Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[CPAP] Go from CPAP to APAP?
Go from CPAP to APAP?
I've been using CPAP for more than 5 years. Started out with pressure of 10, and currently, since another sleep study last month, at 13.

I've been able to get the first part of a new sleep lab report in past few months, but not a copy of the titration part yet.

This November's observation study showed "There were 7 central and 41 obstructive apneas seen, with 143 hypopneas also noted for a Total Respiratory Disturbance Index of 43 events per hour increasing
during REM sleep to 65 events per hour. These events were associated with arousals and desaturations commonly into the 90's and under with a low 02 sat of 85%."

Q1: Which, if any, of those numbers is my AHI?

My current machine, the Remstar M series, has only minimal data, mostly just compliance. So I'm looking forward to getting a new machine, probably the new "For Her" A10. I'm also trying out some different masks. Used the Swift for her nasal pillows until last November when a sleep tech suggested the Airfit nasal pillows. The Swift worked OK, but sometimes had nosebleeds, and discomfort around my cheekbones on both those masks. Airfit was annoying for a side sleeper who moves around a lot because the hose doesn't swivel. And the nasal pillows are not that much softer.
Now trying the Wisp, and after the first night, appropriated the bottoms of some pajama legs for microfleece to wrap around the so-called "fabric" part of the headgear which was just as stiff as the other masks I used. It seems I have a smaller head than the standard used by the makers of headgear. Unsure Last night was very uncomfortable so I hope tonight will be better.