tolerance on the pressure setting as the data-capable machines. The same is likely true of the ResMed machines.

(Edit: After checking the service manual for the PRS1 machines it appears that the bricks lack a pressure sensor on the main (PCA) board, but they do have a flow sensor. My guess is that the bricks use the flow sensor to infer the pressure and are therefore not as good at keeping the pressure stable as the patient inhales and exhales.)

Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
(This post was last modified: 01-19-2013 07:29 PM by Sleepster.)
01-19-2013 10:52 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
kbeckman Offline

Members

Posts: 19
Joined: Dec 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Swift FX
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 7 to 14
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Skaro

Post: #7
RE: Extracting Detailed Data from ResMed S9 Escape
This may be possible, but not easily.

I would consider purchasing the right S9 Autoset. Look on the back of the unit, you want the REF to say 36005. I just found one with under 100 hours on Craigslist for $200. Considering the CPAP success rate is only 25%, there should be a lot of units hanging around out there collecting dust.

I just uploaded the pictures of an S9 Autoset (36005) to this board, and they should be posted soon. I took one apart, and photographed the inside of the unit, along with both sides of the PC Board. There are 3 pressure sensors inside the unit, plus a replaceable battery.

Many times manufactures make the same unit, and make the feature changes by what software they load. I'm looking now how to plug into the processor and see what there is to see. It looks like they used a standard eeprom, so it may be possible to extract the firmware, and even upgrade it, as I have a eeprom reader.

More to come, but these things take time.
01-19-2013 01:28 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,067
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #8
RE: Extracting Detailed Data from ResMed S9 Escape
(01-19-2013 10:25 AM)herefishy Wrote:  What statistical data do you get from your escape? And what program do you use to look at it? I have one too and noticed that there are lots more files on the card than you should need for just compliance data.

There may be files from the DME that contain the settings. What this does is you take them the card, they make the changes, and the next time you put the card back in the machine, it changes it to the new settings.

The Escape gives time used and that's it.

I sincerely doubt the Escape has the same guts as the Autoset. I don't think it would as simple as a different firmware that decides what components to turn on or off. It's not just air flow but readings from all sorts of things such as snore, flow limitation, flow rate, etc. Then there's the pulses it sends to determine the kind of event, etc.

I have both. If I were brave enough, I'd open them both up. I'm not that brave nor insane. It took me a long time to save up for the Autoset.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
01-19-2013 05:42 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Sleepster Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 4,995
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed AirCurve10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: HumidAir and SlimLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: MaxI 13.6 | MinE 5.2 | PS 4.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Diagnosed Nov 2011. Conquered aerophagia.

Sex: Male
Location: Houston, Texas

Post: #9
RE: Extracting Detailed Data from ResMed S9 Escape
In the PRS1 line of machines, and this is straight from the service manual, the bricks have no pressure sensor on the main PCA. The bricks have a pressure stability of +/- 1.0 cm H2O, the data-capable machines have a pressure stabiity of +/- 0.5 cm H2O.

You can't get the same data out of the two classes of machines because they have different hardware. You can't get the same pressure stability out of the two classes of machines for likely the same reason.

I doubt the ResMed machines are any different.

I have no doubt that when Mark figured out how to read the data from these machines and crunch it in SleepyHead he discovered that the bricks are putting out a different data stream. His software collects and displays compliance data from both bricks and data-capable machines, but he gets so much more out of the data-capable machines. The reason is simple -- the data-capable machines are putting out more data. The bricks don't have the hardware necessary to do that.

Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
01-19-2013 07:23 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Ugly Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 568
Joined: Oct 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Micro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 7-14
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Hydrocephalus, myopia, depression, chronic ugliness, stupidity, tinnitus, mixed sleep apnea.

Sex: Male
Location: Barrie Ontario Canada

Post: #10
RE: Extracting Detailed Data from ResMed S9 Escape
(01-19-2013 01:42 AM)Redhill82 Wrote:  Wondering if anyone has been able to "Jailbreak" the S9 Escape? I'm only able to extract basic usage and statistical data from my SD card. Is it possible to access the detailed data like that found on the S9 Auto, S9 Elite, etc?
Basically want to know if my AHI is below the optimum target of "5"...
Much thanks

This takes me back to the days when I was a more active listener to my scanner - a radio receiver designed to pick up signals for MOSTLY two way radio transmissions. It appears that the fully functional device was sold in many countries but in some of those countries, most notably, the United States, additional circuitry was added to "blot out" allegedly "forbidden" frequencies. Often these techniques had been discovered and there were ways of "undoing" these limitations. I presume that you're pondering whether or not they do similar things with the "brick" CPAPs and can they be "restored" to full function.

I don't know, but I thought I'd relay this concept to those who might wonder why you'd ever ask such a question. I've wondered the same actually, but since I don't have the technical know-how to make any internal modifications, I personally considered that pestering people enough will make them trade mine in for an AutoSet, just to get me off their backs!
01-19-2013 10:33 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Resmed S9 Escape, loud noise on inhale alacardkane 8 289 11-26-2016 06:20 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  [Equipment] ResMed AirSense - Is there data storage on the SD card AND in the unit itself? FormerFed 19 2,504 11-03-2016 03:17 PM
Last Post: PreciousRoy
  Resmed Airsense 10 CPAP data versus Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset data David P. 4 546 10-29-2016 08:42 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  CONFIGURATION RESMED S9 ESCAPE MODEL ziozeb 4 365 09-24-2016 08:04 PM
Last Post: pupcamper
  [Equipment] Resmed S8 Escape II EPR vs. Resmed Autosense 10 45thronin 6 358 09-18-2016 08:26 PM
Last Post: 45thronin
  Sleepyhead data vs. Doctor's data Daisylouu 8 1,407 09-01-2016 06:10 PM
Last Post: eseedhouse
  invalid date/time. data exists for this period message on Resmed 9 autoset Marl1n 3 473 07-25-2016 09:03 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)